Hospital blooper and seeking legal advices

Spurman

Sorry to hear of the unfortunate incident of TS...

I guess hospital and healthcare professionals are quite stressed as any mistakes could likely result in big issues...

My family had our own fair share of problem with Doc.

More than 10 yr ago, my mother-in-law was diagnosed with colon cancer. After operating, biopsy showed tumor was malignant and it has spread to liver so doc said can't do much (in terms of further operations to cure her), and predicted 2 yr... We were shocked, but have her go on chemo as advised by doc. Then after two courses, doc suddenly told us MIL's condition has miraculously stabilised and localised in the liver and so can now operate to remove 60% of the liver which was infected.

Can you imagine what happened on the op table? After a large L-shaped incision was made, just when the docs were starting, they couldn't find the cancer cells and so stitched her back up!!! The doc said it was miraculous, but we had questions... Then again, we were on the other hand pleasantly surprised and so didn't pursue it.

The large L-shaped cut meant my MIL had to rest and suffer pain for about 2 months to recover from it...

Sad that there are many this type of causes that is to spend our hard earn money, mostly cpf.

Thanks for the help guys and the links for the feedbAcks.

The doc who did the first op had apologized for the inconveniences caused and his potential complancy in the first op and underestimating the swollen wound 3 days later. If he had paid more careful attention, this wont happen.

Anyway like most said, the most impt thing now is to get her treated well. Rest can talk later.

The last 2 weeks were traumatizing for the family as hospital failed to give a clear update on what's going on and what's going to happen. It was like when one thing happen, they do this, N the next thing comes, they do next.

Seeking redress shall come later. I hope these docs can give their fullest attention now to her.

Good for the doctor to apologise. They are usually very defensive. Litigation or even dealing with a hospital complaint while your relative is unwell is also very energy-sapping. So there is no good "solution".

In my view, public hospital treatment is pretty much gambling because you do not get to choose the specialist. I advise all to buy hospitalisation insurance for private specialist treatment. At least you know whose hands you are in, and the private doctor cannot push blame like they do in big hospitals.

I suggest that you talk to a specialist. Find out what are the possible complications that can happen in that surgery first. Find out who can save your relative is more important now dan seeking compensation thru a lawyer.

This is my Dad's thyroid doctor. He's a specialist in endocrinology at Mt E. Dr Tan Khai Tong, you can write to him at [email protected]

Hmmm .... I believe pacific.net.sg is no longer valid / in operations.

Thanks for the help guys and the links for the feedbAcks.

The doc who did the first op had apologized for the inconveniences caused and his potential complancy in the first op and underestimating the swollen wound 3 days later. If he had paid more careful attention, this wont happen.

Anyway like most said, the most impt thing now is to get her treated well. Rest can talk later.

The last 2 weeks were traumatizing for the family as hospital failed to give a clear update on what's going on and what's going to happen. It was like when one thing happen, they do this, N the next thing comes, they do next.

Seeking redress shall come later. I hope these docs can give their fullest attention now to her.

Correct.

What you can do now apart from taking care of her is to properly document facts.

I'm surprised the surgeon acknowledged wrongdoing this easily. He probably hasn't spoken to his lawyers. Document that.

I would pursue the matter and ensure 100% liability to be borne by the hospital.

Good if you can start to speak to a lawyer who deals with medical malpractice.

Good for the doctor to apologise. They are usually very defensive. Litigation or even dealing with a hospital complaint while your relative is unwell is also very energy-sapping. So there is no good "solution".

In my view, public hospital treatment is pretty much gambling because you do not get to choose the specialist. I advise all to buy hospitalisation insurance for private specialist treatment. At least you know whose hands you are in, and the private doctor cannot push blame like they do in big hospitals.

Doc admit mistake means can sue for malpractice. Huat ah!

wanna sue can... unless you have a very strong case against them and deep pocket... i might be wrong but i feel its not easy to get a doc to go against another... hope your relative will be fine very soon...

Actually it's pretty simple if such cases happens to anyone.

Just get them to list down their standard operation procedures before and after. If any of the procedures were missed out before and after, the chances of winning is very high if you want to seek legal aids.

