Buying AV system in USA and bringing onboard flight

Kanchelsk

Hihi,

anyone has experience buying home theatre system in USA and bring onboard flight to Singapore?

value is about US$300. can it be bring onboard flight??? and come Singapore will pay TAX?

appreciate if anyone can share experience.

Because amazon don't ship such equipment and shipping via vpost will cost a bomb...

courts is retailing @ $899 sales...

Anythin above US400 need to be declare and second thing you need power step-down due to different supply unit... as Singapore uses 240v...if worth why not....

Yup.. agree with you...

If buy in US need step-down to use in SG, also no international warranty? If factor in SG GST and the hassle of bringing it back yourself thru airport (excess baggage?) or high Vpost/Borderlinx freight cost, then buying locally from retailers dun look so bad... if u think Courts sell too high, you can goto the local Mama electronic shops to ask for lower prices (e.g. parisilk etc)

Like other brothers had mentioned, please check the power rating of your equipment. Is it 230V/50Hz? Is the connector 3 pin plug? If not, can the connector be changed, or is it fixed?

For items bought overseas and brought in, there is tax relief for the first S$600 (revised since 2012) if you were away for more than 48h. This means every additional value/item above S$600 is to be declared and you need to pay 7%gst.

If you only buy this USD300 hifi item then you need not pay tax. If you bought other things as well then you need to add their value up.

Please read LINK for more details.

I am interested to know what is this hifi item?

i checked onkyo website the system can use 230VAC or 110VAC... the price difference is more then half ahah...

amplifier + speakers about 16kg... wif krisflyer gold i shld be able to carry 3 baggage from USA...

worry about the USA n Singapore customs... dunno they will tax...

i read all the replies.. seems like singapore tax from US$400 onwards...

Like other brothers had mentioned, please check the power rating of your equipment. Is it 230V/50Hz? Is the connector 3 pin plug? If not, can the connector be changed, or is it fixed?

For items bought overseas and brought in, there is tax relief for the first S$600 (revised since 2012) if you were away for more than 48h. This means every additional value/item above S$600 is to be declared and you need to pay 7%gst.

If you only buy this USD300 hifi item then you need not pay tax. If you bought other things as well then you need to add their value up.

Please read LINK for more details.

I am interested to know what is this hifi item?

It's this Onkyo system... haha... US$279...

http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-HT-S3500-5-1-C...;keywords=onkyo

courts is selling $899..

http://www.courts.com.sg/Products/PID-IP05...-SYSTEM-HTS3500

Mustafa dun carry this brand leh... hmm...

AV system usually power ratings quite high .. you will need a BIG step down transformer.

it's 110VAC or 220-240VAC... nice...

whoa!!! now everything also can buy from USA!!! even audio also can buy [grin] maybe next time can buy dian see kee (tv) and sua sha kee (washing machine)[grin] ok ok joking only [grin]

no la those too big liao...

buy speakers like mirage omnisat, nanosat. Small but super expensive here. substantially cheaper in US.

hmm.. i think whole system is way too big... if jus carry an amplifier back sounds better...