Hdb main door

Ysc3

anyone changed their HDB main door before or recently ?

got any good and cheap recommendation ?

normal door can already .... HDB told me no need fire-door for my unit.

i think my main door is the original door from about 30+ years ago ... !!

what about wrought iron gate ? ST classads got ads so cheap ... but what's the trade-off ?

anyone changed their HDB main door before or recently ?

got any good and cheap recommendation ?

normal door can already .... HDB told me no need fire-door for my unit.

i think my main door is the original door from about 30+ years ago ... !!

what about wrought iron gate ? ST classads got ads so cheap ... but what's the trade-off ?

Your place dun have pamphlets on these items? Becoz of competition especially hdbs they are littered with these advertisements.

A lot of the wrought iron gate have hook on hinges. Just get 2 fit men and they can lift the gate out of the hinges. Whatever super padlock you use will be pointless. So pay attention on what hinges will be used for the gate.

HDB told u main door no need fire-rated door? Really?

It's a regulation leh.

yup ... and my unit is beside staircase also ... wrote them an email and the officer called me to tell me that after inspection, no need for fire-door.

HDB told u main door no need fire-rated door? Really?

It's a regulation leh.

No one will bother to check. I see many ppl change the shelter door to plastic/wooden ones. Regulation also says cannot change.

Your place dun have pamphlets on these items? Becoz of competition especially hdbs they are littered with these advertisements.

A lot of the wrought iron gate have hook on hinges. Just get 2 fit men and they can lift the gate out of the hinges. Whatever super padlock you use will be pointless. So pay attention on what hinges will be used for the gate.

some times yes, and sometimes see them at the pasar malam also ... but dunno trustworthy or not ... so want to get some feedback or advise.

and thanks for the heads-up for the gate hinge thing .. maybe can get them to weld the hinge top ?

some times yes, and sometimes see them at the pasar malam also ... but dunno trustworthy or not ... so want to get some feedback or advise.

and thanks for the heads-up for the gate hinge thing .. maybe can get them to weld the hinge top ?

Can. Depending on the material used for the joints of the hinges. Actually a lot of them use mild steel for the joints, they are considered soft and not to mention cheap. Robbers can still easily break it by drilling thru the welds and lift up the entire gate. You say cheap perhaps that's the trade off. :D

Anyway gates are easy to break. The weak points are the hinges. You can request to use stainless steel joints.

yup ... and my unit is beside staircase also ... wrote them an email and the officer called me to tell me that after inspection, no need for fire-door.

Better to get one la...Law can be change so why not throw in more money get a fire door plus it is like insurance keeping ur hse safe

How come not reply by e-mail?

If something happen got no black and white leh..... [sweatdrop]

changed gate for my wedding. both my parents and in-laws.

The shop is at IMM. commonly advertised in magazines one. The factory is somewhere in Eunos area.

Better to get one la...Law can be change so why not throw in more money get a fire door plus it is like insurance keeping ur hse safe

contrary to popular thinking..fire door is used to reduce the spread of fire and smoke from your own unit to other units in the event of fire..it simply means you install to prevent damage to other properties

means the door is able to withstand a fire for certain amount of minutes mah. Tougher door in that sense.

say if someone throw a molotov cocktail on your door from outside. ur door can still tahan until a freaking fire engine come :D

means the door is able to withstand a fire for certain amount of minutes mah. Tougher door in that sense.

say if someone throw a molotov cocktail on your door from outside. ur door can still tahan until a freaking fire engine come :D

Molotov cocktail????

U tot we live iraq or russia or what? :blink:

thats why at home must put

fire_extinguisher.jpg

Think along the lines of shark + runner. :D

Ya i thinking that too or he piss so many pple off till waiting fr pple to burn him out. [laugh]