From my understanding, most surgeon what work in certain specialist department normally skipped a few procedures during ops because based on percentage, some infection or s--t goes wrong is very slim.

public hospital is like that one lah.. if your case is not very serious or common... they get the junior docs to operation...and rookies make mistakes... :( esp since their working condition is pretty jialat.. working hrs damn long...

I personally dun dare to go public hospital after witness one of relatives being treated as a subsidied patient..

1) the practicing nurse, tried to put a needle to administer medication 3 times before a doc took over. :|

2) the patient next to my relative was starved for 3 days.. because the op threatres were fully occupied and his case is a low-priority case.. so the timing keep pushing back.. and the nurse was not sure if he could eat...

3) the junior doc.. told my relative they going to cut him with a L-shaped wound ard 10 inches.. in order to take out a fat lump on his neck. .. aniway, luckily a senior doc took over the case and it's turn out to be just 2 hole punctured on his back to remove the fats.

Edited by ShepherdPie

almost lost a young and fit relative - some acute internal organs infection. was recovering .... suddenly go into ICU. Both his bro and sis ARE DOCTORS SOME MORE. Then they realized the brother was badly dehydrated!!!!

My grandparents' cases..... I dont even wanna say. negligence. wanted to shoot a lawyer's letter but stopped by my traditional thinking uncles and aunts.

seriously. govt hospital. and i have even heard someone say she wanna be a doc because the lab coat and stethoscope looks so cool!

Updates.

Still in icu. Doctor trying another method to allow her to breath easier. Earlier on says that she will be able to adjust to the new oxygen machine but today says have to adjust to another method. Haiz. Doctors words wrong again.

Anyway, a short summary of what actually happen.

2 weeks ago. She went for a non-threatening operation. Thyroid gland removal. It's totally non dangerous, though there's a 1-2% chance of sepsis or a small risk of bleeding after operation.

Operation was declared a success, and discharged the following day.

However 3 days later, she went back to doc after a few days of discomfort at her wound, but was told to return home as doc says no problem one lar.

2 hours after returning home, she vomited blood and I send her straight to hospital. That was a 7pm. And a ct scan was done only say 2hrs later.

Found blood in her lungs and was removed the following day, op at around 12pm.

Went to icu a day later after she had difficulty in breathing.

Another op was done to also determine the cause and any rescue method.

Found that the blood that infected the lungs was the blood fr the thyroid operation.

Since then she's all the way in icu and her lungs damaged from the blood and fluids and infection.

Still recovering now, but likely needs 1 more week in icu.

May buddha be wif ur relative.

I actually went for a thyroid removal operation too and was done at nuh. Mine was done by the dept head though. 8 days to discharge. It's a horrible experience to be hospitalized.

I believe ur relative's was supposed to be a straightforward day surgery and depend on wat u said its definetly the hosptial's negligent. But the most important thing now is for ur relative to recover from this. U might wanna consider private hospital..

If u are a Buddhist u might wanna consider chanting medicine buddha mantra and delicate it to ur relative. Just find on YouTube u can find it.

She's out of Icu today. A great step to recovery.

that is a good start, but let me remind you that when she went for the op, the risks were surely explained and a consent signed. the 5% morbidity would be covered with the consent. It would be good to get an explanation from a surgeon. Tan Khai Tong is an endocrinologist, but get the views of an ENT surgeon.

Good that she is recovering. Hang in there...better days are ahead.

From the intentions in your post, it appears you cannot wait to sue the hospita for money, more than anything else. In most cases people sue only after the inevitable has occured, but your case the person is still alive and kicking, instead of understanding the situation and discussing the options of remedy, you think of sueing, what good does it do for the sick ? Simplly typical of those who want to hold people ransom at their failures.

Vextan, how different are you in terms of intentions? I can't help but sneer when i chanced upon this sorry post of yours.

From your deliberate wording, you can't wait to pounce and cast aspersions on TS from the first available moment, can you?

Where is your conscience?

Vextan, how different are you in terms of intentions? I can't help but sneer when i chanced upon this sorry post of yours.

From your deliberate wording, you can't wait to pounce and cast aspersions on TS from the first available moment, can you?

Where is your conscience?

Relax. No worries. At least my angry days are over now.