Preventive maintenance

Roh96

Hi all,

My wife is driving a 8 yrs old Toyota with 130K mileage. I'm thinking what sort of preventive maintenance to take note to avoid car breaking down on the road or fail to start in morrning. She uses the car to send my gal to school, so reliability is our top priority since we rely on it everyday. Those bro who have experience maintaining car till 200K km and beyond, pls share what parts should i be taking note or change before it fail on me.

Things like radiator, water pump, fuel pump, alternator, air-flow sensor, what else?? How long can they last?

Hi all,

My wife is driving a 8 yrs old Toyota with 130K mileage. I'm thinking what sort of preventive maintenance to take note to avoid car breaking down on the road or fail to start in morrning. She uses the car to send my gal to school, so reliability is our top priority since we rely on it everyday. Those bro who have experience maintaining car till 200K km and beyond, pls share what parts should i be taking note or change before it fail on me.

Things like radiator, water pump, fuel pump, alternator, air-flow sensor, what else?? How long can they last?

Regular oil change and renew timing belt (usually incls water pump & bearings, coolant, fan belts in the package). Other than that, follow the golden rule: "If it ain't broken, dun fix it".

Hi all,

When it didnt break, dont change.

Because when you change it beforehand, somehow, more things will break.

Initially, i was thinking "change it before it breaks", looks like the rule is "if it didn't break, don't change".

When it didnt break, dont change.

Because when you change it beforehand, somehow, more things will break.

If dont change then have to wait for the car to break down along the road liao?! [:p]

For a 8 year old car, better to change things like the belts and radiator pipes, then should able to last until the car scrap. If you delay the change, then really not worth spending cause the car left 1 year only.

If dont change then have to wait for the car to break down along the road liao?! [:p]

For a 8 year old car, better to change things like the belts and radiator pipes, then should able to last until the car scrap. If you delay the change, then really not worth spending cause the car left 1 year only.

At times, cars are like human.

Before it breakdown, it will give signs.

Then should consider changing of engine as well just in case it requires overhaul [cool]

change body too in case rust. change all the electrical wiring in the car too in case short circuit. change the fuel tank too in case it leaks. change the windscreen and glass too in case suddenly crack,...... :wacko:

or maybe juz change to brand new car lah if so scared. [laugh][laugh]

change body too in case rust. change all the electrical wiring in the car too in case short circuit. change the fuel tank too in case it leaks. change the windscreen and glass too in case suddenly crack,...... :wacko:

I believe this is the reason that's why many people will change car every 3-4 years, before anything breaks down. :D

Sometimes it doesnt give signs, i remember the radiator hose give way and breaks and the radiator just dry up and by the time the sign show, it is already 'overheated'! [:p]

I believe this is the reason that's why many people will change car every 3-4 years, before anything breaks down. :D

Nothing beats the new car smell. [laugh]

>Roh96, if you're into preventative maintenance, standard period is 6mths interval.

Send to reputable workshop to check all the Ware & Tear items such as battery, wheel bearing, shock absorber, brake pad & rotor etc.

Engine oil change strictly follow 10K mileage for sync oil. Else 5K mileage for non sync oil.

Transmission oil change every 30-35K mileage. Tire change every 30,000 KM or 2yrs whichever come first.

I believe you should able to drive all the way to 10yrs COE expiry.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

My car has engine oil change every 8,000 KM and transmission at 30K mileage. Battery change every 1-1.5yrs

Tire strictly change at 1-1.5yrs even tire thread is good.

Basically, with this PM, I budget the cost yearly rather than major breakdown which cost more.

>Roh96, if you're into preventative maintenance, standard period is 6mths interval.

Send to reputable workshop to check all the Ware & Tear items such as battery, wheel bearing, shock absorber, brake pad & rotor etc.

Engine oil change strictly follow 10K mileage for sync oil. Else 5K mileage for non sync oil.

Transmission oil change every 30-35K mileage. Tire change every 30,000 KM or 2yrs whichever come first.

I believe you should able to drive all the way to 10yrs COE expiry.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

My car has engine oil change every 8,000 KM and transmission at 30K mileage. Battery change every 1-1.5yrs

Tire strictly change at 1-1.5yrs even tire thread is good.

Basically, with this PM, I budget the cost yearly rather than major breakdown which cost more.

Thanks for sharing. Yes, i have been following routine servicing schedule and checklist. The condition of the car is still acceptable given its age, suspensions, engine, gearbox all working fine with no abnormal sound or jerk. I'm more concern on things that can bring the car to complete halt when it fail, such as overheating, fuel pump or air flow sensor and stuff like that. That's why i thinking of approaching preventive maintenance, changing parts before they fail. I don't wish the car to fail on me when i need it most.

Ideally changing to a brand new car will solve all problems. Still waiting for this opportunity.

later tio lemon then lppl [laugh]