Hospital blooper and seeking legal advices

Spurman

Hi MCF bros/sis,

I dunno if I should be writing this, but I guess I need help and seeking best legal advice and helping my relative and her family out.

A close relative of mine had a minor operation 2 weeks ago at a local hospital, "thyroid nodule", basically a lump on the neck, throat area.

The operation was to remove this lump.

Operation was done and patient discharged the following day... "Note, patient and family asked doctor how come no need to use a "pipe" to discharge the "bad blood" when before the operation was done, they said there would be a need to.. Doctor implied that the blood was already discharged thus no need to... And there was also no CT Scan or scan after the surgery.. Okay, fine.... Since the doctor said so... Patient do notice the surgery area was noticeably "swollen", but its normal says doctor....

For 3 days, patient experience nausea, some pain, so finally cannot tahan, visited the doc on 3rd day after operation... Doc dismissed it as normal, prescribed some medicine and told her to go back... Okay, fine, since he says so..

2 hours after she returned home, she vomitted blood.... Sharks, I send her straight to hospital, probably broke some traffic rules along the way, but it was an emergency, had to rush her immediately to hospital A&E....

That night she went through a CT Scan, her blood pressure was extremely low, apparently bad blood is still in her body.

The following day, she had to be operated...... Coz theres still blood in her wounds..

The same doctor operated on her and deemed it a success again.....

Claims to be a few possibilities, 1) Sepsis infection or blood infection after operation, (auto immune) or 2) first operetion's blood was not discharged fully and flow back to body..... or 3) virus infection

A day after the 2nd operation, she developed breathing difficulties and at midnight the worse has happen, she needs to be warded into ICU...

She needs to get her breathing back properly...

Another day passed and further scans revealed that there's now blood in her lungs and her lungs is badly infected by the blood... Likely the same 3 causes as above....

Another operation needed and pipe inserted into the wounds to discharge the blood successfully....

2 days later, the lung specialist I call that, not sure his term, but I call him the lung specialist, finally verbally revealed to her family that its the blood which was not discharged properly during the first operation..... WTF, how can this happen in our highly rated hospital......

Shes still in ICU after almost 2 weeks, recovering slowly and she may not fully recover her lungs as its "badly" damaged.....

It seems like a simple operation gone awry, but none of the doctors admit its a mistake, only that lung specialist said so only. The bills are going to hefty..... Paid already 2 times in a week besides the first operation, they could run into hundreds of thousand if not in control...

Question is, how can we confirm that its the hospital mistake, coz only the lung doctor admits its due to fault from the first operation.. The doctor who did the first operation says his operation is a success which is bull-crap..... We are trying to get the surgery/operation reports from the hospital, we just made the request this evening, but the nurse in ICU says she can only let us know if we can get it tomorrow, and she sounds very unwilling, asking us why we need that for, and we need the patient's consent when apparently she's in difficulty right now.... Hospital seems to with-holding these reports......

Any reputable lawyers which I can approach or any advices from you guys here which can help......

Thanks for listening guys... It had been a distressing week for her family and myself too.... Watching a healthy girl walking into SGH for a non-threatening surgery to be stuck in ICU now and through the fault of the doctor and the hospital still have the cheek to collect monies from her family...

I suggest that you talk to a specialist. Find out what are the possible complications that can happen in that surgery first. Find out who can save your relative is more important now dan seeking compensation thru a lawyer.

This is my Dad's thyroid doctor. He's a specialist in endocrinology at Mt E. Dr Tan Khai Tong, you can write to him at [email protected]

I suggest that you talk to a specialist. Find out what are the possible complications that can happen in that surgery first. Find out who can save your relative is more important now dan seeking compensation thru a lawyer.

This is my Dad's thyroid doctor. He's a specialist in endocrinology at Mt E. Dr Tan Khai Tong, you can write to him at [email protected]

Noted with thanks bro....

Law suit agreeded is secondary. But currently there's like no accountability or assurance or best possible way to make her fully recover. Though she's recovering slowly now. But still not out of icu yet. Thus possibly making us more the anxious

My wife works in a hospital. Her take is that if you goto the media, it's show hand. If he hospital has a case, they will not help you for fear of accepting liability.

Better way is to complain to management and see if a compromise settlement can be reached.

Would be writing into MOH for complaint.

Hospital negligence causes this.

Thankfully she's recovering, but slow. I read from many Internet articles that the post-thyroid bleeding must be discharged within 24hours. But for this case, it was like 96hours. Wtf

Sharks. Can mod help me remove the name. Din realise I put the name of the hospital.

Wondering if can help me censor that for the time being

Hospitals....Haaa....money making organisation. That's what I personally felt after few of my relatives went in (unfortunately due to sickness) and got squeeze dry and died. Of the 4 relatives, one CPF no money one, doctor say cannot do anything immediately no matter how we beg them to do something.

yeah, pay some monies to get a second opinion first before establishing what to do next.

now while your memory is still fresh, keep a log book day by day and hour by hour what is happening? including comments made by any doctors? get the name and designation right?

seems like CGH sldnt be labelled the lousiest hospital anymore (cos many old uncle n auntie still avoid this hosp for major surgery)

we sld look at the cases done by TTSH and SGH...

Edited by Babyt

i agreed. CGx damn sucks. Go in Boh tai chi. Eat medicine already GOT tai chi.

Gave those kind of medicines to makes one feels hallicunation. CCB.

I will avoid CGx at all cost.

i agreed. CGx damn sucks. Go in Boh tai chi. Eat medicine already GOT tai chi.

Gave those kind of medicines to makes one feels hallicunation. CCB.

I will avoid CGx at all cost.

A hospital that run by generals and for the generals.?

Aiyo! According to TCM nodules in neck are caused by accumulation of phlegm/mucus. Phlegm/mucus is generated in the stomach and if it is not cleared from there (due to low metabolism cuased by thyroid problem, etc), it moves up to the lungs (laboured breathing, wet cough) and then further upwards to the throat and neck, where it accumulates and become nodules.

* Food & drinks that promote phlegm/mucus:

Alcoholic beverages; greasy, sweet or spicy food; milk products (except yogurt); refined starch and highly processed starch products; 'cold' fruits (watermelon, sugarcane, etc); raw fruits and vegetables; cold beverages; fermented foods.

* Food & drinks that help to clear phlegm/mucus:

Onion, cinnamon, ginger, scallion, basil, rosemary, dill, oregano, sage, parsley, cardamom, nutmeg, fennel, anise, clove, coriander, leek, chives, Job's tears, adzuki beans, ginkgo nut.

seems like CGH sldnt be labelled the lousiest hospital anymore (cos many old uncle n auntie still avoid this hosp for major surgery)

we sld look at the cases done by TTSH and SGH...

Ehhh.... TS already mentioned which hospital liao.... not CGH...