Looking for cheapest coilover for 08 Altis

Ungtiong

installed lowering spring last year, as expected the shocks gave way in less than a year. Anyway was testing was whether i am happy with the lower ride and sad to say i am hooked and will NEVER go back to stock. At this stage, my wife will kill me if i go back to stock .Already 2 ppl vomited in my car when on stock, my baby & my mother-in-law, not to mention a few near missed at low speeds!!!! due to the very very poor suspension setup...after lowering spring no problems at all. Dont know how they can sell the 08 Altis as a family car....maybe family boat but NOT a family car. IMO its one of the worst car available in stock (thats another story)..unfortunately no $$, so stuck with it.

last few week have been hitting the speed humps and the road on carpark ramps. Already White Sands carpark, SingPost carpark and 2 HDB MSCP will hit the bottom even if i crawl over the slope. The lowering spring was good but its time to move on (the rear sag too low...only 1/2 finger).

dont wish to go back to stock or stock height so what is the cheapest coilover?
friend recommend GAB SS (do in JB). read also BC BR is cheap but cannot find in the marketplace (they only have BC V1).

Have been searching internet but not much info cause i guess not many ppl with an Altis will upgrade their suspension (heck we dont even have a legal exhaust despite being one of the most common car on the road!!!).

think gap coil over is the cheapest..but dun sure gt for atlis..i had install for 4years plus..still ok or u try ask foong kim @ubi?

Edited by Proton

cheap does not mean it is good. I have hear of complains of the cheaper coilovers being too stiff even when set to the softness setting. you change to lowered spring but did you also replace the absorber?

BC Coilovers are decent but dont expect it to be lasting...sound/squeaking will come in around 1-1.5 year of use....some earlier....

Stock is the best....if you afraid boat ride just put a spring stiffener.....

Coilover is a bit overkill for family sedan...

No cheapest but reasonably affordable even when you go for one to one recond later on, BC, which im using coming to 6yrs no leak yet. JB try Hotbit.

I set to the max and compressing the spring rate to get my desire height, even when car hoisted up the 4 wheels never drop a mm.

My fren's camry is on D2 not as hardy.

Edited by KaKiLang

BC Coilovers are decent but dont expect it to be lasting...sound/squeaking will come in around 1-1.5 year of use....some earlier....

Stock is the best....if you afraid boat ride just put a spring stiffener.....

Coilover is a bit overkill for family sedan...

When you set anything hard, bound to have creaking sounds here and there. Stiffener wont help with the Altis stock shocks.

used b&g lowering springs. stock altis is good only if you dont go over 70. its perfect for uncle that crawl in the car parks, never go over 2500 rpm. it is truly designed for uncles. I love my lowering spring except for the drop at the rear. Driving wise its peerfect...i dont track (its an Altis...) but its very percise at higher speeds. Also very stable at top speeds. Just need to go up 2fingers cause scrapping exhaust when parking and hitting the bottom over humps and steep slopes.

only looking at coilover because of the height adjustment. Dont need very good cause only normal sprited driving. Stock rear gap was 1.5 hand!!!!! about 8 fingers ...just imagine the roll on that gap!!! i had no fear over humps..can even go over at higher speeds....

Haha ok lah bro. Sometimes it's in ur mind. I've been thru some driving course doing things u won't do even wif coils using some of the b&b cars wif stock suspension u mention and I'm still alive. Altis is one of them.