Front lower arm and suspension questions

Lengendcf

Went for servicing for my matrix 1.6M.

Told by mechanic, front left lower arm a bit crack. Is this a normal part to change.

Right front suspension gone, I can feel it. So going to change front left and right. But the mechanic says don't know the mounting for the suspension will crack or not. So when changing suspension, do I need to change the so called mounting?

Regards

Front lower arm no such thing call abit crack. The crack part should be the lower arm bushing. As for the absorber, necessary to replace when either oil leak of soft. The absorber mounting is attached on the wheel house. If it crack den compulsory to replace.

Hope this help.

For this front lower arm thing, was quoted sgd380, so base on this price is it referring to the pair of front lower arms or just a pair of bushings? Thanks.

Edited by Lengendcf

Lower arm only come in per pcs. $380 could be the lower arm. I ever ask for kia cerato lower arm bushing cost $90 only. Lower arm will not crack unless involve in a accident direct force onto the wheel at about 100km. Be mindfull if u really want to change. They will only replace the bushing only then the lower arm will either respray or wash like clean and look new unless the workshop and u very arh ka liao den they wont fool u.

the lower control arm is made of steel or alu. shd not crack. as what fei_de_li said, it is likely the bushing. you can just replace the bushing.

my wowo original bushing cost less than $150.

the bushings are at the 2 ends :

auto-part-control-arm54500-17000-left-front-lower-hyundai-matrix-fc-1-5-crdi.jpg

These wear n tear parts.

Change them for a safe n smooth ride.

No more kok kok sounds over uneven roads too.

Went for servicing for my matrix 1.6M.

Told by mechanic, front left lower arm a bit crack. Is this a normal part to change.

Right front suspension gone, I can feel it. So going to change front left and right. But the mechanic says don't know the mounting for the suspension will crack or not. So when changing suspension, do I need to change the so called mounting?

Regards

Seldon hear lower arm crack unless very old car n got a lot of corrosion or hit something hard.

The bushings do need to b changed after some time as the rubber wil harden n crack.

The front suspension I usually change the rubber mounts at the same time as the shocks as ty also harden n crack. New mounts wil make yr ride smooth n quiet. [thumbsup]

I suggest u check with other ws n also u can chk the price of these parts from original or OEM suppliers as the ws prices seen quite high.

I always buy my own parts n just get my ws to fix n pay them only for the labour.

That way I can control the quality of the parts that r being used. Most ws wil quote u the highest price fr the parts n give u the cheapest parts so they make more money.

Thanks for all the replies here, bros.

I think the mechanic is talking about the lower arm bushing.

Will get front left and right suspensions including the mountings and the front lower arm bushings tomorrow.

Lower arm only come in per pcs. $380 could be the lower arm. I ever ask for kia cerato lower arm bushing cost $90 only. Lower arm will not crack unless involve in a accident direct force onto the wheel at about 100km. Be mindfull if u really want to change. They will only replace the bushing only then the lower arm will either respray or wash like clean and look new unless the workshop and u very arh ka liao den they wont fool u.

I remembered the mechanic said is a pair, so based on the $380(parts and labour included), should be the bushings.

Puzzle, the bushing of the lower arm in my Mazda 6 is bad but ws says change the whole arm. I need to go for second opinion.

Maybe yr model the bushing cannot or very hard to remove.

Or the mech lazy or no experience to change just the bushing so wan the easy way of change the whole arm.

Or maybe he charge u fr the whole arm but quietly just change the bushings for a bigger profit.

Nowadays mech got many tricks to play on customers.

Somemore tell me need to change in pair! Haiz.........all I ask is a decent honest diagnostic and recommendation. I'll pay, but don't kotok me!!!! So difficult meh!

But for ws, if dun kotok, then how to make big bucks. [laugh]

U can try chk OEM parts how much then maybe u buy parts n just ask them to fix n charge u labour.

how old is your 6?

like many said, no need to change the arms, just change the bushings.

Puzzle, the bushing of the lower arm in my Mazda 6 is bad but ws says change the whole arm. I need to go for second opinion.

Coming to 7 yr. not sure if previous owner change any of the arm or bushing.

WS also say the lower arm of this model always got problem every 30-40k. I was like, Wahlao sure boh?

Coming to 7 yr. not sure if previous owner change any of the arm or bushing.

WS also say the lower arm of this model always got problem every 30-40k. I was like, Wahlao sure boh?

Which WS did u go to?

Most of the ball joints or bushings can be replaced for some they will need special puller/separator tools to do the work.

Looks like yr mech finding a easy way out.

post-272-1380104781_thumb.jpg

post-272-1380104918_thumb.jpg

Edited by Yeobh

Most of the ball joints or bushings can be replaced for some they will need special puller/separator tools to do the work.

Looks like yr mech finding a easy way out.

bro, would the hole become lose if change more than once, resulting in replacement of arm?

also, a mech told me they'll send to a "specialty" shop to jack out the bush as they don't have the tool / equipment, is there such a shop?

according to him, some cars lower arm comes as a set, so have to replace whole piece?