Finally TP recognizes speedsters caught on car camera videos

Darthrevan

24068663e.jpg

Caught a speedster on camera? Send clip to cops

The next time your in-car surveillance camera captures a speeding motorist on the roads, don't just upload it online. Send it to the Traffic Police, too.

The authorities said video recordings of possible traffic violations are used in their investigations, and encouraged the public to send the clips if they lodge a police report against errant drivers.

"Members of the public who have original footage of such videos are advised to provide them at the earliest opportunity to the Traffic Police," it said in response to queries from The Straits Times.

Such investigations also require support from eyewitnesses with information to come forward, it added.

Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...p-cops-20130805

The next time your in-car surveillance camera captures a speeding motorist on the roads, don't just upload it online. Send it to the Traffic Police, too.

The authorities said video recordings of possible traffic violations are used in their investigations, and encouraged the public to send the clips if they lodge a police report against errant drivers.

"Members of the public who have original footage of such videos are advised to provide them at the earliest opportunity to the Traffic Police," it said in response to queries from The Straits Times.

Such investigations also require support from eyewitnesses with information to come forward, it added.

Yeah, finally can put vid camera to good use. [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Edited by Yewheng

for the speeding part, I think it is ridiculous.

so is it because the video submitted by the person shows 90kmh and one car pulls away and therefore assumed to be speeding?

wow, so i just need to drive to Tuas via PIE one round at 90km/h, any truck/lorry/bus that can keep up to my speed will all kena?

You have to be a witness and appear in court, should the defendant challenged the video. Why got so much time wor.... [sweatdrop]

Actually the article is very misleading. Non-speed related videos can be used for investigation and prosecution, but speed related ones cannot because there is no way to accurately guage another vehicle's speed. Of course if you car comes with a recently calibrated speed detection device which your camera records, then it's a different story.

expect slower traffic and more jams since the authority openly say they will investigate these videos sent to them will result in more drivers driving with more caution..

You have to be a witness and appear in court, should the defendant challenged the video. Why got so much time wor.... [sweatdrop]

I think with clear videos, seldom the offender will want to contest, and thus very little chance you will be asked to testify.

regarding Nicholas post #13, what are your thoughts?

does TP send summon to speedsters first assuming the speedster does not contest? failing which they then assume the witness will testify?

or does the TP already gotten the witness word he is willing to take the witness's stand before they will send out the summon?

Notice the news article is specifically (intentionally?) talking about speeding offences only.

Is it possible to determine speeding by video alone?

As for other offences like reckless driving, I have yet to see anyone sharing any experience of TP taking concrete action against offenders after they sent in clear videos with offer to testify. They only seem to take action on those that make it to social media like the KPE racing recently.

but many will not even contest in court if kena summon.

judge may not like your mitigation and even upped the penalty jialat jialat [laugh]

wrong lah deh. i think there will be significant improvement and make the roads safer.

also, those heavy vehicles that like to "cruise" on middle lanes also better watch out.

cannot be saying they are trying to overtake slower vehicles if the left lane is empty right? [laugh]

still need sappork from ppl