GST hike more likely if...

Mustank

Today's news on Straits Times...

"I think everyone wants to pay less tax and get more. But the Government has to get money from you, we have no other magic source. Today, our balance is good. But beyond a point, like the US or Europe, we are in trouble. In my Sunday speech, after talking about good things, I have to remind everyone that all good things have to be paid for. Which I think all working adults know...."

- PM Lee

Wah..really coming..better get my 60 inch TV fast.... :o

Yes sadly I am a working adult... [:p]

Edited by Kyrios

"I think everyone wants to pay less tax and get more. But the Government has to get money from you, we have no other magic source. Today, our balance is good. But beyond a point, like the US or Europe, we are in trouble. In my Sunday speech, after talking about good things, I have to remind everyone that all good things have to be paid for. Which I think all working adults know...."

- PM Lee

Wah..really coming..better get my 60 inch TV fast.... :o

Yes sadly I am a working adult... [:p]

ha ha ha

neber bluff you all right :D lai liao, ai lai liao!!! akan datang :D

can i grow my own chickens, vegetables and cycle to work, then i wont need to pay GST for food

大騙仙, sell me BTO cheap cheap, then ask me pay GST for the next 40 years [bigcry]

Edited by Staff69

those who want to hoot big big better do so now!!! :D they arleady give warning liao, want to buy better buy now!!!

1) dian see kee (television)

2) kim lian (gold chain)

3) kim chiu peo (gold watch)

4) goo nee hun (milk powder)

5) chiu tian (handphone)

6) ipad, pda

7) dian nao (computer)

8) canon 1dx [grin]

garang guni!!! siu po zhua, gu sha kor!!! dian see kee!!! radio tv!!! chiu diam, pda, ipad!!! [laugh] [laugh]

- PM Lee

Other countries dun have ERP, COE, ABSD, ASSD etc.., we have... furthermore, our Temasick Holdings and GIC investing billions of OUR dollars overseas right? Where the returns? Long term = perpetual holding again?? US Europe may be in financial difficulties now, but they do have better quality of life than us..

Its like a Snake Oil salesman telling you all the benefits, but at the end turn around and tell u the high price... I rather skin this slimy sales man...

This is not something that we can stomach perpetually; there will be a boiling point.. if we say No, can they still stay Yes? 2016 (5 yrs after GE2011) is your turn to say No to these conmen...

oei oei oei dont anyhow write ah

must read the right stuff :D say the right stuff :D

ok right stuff lai liao

consperm is right stuff

from ah gong own wenbsite one

cannot be anymore right liao :D

http://app.mof.gov.sg/data/cmsresource/vid...apore%20GST.pdf

TRANSCRIPT:

TAX SYSTEM IN SINGAPORE - GST

Narration: The overall tax burden in Singapore is one of the lowest in the world. Taking

together income taxes, the GST and all other taxes, the total amount of taxes paid by the

average Singaporean is significantly lower than that in other developed countries.

Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Minister for Finance: What's important in our tax system is

that we keep taxes low and also keep it fair. Keeping it fair means that the bulk of our taxes

have to be paid by higher income Singaporeans, and the bulk of the benefits have to be

received by the lower income Singaporeans and the middle income group. That's what we

intend to preserve in Singapore. Low taxes overall, and fair taxes.

Narration: How does the GST figure in all of this?

Tharman Shanmugaratnam: It is a 7 percent rate, first, it is lower than most developed

countries and we intend to keep it that way. But the GST is not something that exists by itself,

the GST comes with benefits for the lower income group because we use the revenues from

GST to help the lower income group and the middle income group as well.

Narration: The question is whether we should reduce GST now to help the poor?

Tharman Shanmugaratnam: When we raised GST from five to seven per cent, we

introduced the workfare, we raised subsidies across a range of services- education, health

and other areas; benefits that provide the poor with what we call, GST Plus, it is not just GST,

but GST plus - Workfare and all the other benefits. And GST Plus is a fair system, it is a

redistribution system from the rich, and from foreigners who pay GST, towards the poor and

middle income group in Singapore.

So if you look at what we did when we raised GST from five per cent to seven per cent, for

the lower income group, take a typical family. For every extra dollar they paid in GST, first,

they got back three dollars in permanent benefits- workfare, increased subsidies in

education and other areas, plus, they got back an extra two dollars in temporary benefits,

one-off benefits, for four to five years, most low income families got GST offsets. So when

you add then up, the permanent benefits and the temporary benefits, that is $5 back for

every extra dollar of GST being paid. That is a fair system.

If we were to cut the GST now, bring it back to 5 per cent let's say, it also means reduced

benefits, which is not good for the poor. In fact, the main people who benefit from that are

the richest Singaporeans and foreigners, because they pay the bulk of the GST revenues we

collect. Most of the GST we collect, in fact about 75 per cent of it, just comes from the top 25

per cent of Singaporeans and foreigners. They don

yes you the oracle...issit.. :D

no lah, it is poh zhua say one :D

you all must believe poh zhua because it is the right stuff [sunny]

[laugh][laugh]

luckily the geylang walking chickens, dont charge GST.

still $80-$150 [:p].....maybe happy too soon, later after finish, they issue me receipt for GST [laugh]

Edited by Staff69

SMLJ, precious metals can be GST-exempted, basic necessities cannot??!!

Oh ya, precious metals are for INVESTMENT purposes, basic necessities are for CONSUMPTION.

So, we should use CT term (Consumption Tax) instead. :D

luckily the geylang walking chickens, dont charge GST.

still $80-$150 [:p].....maybe happy too soon, later after finish, they issue me receipt for GST [laugh]

In some Ang Moh countries, chickens need to be registered and pay Chicken Tax.

WARNING: Not the right stuff

from the wrong stuff in fact, from edmw people

how much gst do you pay?

540869_491734324195887_694438207_n.jpg

The word "never"....has an expiry date in politics.

...its go for the no casino too,...many moons ago...LOL

Edited by Kezg1

SMLJ, precious metals can be GST-exempted, basic necessities cannot??!!

Oh ya, precious metals are for INVESTMENT purposes, basic necessities are for CONSUMPTION.

So, we should use CT term (Consumption Tax) instead. :D

No GST : D

Gold-Bars-in-Fort-Knox.jpg

kena GST :D

WYETH_MILK_POWDER.jpg

36243-slow-clap-citizen-kane-orson-w-bJkI.gif

joker.gif

tumblr_mpz3chpRqT1sytgpro1_400.gif

They only compare with things that suits them.

When comparing rail transportation costs, they use London ... why not take something closer to us?

Then when comparing security, they compare with Bolehland to show how "safe" we are.

spot on. now pple need to start thinking if this type of moving target arguments is objective and ask "is the driver taking us in the right direction?"