Does achievement matters ?

ShepherdPie

Yesterday straits times invest section, interviewed a guy who didnt fully own his everyday car or his hdb flat.

Does he need to be at least slightly more succesful financially before being feature ?

Its quite silly to think that he thinks that by not stretching his HDB home loan.. To me, either you pay all beause it totally not necessary to pay interest to banks if you have cash.. Or you stretch to the max, if you believe that you have better use of your $$.

Yesterday straits times invest section, interviewed a guy who didnt fully own his everyday car or his hdb flat.

Does he need to be at least slightly more succesful financially before being feature ?

Its quite silly to think that he thinks that by not stretching his HDB home loan.. To me, either you pay all beause it totally not necessary to pay interest to banks if you have cash.. Or you stretch to the max, if you believe that you have better use of your $$.

Sometimes, people stretch their housing loan is because of dependent insurance cover thingy. It's weird no doubt, but I have actually heard from someone that they are stretching the HDB loan to the max, just in case the other party mati, don't need to pay anymore (i.e. covered by insurance = free house). [rolleyes]

also good point.

my wifey planned to pay off everything within 5 yrs. logic being to minimise loan interest and since our cpf already max out, no point leave it inside oa just pay off lor.

if you pay in full cash dont stretch.

if you pay in full CPF. stretch... because CPF interest will kill you if you intend to sell your house.

if you dont intend to sell your house.. its okay too pay off in full since its not going to affect you much but still better to stretch for the incident you mention

if you dont intend to sell house, but intend to get a private property and pay with CPF?? better to pay off too. if not loan of second house going to be hugh.

Really "por" for the other significant to mati faster???? This kind of spouse very scary.

Why you judge a person by his financial well being?

Actually i have no problem with this person.. but why is he featured in the papers yesterday under invest section - 1 whole page abt him ?!? Doesnt he has to have abit more financial achievement ?

ha ha ha .. i was expecting someone to have big cars or big house.. or running a multi-million profitable business.

Edited by ShepherdPie

interest is so low now.. why not stretch?

It is very achievable to get higher returns by putting your money elsewhere than fully pay for the house....

plus, if i bought a mortagage insurance.. if me or my partner kaput, the other stands to gain more. Sometimes, time is your friend.

Really "por" for the other significant to mati faster???? This kind of spouse very scary.

not scary lah, it is just being pragmatic.

of cos we dont wish the other party to die. but if that is a valid possibility, might as well plan for it.

If you ask me, i rather myself to be the one to go first.

Isn't this a hallmark of Singapore?

Where anything and everything is judged to signify your status in society?

no one is judging successful in life according to wealth..

Just that if he is dishing out advise on investment.. dont he need abit more creditablity ?

Actually i have no problem with this person.. but why is he featured in the papers yesterday under invest section - 1 whole page abt him ?!? Doesnt he has to have abit more financial achievement ?

ha ha ha .. i was expecting someone to have big cars or big house.. or running a multi-million profitable business.

So you are saying no big house big car means not financially savvy and successful?

ST cannot find the real rich who are wiling to share their lifestyle and secrets... (why would they??)

Most ppl featured there need advertisement for their funds, businesses, haolian, whatever

Edited by Ngck

TS trying to say is why newspaper interview an asset poor fellow who has no car & no flat in the finance section.

My say is more & more young ppl will become like him, cannot afford these things.

TS trying to say is why newspaper interview an asset poor fellow who has no car & no flat in the finance section.

My say is more & more young ppl will become like him, cannot afford these things.

especially if they dont know how to save and think only of taking 100% loan [lipsrsealed]

ya correct :D

if you pay in full cash dont stretch.

if you pay in full CPF. stretch... because CPF interest will kill you if you intend to sell your house.

if you dont intend to sell your house.. its okay too pay off in full since its not going to affect you much but still better to stretch for the incident you mention

if you dont intend to sell house, but intend to get a private property and pay with CPF?? better to pay off too. if not loan of second house going to be hugh.

pay full dont pay full, return cpf interest if sell house etc..aga not much differences

so stretch is better also la, 1 party mati..also free house [laugh] ..

then inside cpf leftover also can take out..

so stretch also no difference if intend change house in future

If your mortgage interest is lower than inflation.

That means lender is losing out and the borrower

is paying back less than he borrowed.

In this case stretch!