Town Council S&C Charges May Increase Soon!

TVT

Conservancy workers at the 15 PAP Town Councils will soon be able to earn more under a progressive wage model salary structure. Under the new salary structure, the salary of cleaners will start from S$1,200 a month, up from an average of S$1,000 currently.
town-council-444642.png A town council conservancy worker (file photo)

SINGAPORE: Conservancy workers at the 15 PAP Town Councils will soon be able to earn more under a progressive wage model salary structure. Under the new salary structure, the salary of cleaners will start from S$1,200 a month, up from an average of S$1,000 currently.

However, residents may have to pay more for service and conservancy charges.

Coordinating chairman of the PAP Town Councils, Dr Teo Ho Pin, said: "Definitely, when we improve our services to better serve our residents, the cost of maintenance will increase. So, at some point in time we will need to revise the S&C charges.

"But I think our residents understand that quality comes with a price. We want to do this to achieve a few objectives. First, is that we would like to better serve our residents -- so that we can enhance the conservancy standards in all our housing estates, in all the 15 PAP Town Councils.

"Secondly, we want to support the government's effort to increase the salary of the low-wage workers and also to protect the employment benefits of the low-wage workers."

The PAP Town Councils signed a Memorandum of Understanding with 19 conservancy contractors to pay them according to the recommended salary.

As the worker upgrades to be a supervisor, he can earn S$1,600 and above. However, even with the higher salaries, companies said attracting workers is still a challenge.

Dennis Tan, general manager of LS 2 Services, said: "To be honest, estate cleaning... it's a harsh environment. It requires block sweeping, outdoor sweeping. So, I think we still face challenges.

"But with the implementation of progressive wage, we hope that more workers will join our cleaning industry. With more training and improvement of productivity, I hope this industry can be professionalised."

- CNA/ac

• Dislike 1

who keep the increment? the contractor or it really goes to the cleaner cos majority of them are FW, I don't mind that they increase the charges.

Thought they are supposed to increase their productivity? The savings through productivity should go towards increase in cleaners' pay, not the easy way out to increase fees. Pui....

He stayed in condo so don't know lor ... [sly]

No lah...I stay HDB !!!

Maybe there were increase for the past few months/years but I just can't recall when and how much.... [laugh]

No lah...I stay HDB !!!

Maybe there were increase for the past few months/years but I just can't recall when and how much.... [laugh]

That's a problem with GIRO payment.

Don't often check statements and sometimes also don't know paid wtf ... [sweatdrop]

Thought they are supposed to increase their productivity? The savings through productivity should go towards increase in cleaners' pay, not the easy way out to increase fees. Pui....

The wages go to the cleaner.

Recently did the costing for cleaning contract for my company. The price when up 20%.

Did all the checks to find justification, and up the increase is reasonable.

Increase productivity also cannot sack those existing worker to save cost mah.

Edited by Joseph22

That's a problem with GIRO payment.

Don't often check statements and sometimes also don't know paid wtf ... [sweatdrop]

why you pay by GIRO? :huh:

Pay by GIRO got discount. Same for parking charges. [flowerface]

I pay by giro too.

more easy. Its not something we can avoid, so just pay by giro.

THot i saw in the news on 5 last nite say only for local cleaners pay increase?

Only last week i ask my neighbourhood bangla how much his pay..he told me $600, no meals, everyday work for 12 hours..but he very happy.

Wonder whether the coy pays for his lodging..

why you pay by GIRO? :huh:

Pay by Giro safer.....won't miss the payment !

THot i saw in the news on 5 last nite say only for local cleaners pay increase?

Only last week i ask my neighbourhood bangla how much his pay..he told me $600, no meals, everyday work for 12 hours..but he very happy.

Wonder whether the coy pays for his lodging..

S$600/- = BDT37,526/- (Bangladesh Taka)

In their own country, his pay only around S$60/- ~ S$80/-..... [sweatdrop]

S$600/- = BDT37,526/- (Bangladesh Taka)

In their own country, his pay only around S$60/- ~ S$80/-..... [sweatdrop]

on top of that they also help ppl wash car in the carpark. That can be very alot if say he charge 30 a month and got 20 car??

and on sundays, they get free piak with pinoys or indon maids .... [lipsrsealed]

This reminds me of that case the bangla and Indon maid paik at the rooftop, then both swam in the water tank (after piaking).... ^_^