Hentak Kaki

Vid

2nd Warrant Officer Teck Hong has served his entire life in the army. Now 38, he finds himself needing to make a pivotal decision, should he continue serving in the army or leave and face the harsh reality of life outside. He knows that if he continues serving, his past injuries limits his roles in the army to administrative positions, something he loathes. However, upon meeting a certain detainee at the Detention Barracks in the army, his life takes a turn.

Won Best Film in the Short Film Category at the 24th Singapore International Film Festival.

Won Best Actor for Michael Chua's Performance at the 3rd Singapore Short Film Awards.

Uncertainty in life.. especially those regulars who had been in the army their whole life... can be very daunting. Not everyone can be successful. I know one encik who didn't quite make it outside.

posted before liao.

Issit? I search don't have leh [sweatdrop]

Mod can remove topic if needed

Uncertainty in life.. especially those regulars who had been in the army their whole life... can be very daunting. Not everyone can be successful. I know one encik who didn't quite make it outside.

Limpeh US Ranger, Airborne Ranger ah, you got anot? You then bo ji ok!

Haha, when I heard that line, I thought of another commando special force black something private nutsack.

I tot SAF will help them (those retiring) to find job in a govt-linked company? No ? [:/]

yes, only if you are a scholar.

I tot SAF will help them (those retiring) to find job in a govt-linked company? No ? [:/]

Far from it...

For NCO, most likely end up being Taxi driver...

like one MCFer said unless you are a scholar....

Many of my ex-regulars either became taxi drivers, security officers etc.......so far only saw a couple of higher ranking ones got better jobs........

In sgp the harsh reality is our age. As we get older we are less appreciated in the work force. Not just in the army but every where else.

Some taxi drivers told me the high-flying jobs they used to hold until they got axed for various reasons.

only those overseas scholars.

local farmers wait long long.

so many occifers how to find job for everyone?

you mean tank / 3-tonner drivers become bus or taxi drivers!? ...... combat engineer soldiers become construction workers!! M&D men become mediacorp stars..... not bad leh [grin]

not really. but not every army guy can tahan working in GLC.

can lah. they just bring their mentality and culture there.

Bottomline is, a job is just a job. Do not let your value as a person and contributor be determined by the employer or by what people think. Is military counselor, as depicted in the story, unimportant and no prospect? Surely there is value in it, depends on whether you want to perceive it or not.

Every job has its own intrinsic value and importance. Does it mean to say that people who study social work and get into counselling, etc. are not doing a valuable job?

can lah. they just bring their mentality and culture there.

then they bound to fail lor.

some GLC are insanely troublesome and heavily loaded.

Army especially NCO, mostly not as busy one.

Bottomline is, a job is just a job. Do not let your value as a person and contributor be determined by the employer or by what people think. Is military counselor, as depicted in the story, unimportant and no prospect? Surely there is value in it, depends on whether you want to perceive it or not.

Every job has its own intrinsic value and importance. Does it mean to say that people who study social work and get into counselling, etc. are not doing a valuable job?

issue was more of the person loss the joy of his work as he can no longer work as what he desire.

plus the truth is that if you had initially sign on as a combat personnel, and later get injury that declare you as not combat fit. your career in army is gone. no more promotion, chances of increment and bonus is likely gone too.