Sim Lim Square

Forte3737

The shops there (2nd level) specialised in all sorts of batteries, such as those for home alarms, etc, are ok.

the level three shops selling computer peripherals are quite ok as well......

Normally it's the ground floor that is havoc. Level 4 onwards are quite ok.

Doubt anyone who has any idea of SLS will buy from ground floor.

one of the camera shop quite reputable, i bought from them before.

last sunday i was there

2 salesmen were openly smoking at their shop

i don't know why people still shop in this mall

the atmosphere is so hostile and the chances of getting ripped off are far higher than getting a good deal

shops are manned by gangsters ah...

So many idiots still go there.

For me, I walk at least 50 m away from such shops.

Even if they offer $1 item, I still walk away.

Have to be very alert/savvy in order not to be ripe off at SLS.

Recall an incident when I walked into a shop to buy a PS3 for my son.

Price was 20% lower.

Upon paying, I was made to fill in some forms like T&C, subscription, etc.

When asked why, the salesman said it is a US set, need to do this and do that so it can be played in Spore.

I looked 100% local and speak 100% local. No way I wanted a foreign set.

Cant understand why chu such pattern.

After I insists, they sold me a local set with no additional costs.

After buying I the realise the shop tops the blacklist.

Lesson learnt.

Lucky set is ok.

Another big fish

S$4876 X 2.5 = M$12,190

===========================

http://www.therealsingapore.com/content/malaysian-diving-star-shares-his-experiences-being-scammed-sim-lim-square

Malaysian diving star, Ooi Tze Liang is the latest victim of notorious handphone shop called Mobile Planet, located at #01-41 of Sim Lim Square.

Ooi was at the shop on Friday to purchase two iPhone 6. The price quoted to him was $2,500 for the two phones.

After paying for the phone, Ooi said he was asked by the shop to sign up for an in house warranty package which would cover damages such as broken screens and damage caused by water.

Ooi said: "We were told that the international warranty features would cover almost every (type of) damage but the shop owner did not say how much it would cost us."

On receiving the receipt after being told to sign the contract, he realized the "package" cost a further $2,376.

According to Ooi: "The shopkeeper would not hand over the phones unless I paid for the contract. He said I would have to fork out $800 to cancel the contract."

In the end, he had to fork out a total of $4,876 for two phones. This worked out to be $2,438 for each phone, a 100% markup over the market price.

This is not the first time Mobile Planet has been accused of fleecing tourists. A casual search for its name on the internet turned up an entry in Trip Advisor posted by another tourist who was asked to pay an additional sum of $300 for a Nexus 5 which cost $380.

Friends, please help share this around so that unethical shops like Mobile Planet can be punished. Otherwise, more will fall prey to its unscrupulous sales tactics.

Edited by Mcf777

Exactly .. do not hand over any further $$$ or sign any contract. Call the police on the spot. Do not wait till after you've left the shop.

Yah that time i bought psp almost kena con in level 1 by paying for memory card, system upgrade, warranty, etc. End up getting in level 4/5.

Thats my last purchase from sim lim

Yah that time i bought psp almost kena con in level 1 by paying for memory card, system upgrade, warranty, etc. End up getting in level 4/5.

Thats my last purchase from sim lim

I went to one store that tried to sell me a fake memory card. I noticed the receipt never say its a sony memory card so I asked why he write memory card only. Ask him to write another receipt with the full name of the memory stick but he keep insisting it doesn't matter. In the end he just asked me to go away. I guess must be fake one cuz that is one of the tactics they use. They avoid writing the full name of the thing that you bought.

Edited by Nzy

I went to one store that tried to sell me a fake memory card. I noticed the receipt never say its a sony memory card so I asked my he write memory card only. Ask him to write Sony infront but he keep insisting it doesn't matter. In the end he just asked me to go away. I guess must be fake one cuz that is one of the tactics they use. They avoid writing the full name of the thing that you bought.

WHAHAHAHAHA...

they tried to sell me anti-virus memory card lor.. <_<

Online order from Apple store also not that ex, free shipping. Deliver to doorstep somemore.

he is a malaysian diving star, Apple store singapore cannot ship to malaysia mah.

I like to go there for bak chor mee. As for pdts, if one did homewk can avoid kena carroted.

But one thing for sure, must be alert there cos flying fists don't hv eyes.

he is a malaysian diving star, Apple store singapore cannot ship to malaysia mah.

Dun be like that mah, you make it sound like M'sia is like a caveman country. M'sia also got online Apple store, it's just that over there they are not one of the first countries who sell iphone6. They have to wait.

Fortunately, I haven't quite lost $$$ at SLS. The closest I got into was when they wasted more than 1 hour of my time trying to delay, saying they have to go get their stock from somewhere else, in the mean time aggressively selling alternative model at higher price but "bigger discount". Until I insist they tell me how long it take them to bring the stock for the exact model I agreed to buy at the agreed price .. then their face turned black and I just walked away.

Another time, they wanted to sell a hi-fi receiver to me without the remote. They said the remote must buy separately for $200. I said then I don't want the remote, and they said they will help me throw it away. [laugh] KNN, really S.O.B. Again, I walked away.

Last time there wasn't really many options to buy electronics. Whether you go to SLS, SLT, Pearl Centre or Lucky Plaza (worst) .. all roughly the same pattern. Now you can get similar prices in bigger stores or better still, buy online.

Yes i still wonder why people still love to go SLS, maybe they prefer to bargain and feel good if they feel discount alot, unlike me feel good buy in best denki knowing that is the fixed lowest price haha

There are some good deals for PC components. And you can definitely get better deals from Memory World for storage products (NAS, DAS etc)

Also Alan Photo for cameras. There are some good places there. Pity a few bad apples spoil the name for the mall.

But personally... I just buy online nowadays... waiting for my 5K iMac to ship :D