Jobs for Filipinos only.

JackRabbit

Looks like MOM like to talk co.ck only. Discrimination against Singaporeans still going strong.

Just a simple search on job ads reveal many foreigner only positions:

http://singapore.gumtree.sg/c-Jobs-other-Air-con-Technician-W0QQAdIdZ535601541

Date Listed 22/10/2013 Address Singapore Job Type Full-Time Advertised by Agency

Requirement:
Knowledge of Air con repair, maintain.
Knowledge of Electrical
Class3 driving license
Filipino only

Electrical Diploma/Degree
S pass

Pls send CV with a Full Size Photo

Salary $1400/M

Supervisor for SATAY factory

http://singapore.gumtree.sg/c-Jobs-office-office-admin-Supervisor-for-SATAY-factory-W0QQAdIdZ517424302

Date Listed 27/08/2013 Address Singapore Job Type Full-Time Advertised by Agency
urgent need one girl as a supervisor for satay factory.Must have food industry experience.more prefer filipino.if you interesting mail to [email protected]

Guest relation officer

http://singapore.gumtree.sg/c-Jobs-bar-waiting-hotel-Guest-relation-officer-W0QQAdIdZ515509058

Date Listed 21/08/2013 Address Singapore Job Type Full-Time Advertised by Agency
I need a Filipino male candidates with the position above.

Experienced in Hotel

Interested email your resume at [email protected]/[email protected]

So what exactly is MOM doing to stem the flow of discrimination? Or just print motherhood statements in the MSM, and continue shaking legs?

• Dislike 4

Looks like MOM like to talk co.ck only. Discrimination against Singaporeans still going strong.

So what exactly is MOM doing to stem the flow of discrimination? Or just print motherhood statements in the MSM, and continue shaking legs?

Last example - A GRO it could be a genuine job requirement, depending on the clients (although better phrasing would be something like - "must be proficient in tagalog")

For the others - some agencies and employers obviously haven't got the message yet - just report to MOM with the relevant information for them to track. If they don't take action THEN come here an comprain, how are they supposed to do anything if they dun know (surely you don't expect them to review every ad on every jobsite right?)

just like i see all cars are speeding, why TP never do anything?

MOM dun vet through all the ads before posting, why dun you submit these links and report to MOM?

i just junked you in case you wonder who that was (keep clicking the right which meant for junk)

Edited by Jman888

Last example - A GRO it could be a genuine job requirement, depending on the clients (although better phrasing would be something like - "must be proficient in tagalog")

For the others - some agencies and employers obviously haven't got the message yet - just report to MOM with the relevant information for them to track. If they don't take action THEN come here an comprain, how are they supposed to do anything if they dun know (surely you don't expect them to review every ad on every jobsite right?)

Like i said, it is just a simple search. I typed in "filipino" in jobs in gumtree... 2 seconds. That's all it took.

I would think that part of MOM's due diligence would be to get some one to spend at least a few minutes each day and track at least the popular jobs databases.

If they are waiting for singaporeans to do their jobs for them, then I am afraid we are really doomed.

LOL.. looks like there are FTs here who don't like this thread... just kena junked, haha! Losers.

Like i said, it is just a simple search. I typed in "filipino" in jobs in gumtree... 2 seconds. That's all it took.

I would think that part of MOM's due diligence would be to get some one to spend at least a few minutes each day and track at least the popular jobs databases.

If they are waiting for singaporeans to do their jobs for them, then I am afraid we are really doomed.

LOL.. looks like there are FTs here who don't like this thread... just kena junked, haha! Losers.

MILLION PRAISE POINTS!!!!!

eh how come you tio junk ah? [laugh]

consperm not me!!! [grin]

Damn...cannot junk you...even thought this comment deserves it.

The person who junked you has openly declared himself - now lets see you man up and make the apology

You've heard the story about speeders and fishing right?

And further, just because you don't see it, don't assume it doesn't happen.

How do you know what and where the MOM are acting - have you asked them?

Dropping a note to MOM would take about the same amount of time as opening a thread here - yet opening a thread here and being a keyboard warrior is more fun that actually doing something effective right?

