So you think its just a bumper job, huh?

Macrosszero

Copied over from a US Porsche forum. But general principles should apply to all cars in accidents - don't be too quick to write off small dents - hit it in the right spot and its going to be structural!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Whats up everyone,

I thought this would help some Listers, A lot of people are left stranded looking for a trustworthy body shop to take their precious cars. I wanted to post this thread to show the damage that can be caused from a simple rear end impact.

A customer came in for "Just a bumper Job" (his words) with some minor damage to his rear bumper on his BRAND NEW 2013 Porsche 911 :bawling:

Let's take a look at this bumper job.

Here is what pulled up...

(Damage to the Right of License Plate)

12392263.jpg

This is going to be easy right?...

Step one is to remove the bumper and check for additional damage...

This is what we found.

12392399.jpg

Impact bar has been smashed in like a Pepsi can...

12392765.jpg

So we further remove the bar and heat shields etc...

after proper stripping we realized the frame had damage... :yikes:

12392562.jpg

This being an aluminum frame Porsche requires replacement, which requires removal of engine... Let the fun begin...

12392577.jpg

Once the engine was removed we further inspected the frame and found some of the welds were beginning to separate.

12392583.jpg

Once the insurance company came out to see the additional surprises they approved and we continued to remove and replace the frame

We put the car on our Frame machine made by CAR BENCH (which is the same frame machines that Porsche Prototypes their cars with) this ensures that the car is aligned to factory specs down to the Millimeter (we also have Celette Benches)!

With the car on Jigs and the old frame out of the way we installed the new frame. (hard to see because the frame comes black)

12392678.jpg

Here you can see the Betamate seeping thru(ultra high strength glue) That bonds the frame.

12392718.jpg

12392731.jpg

Now that the frame is back in place we had the motor put back in

Time for reassembly!!

12392990.jpg

Yes... we started it like this. Yes it was loud as FCUK!

Out with the old and In with the new!

12392955.jpg

All the new parts on the way in.

Once reassembled and tightened up, we send it to Porsche to have them clear all the codes, Align the wheels, and quality check. (Porsche dealer must do this to not void warranty) Once the car is back in our hands we send it thru our wash/detail department

Walked in on her in the shower...

12393224.jpg

And now look at that rear end!!!!!

12393291.jpg

12393293.jpg

12393300.jpg

A whole lot of work for "Just a bumper Job"

So Wherever you are located here's some tips to get a proper repair on your Porsche 991 or whatever you drive.

Check YELP wherever you are.

Make sure the shop is actually doing the work that is on the estimate :read:

Have good insurance (IF YOU WANT OEM PARTS, READ YOUR CONTRACT!!):read:

And for you lucky Listers that happen to be in Southern California - Los Angeles.

If ever you are in a situation where you need some body work feel free to contact me

Feel Free to call or email me with any questions regarding repairs or if you need an estimate in Los Angeles.

Sam

Office: 310.280.6000

Cell: 310.745.9373 (Call/text)

[email protected]

Copied over from a US Porsche forum. But general principles should apply to all cars in accidents - don't be too quick to write off small dents - hit it in the right spot and its going to be structural!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All Doctors call it " Internal Injury.... 内 伤 " [laugh]

Hmmmm [rolleyes] .......... One small knock n the whold car start to fall apart n end up costing thousands to repair?

So much for being a supercar.

I wonder how that car wil stand out in a heavier knock like the bumper caved in? Probably total loss n car scrapped.

Boy am I glad Im not driving that brand of car. [sweatdrop]

Radx u see this? Lucky u got rid of yr death trap already. Yours probably not safe to drive anymore [drivingcar] . Travel on the NSHW n likely the rear end wil drop off. [thumbsdown]

The impact could have been quite hard right? On youtube you can see some videos of crash test done where the bumper actually flexes and moves in alot but moves back to the original shape cuz its plastic so it looks like there is no damage externally.

Edited by Nzy

Good post. The same thing happened to Honda edix 8 years back. Taxi reverse and snack the front bumper. Looks nothing as the bumper bounce back. When open, the structural damage can be seen. The metal fixtures dented and replacement for new parts inclusive shopping is not cheap.

Very informative.

Not everyone is as stupid as Porsche to keep putting the engine in the rear.

Yes, I owned a 911, and yes it's "iconic". But tradition is a poor reason for making the same bad engineering decision over and over again.

Hmmmm [rolleyes] .......... One small knock n the whold car start to fall apart n end up costing thousands to repair?

So much for being a supercar.

I wonder how that car wil stand out in a heavier knock like the bumper caved in? Probably total loss n car scrapped.

Boy am I glad Im not driving that brand of car. [sweatdrop]

Radx u see this? Lucky u got rid of yr death trap already. Yours probably not safe to drive anymore [drivingcar] . Travel on the NSHW n likely the rear end wil drop off. [thumbsdown]

Old VW beetles same risk?? [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

fantastic work repairing the car. SG shop will just putty putty and presto!!! fixed!!!

Please lah....Not just putty only lah. [mad]

Ty wil also use some rubber bands n scotch tape hor. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

in sg that would have cost don't know how much in claims.

Sud b almost enough to buy a new car. [rolleyes]

Dun forget got many mouths to feed hor. WS boss, Ins Surveyor, Ins Co n Tow Truck operator. [sly]

Old VW beetles same risk?? [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

Old VDub u just take a hammer n knock knock knock it back so not so obvious. Its more tough that a Porsche hor. [thumbsup]

Modern cars regardless of drivetrain layout are built to crumple in a controlled fashion for crash safety/absorption. Although in this example the engine is affected, a tap on the rear end of your front engined car will still affect your car's structure if the impact hit the right spot; "gan dio chia dua goot". Sorry, my hokkien is not good.

The photos show that the crumple zone had been defeated and residual energy transmitted to the chassis resulting in cracked welds.

If it were your car struck in the rear, you too would want to make sure that its crashworthiness is restored to pre-crash integrity. And not simply replacing panels and call it a day.