Judge rejects accident settlement for probe

Jman888

6 accidents in 7 years, Judge rejects settlement for probe
mypaper by K. C. VIJAYAN
A High Court judge refused to accept a settlement mutually agreed by two motorists in a road accident, and instead referred the case to the Attorney-General's Chambers for investigation.
Justice Choo Han Teck found it "unusual" that Mr Andy Tan, 42, had been involved in six accidents in seven years. Mr Tan is also a recently discharged bankrupt who changed his name in 2011.
Justice Choo said the information relating to Mr Tan may be "truly coincidental (for him) to have had such bad luck but the circumstances indicate a fuller inquiry might be necessary".
The court would not endorse a settlement until then, he said.
Mr Tan's van was rear-ended by a bus on May 26, 2010, in an accident in Marsiling Road towards the Woodlands Checkpoint.
Lawyers could not remember another case in recent times in which an agreement to settle an accident claim was rejected by the court.
Mr Tan suffered back injuries which left him jobless and he needed two operations last year that cost more than $100,000, he said.
The bus driver accepted 95 per cent of the blame and both parties had applied to court to record the consent judgement, so that damages could be assessed and paid to Mr Tan.

is this the first case that a willing settlement was rejected? one party admit and willing to pay, the other party suffer injury, but the judge dun see it that way!

Mr Tan suffered back injuries which left him jobless and he needed two operations last year that cost more than $100,000, he said.

wah, I bet this is super inflated !!!!

hopefully can CSI more on this Mr Tan.

but it is really weird leh.. very hard for bus operator to approve/agree fault.. maybe private bus operator?

maybe it include loss of income.

Well Done Judge - Impressed, there is a possibility of premediated accident.

Regardless what the result of the probe.

At least this shows that the authority do not keep a blind eye to such things and give a warning to people out there.

Ya I tink this is the best report for the day!! Someone is finally awake about possible insurance fraud. 6 accidents in 7 yrs which means accident almost once every yr.

Maybe this accident took him longer than normal to heal, dat's y record is 6 hahaaa... And if everytime he is the claimant then I would also suspect.

even if you super bad luck, you would not be so "lucky" to be the claimant in all the accidents. Some time you lose some time you gain...

Ya I tink this is the best report for the day!! Someone is finally awake about possible insurance fraud. 6 accidents in 7 yrs which means accident almost once every yr.

Maybe this accident took him longer than normal to heal, dat's y record is 6 hahaaa... And if everytime he is the claimant then I would also suspect.

even if you super bad luck, you would not be so "lucky" to be the claimant in all the accidents. Some time you lose some time you gain...

So, when he has spent the claim of the previous accident, he stages another one?

Edited by Fitvip

this one is ok lah, if got medical bill to prove.

better than 1 bugger whom i rear ended previously, he got 1 day MC and tried to claim me $8000 for pain and distress [thumbsdown]

hopefully can CSI more on this Mr Tan.

but it is really weird leh.. very hard for bus operator to approve/agree fault.. maybe private bus operator?

TIBS bus. Yes its time judges pay greater attention to the claimants with allegations of neck pains and getting a doctor to certify just to claim. Which clinics these people regularly go to and which law firms always represent such claims. There is a pattern.

Actually I think he only look for those that can pakat, or else very hard to control the type and severity of collision.

This kind of fxxker. Hope he drives off a cliff. Imagine if the next car he jams brakes in front of is yours...

is this the first case that a willing settlement was rejected? one party admit and willing to pay, the other party suffer injury, but the judge dun see it that way!

Finally I can see some sort of action being taken against those suspected false insurance claims. Kudos to the Judge.

So far I dun see anything similar being taken by the insurance companies. Or is it cos ty r also part of the scam? [:|]

I bet the judge had a personal experience of having his own NCB wiped out and sibei tulan

This is one of the best things I hv seen a judge do for the motoring community. Keep it up. [thumbsup]

So far I dun see anything similar being taken by the insurance companies. Or is it cos ty r also part of the scam? [:|]

doubt so lah, since insurers also will encounter similar claims and payout. More likely they do not have the resources to investigate. + claims always backed by lawyers and doctors. To dispute would incur more $$$ I imagine. So based on i claim you, you claim me principle, it will eventually even out. So why trouble themselves to investigate when raising premiums is the BEST choice? [:|]

So by Insurance companies not investigating n bringing to court suspected Insurance Fraud cases, these insurance companies r actually perpetuating n encougrageing insurance fraud cos the criminals know ty can very easily get away with it.

So like that whose fault is it? Motorists or Insurance Companies? If its Insurance Companies lax ways, why r motorists being made to pay the price n suffer rising premiums?

Looks like the insurance companies r simply passing the buck to motorists to bear the burden of their incompentent ways.