• Dislike 1

Anyway, I think as concerned Singaporeans, we should continually raise awareness about this and similar topics.

If we keep quiet, and wait for the gahmen to get off their asses without being prodded and reminded, and wait for MSM to report these stories, we'll be overrun and be the minority in our own country before too long.

Even if MOM does or does not do the work he gets paid $2million a year for, we should not let that stop us from keeping this topic hot until something is truly done to stop this discrimination. This is not xenophobia, Singaporeans are the victims.

Anyway, I think as concerned Singaporeans, we should continually raise awareness about this and similar topics.

If we keep quiet, and wait for the gahmen to get off their asses without being prodded and reminded, and wait for MSM to report these stories, we'll be overrun and be the minority in our own country before too long.

Even if MOM does or does not do the work he gets paid $2million a year for, we should not let that stop us from keeping this topic hot until something is truly done to stop this discrimination. This is not xenophobia, Singaporeans are the victims.

2016 lor

It's a loophole lah. Since companies themselves save the trouble by getting a recruitment agency to advertise, MOM couldn't know which company is the one.

Even if the company post the ad themselves they could produce past advert to say that they have tried hiring Singaporeans but no one came for interview.

The thing is, are there any sgporean takers? Looking at the low pay you try finding a sinkie who can accept the job. IMO it's like striking TOTO.

Why not look at the bigger picture before making judgement?

To raise awareness is good, but why not just email straight to MOM. I think they will take firm action especially after all the tough talk they made recently. More effective than posting in forum. But I still thank you for alerting. Give you 1 point.

Damn...cannot junk you...even thought this comment deserves it.

The person who junked you has openly declared himself - now lets see you man up and make the apology

You've heard the story about speeders and fishing right?

And further, just because you don't see it, don't assume it doesn't happen.

How do you know what and where the MOM are acting - have you asked them?

Dropping a note to MOM would take about the same amount of time as opening a thread here - yet opening a thread here and being a keyboard warrior is more fun that actually doing something effective right?

so many points..

Apologise for what exactly? Calling out an anonymous coward who gave junk points a loser?

If you recall, I have given you junk points in a previous post as well - but I identified myself and gave my reasons. That's the way to do it. Ask anyone who has received praise or junk posts from me - I identified myself in every post and gave a reason.

Why do you assume that I had not posted to MOM as well? I post here in MCF and other forums to raise awareness. Are you so sure that MOM is actually doing any work - please prove it. As far as I can see they are very lethargic.

Same as SMRT taking little or no action about improving bus services until someone submits a video having to wait for 13 buses to go by and go viral.

Take is cheap, bro. Let's see concrete action. Many many people are constantly complaining to MOM about this. I am just 1 more.

TS, you should post in TCJ facebook

i think he sure take action

but at the same time, post here see whether they got take action or not

if not these people come and covertly recruit pinoy to make pinoy rc committee wor

Even if the company post the ad themselves they could produce past advert to say that they have tried hiring Singaporeans but no one came for interview.

Whether Singaporean came in past or not, pretty much irrelevant - you still shouldn't include anything in your ads other that genuine job requirements.

Race is not (and never has been) a genuine job requirement -

Language can be, but you'd better be sure you can back it up

Gender also is not a genuine job requirement (unless you're selling bra or made to measure jockstrap)

Age and marital status also shouldn't be asked.

One point to note - if you've got the time and inclination, go and take a look at govt job recruitment sites, and see how many still ask for the above irrelevant information - even down to asking for religion - they should be leading by example on this, but IME, they are the worst offenders for asking for not needed info on job applications

TS I also junk u. What due diligence u talking about. U think their job Is only sit there look at news paper?

use brain can?

use

You have brain or not? You don't know the meaning of due diligence?

You think MOM only 1 person do everything? You mean they don't have even 1 person to consider that employers and job agencies are discriminating against Singaporeans?

So are you calling Tan Chuan Jin a liar? You mean the Fair Consideration Framework is just for show and MOM now can stop and go for coffee?