Changing halogen to LED

Clementi123

Hi guys,

Anyone has tried changing headlight halogen type to LED?

Basically I am thinking to change my halogen bulb to LED, as I wanted to have a very bright and white look on my car. I need some advice from you guys as below,

Type 3825 / 5050, which type to go?

Then how many LEDs in order to achieve a super bright enough look closer to HID? lol..

Thanks any bros in advanced.

• Dislike 1

1. LED lights illegal

2. LED lights the light throw is not as far as halogen light or HID(built in)

you can give osram diamond vision a try. if you want that white look.

Aftermarket LED will not work properly. As LED is not as bright as HID, lens needs separate design consideration. In addiition, LED output will be overclock to achieve the same brightness as LED. Heat is also another issue.

h7-5050-30-smd-led-bulb-car-led-pure-white.jpg

Will be this type of bulb actually working on cars?

Currently driving old generation mazda 3 and just changed low beam headlight to KW Hybrid 6000K (malaysia brand) type halogen bulb, but I just can't see that difference (in terms of white color effect) compare to other cars. I am not sure if it's due to the projector lens angle issue or the brand or bulb that I am using currently.

Edited by Clementi123

1. LED lights illegal

2. LED lights the light throw is not as far as halogen light or HID(built in)

you can give osram diamond vision a try. if you want that white look.

bro, are you referring to philips diamond vision? from my understanding there 's no osram diamond vision

Currently driving old generation mazda 3 and just changed low beam headlight to KW Hybrid 6000K (malaysia brand) type halogen bulb, but I just can't see that difference (in terms of white color effect) compare to other cars. I am not sure if it's due to the projector lens angle issue or the brand or bulb that I am using currently.

When you are using halogen, pointless to change bulb. Waste $$$.

Probably the car make design cos my previous mit old model also when change to night breaker no effect. But my newer version toyota, now with night breaker

plus difference from stock.

Regards

Patrick Chong

Bright white lights blinds the driver in front of you. You'll get cursed so much that you can forget buying TOTO or 4D this lifetime.

[thumbsup]

Always wonder why people want to mess around lights.

QUOTE (Clementi123 @ Aug 21 2013, 09:36 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Probably the car make design cos my previous mit old model also when change to night breaker no effect. But my newer version toyota, now with night breaker

plus difference from stock.

Regards

Patrick Chong

I tried Osram NightBreaker b4. Bulbs only lasted a few months. I wil not buy Osram again.

Now I using Philips but 30% brighter n more lasting. Abt $10 ea only. If I wan very bright I might try the new Philips Xtreme vision. Claimed abt 90% brighter but sud b abt $70/pr.

QUOTE (Clementi123 @ Aug 21 2013, 10:03 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
bro, are you referring to philips diamond vision? from my understanding there 's no osram diamond vision

I think it Philips Diamond Vision.

Philips Diamond Vision very bright. I dun think its approved for road use. Only for track n rally use.

u can try Osram Nightbreaker Plus. very bright n throw is good. make sure u by the real thing with osram seal intact. sometimes workshop just install n show u sold empty box u won't know whether it is real or chiong one. aliexpress has a lot of chiong night breaker. mine almost 1.5 years n going strong.

I tried Osram NightBreaker b4. Bulbs only lasted a few months. I wil not buy Osram again.

Now I using Philips but 30% brighter n more lasting. Abt $10 ea only. If I wan very bright I might try the new Philips Xtreme vision. Claimed abt 90% brighter but sud b abt $70/pr.

Philips Diamond Vision very bright. I dun think its approved for road use. Only for track n rally use.

Both mine honda n now the toyota using the nightbreaker n nightbreaker plus from 2yrs and 1yr respectively no issue for me.

Heard of the philips diamond vision very bright too but worry will bother other on road so didn't put on.

bro, i oso usin osram night breaker; it's the only approved type at 4300k. slightly whiter but still off-white. let's c how long it last as i've been usin for 2 mths.

u can try Osram Nightbreaker Plus. very bright n throw is good. make sure u by the real thing with osram seal intact. sometimes workshop just install n show u sold empty box u won't know whether it is real or chiong one. aliexpress has a lot of chiong night breaker. mine almost 1.5 years n going strong.

ya, orig one made in germany n have 1 year warranty got it from dj.

I thinking of replace my pole light with some bright bulb and use it as DRL.

u can try philips ultinon led t10. but i only can suggest 4200k. 6000k may attract TP.

it's pretty pricey though at 60 a pair unless u have better lobang.

Both mine honda n now the toyota using the nightbreaker n nightbreaker plus from 2yrs and 1yr respectively no issue for me.

Heard of the philips diamond vision very bright too but worry will bother other on road so didn't put on.

Maybe now the NB is better. Last time when first came out, many pple had problems it only last a few months. Cost $70/pair even so not cheap.

I never had issue with Philips b4. Used Vision Plus n now Premium.

Philips DV si not approved here but dunno if TP wil catch or not? Light quite blinding n might irritate others.

Now Philips got new type. Xtreme. Maybe I try but current bulb is 30% brighter n I find quite enough for Msia roads.