Food for thought: Educated vs Intelligent

Vicmental, come in anytime!!!

Educated Singaporeans, but not Intelligent

SEP 12

Dear all,

Singapore is a really weird country indeed. Singaporeans love to brag about how Singapore

One big round to bash PAP lol. I agree with some points though.

oi! u dun make porritikar hor...... [laugh] [laugh]

but indeed, a revamp of the system is due. MOE has been pretty aggressive in this stance since Heng took over.

this author go confessed himself in hwz that he wrote..

kana humtum up n down,many replies keep humtum him..more to his own philosophy and perception of 'intelligence"

while the article may not be fully true, it is like leadership, born or nurtured?

and again, i speak with some of my friends who hire poly and uni grads, well, there may be differences, in terms of breadth vs depth, and depending on which field you are in.

Intelligent people will rebel and ask many questions

Educated people wont question the system

so north korea peepur educated? <_< <_< or bo pian?

u another one..... [laugh] [laugh]

that is why, the emphasis on education to some extent focussed on rote learning, memory etc. the bigger peekture shd focus on the LEARNING. Then again, u can bring a horse to water, but.....

People would clearly recognise that I am anything but a government toady, but even I think this writer is a superficially eloquent borderline moron.

muahahhaha...when u read it enuf, it confuses u....but well, it is his perspective

as the good ol saying. if you cannot convince them confuse them

i harbor on the fact that some who did not make school formally, are doing way better than some who have been educated up to masters.

I still believe that the 'university of life' still teaches u many valuable lessons. the basics in school are just that, the foundation. What you do with the knowledge as you move on, makes the difference. U may have it, but dun use it.

interestingly, the last few who made it big, and real big, din complete uni

bill gates

Steve Jobs

the Twit, er twitter founder

facebook?? anyone know? heard that facebook was just a tiko platform

interestingly, the last few who made it big, and real big, din complete uni

bill gates

Steve Jobs

the Twit, er twitter founder

facebook?? anyone know? heard that facebook was just a tiko platform

didn't complete but they easily could if they wanted. not like si ginna in sg.

this has been discussed here ad nauseum, ie, what defines success?

Most would give you the shallow 5Cs, but there is more to it, and as I mingle, I am seeing more going beyond that to include things like philantrophy, work-lifef, family etc. Success, is defined by whom?

Lots of Qns come up here esp during CNY visits....hahaha

didn't complete but they easily could if they wanted. not like si ginna in sg.

get mother-father degree ah [laugh] [laugh]

I find the students now chum.... Indeed, the syllabus now is so much more application-based but the assessment is still exam-based. So, cannot spot question and at the same time kena graded like the old system. Die laa.... <_<