URA turns to technology for parking issues

Darthrevan

20130718_RideVParkingPatrols.jpg

No more tearing of coupons and roving parking attendants - that is the idea behind a new "electronic parking system" being explored by the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA).

The system would have drivers accessing parking information and paying electronically from their cars via an "on-board unit" similar to the in-vehicle unit (IU) used in the Electronic Road Pricing system.
Parking offences would be detected and transmitted wirelessly to central computing systems or mobile enforcement vehicles. The latter could also capture image or video evidence of parking violations and recognise licence plates just by driving past the vehicles of alleged parking offenders.
These solutions were detailed in URA's request for proposal (RFP) for a "technical trial of an electronic parking system" last month.
In it, URA outlined that a key aim of the system is to allow it "to better manage its carpark inventory to avoid congestion". Interested contractors have till Dec 2 to submit proposals, and preparation for the trial will begin on Dec 30, with the trial set to end by Sept 30, next year.
"This is an ongoing effort to explore the use of technology to find a replacement to the paper parking coupons and at the same time reduce the manpower needed for enforcement," said a URA spokesman in response to queries from The Straits Times.
The authority is looking for proposals that will tap advancements in areas such as global navigation satellite systems, vehicular Wi-Fi and automated number plate recognition.
But the spokesman said the project is "exploratory" and that the authority will not be making changes to the current system soon.
"For now, the best alternative is to continue converting more URA carparks to the gantry parking system where we can."
URA now manages more than 46,000 public parking spaces here, of which 17,000 are on-street kerbside parking spaces. Such kerbside parking uses the coupon system, with enforcement carried out by parking attendants.
Another 29,000 are off-street parking spaces, and 15 of URA's off-street carparks are equipped with the gantry parking system.
National University of Singapore civil engineering associate professor Lee Der Horng, who specialises in intelligent transportation systems, welcomes the move to explore a new electronic parking system.
"The future of kerbside parking could be quite competitive and this system would help both driver and the authorities to monitor usage and shape parking policy," he said.
It would ideally be integrated with the ERP system, but a more sophisticated IU is needed to realise URA's vision, added Dr Lee.
How the new system would work
1. A car with an on-board unit, much like the in-vehicle unit now, will let the driver know if there are carpark spaces nearby and process electronic parking payments.
Once parked, it can prompt the driver to extend parking time when the session is about to expire.
2. Some roadside parking areas will have roadside units at spaced intervals to provide information on parking availability, rates and payments in the absence of Global Positioning System availability.
3. If a parking violation has occurred, the on-board unit can send details of the offence to a central computing system or a mobile enforcement vehicle (MEV) driving past. The MEV can also take images and videos of parking violations and recognise licence-plate numbers of vehicles it passes.

Extra job to do extra things.....afraid they may lose their jobs come up with more bloody ideas..

isn't the EPS gantry parking good enough?? prompt us to go back just to extend might as well just deduct directly??

so who is going to pay for this new IU?

you and me of course.... need you ask?

Edited by Mkl22

We really are the world's no. 1 for finding the best ways to collect money from people. [thumbsup]

Really gotta admire their ways of innovating such things... no wonder loan shark business do so well in Singapore...legal and illegal means of debt collection,world best!

15 out of 29000 EPS parking system...

Like that how many "IU" will we have.. hopefully they can integrate..

I don't think its 15 out of 29000 EPS parking system. There are 29000 off-street parking spaces and 15 off-street carparks have EPS. Each carpark surely have more than 1 parking space ma.

i always thought using my own eyes was really difficult

it may depend on what you use your eyes on?!

btw, whats wrong with good old parking wardens? why we need such hi-tech but soul-less gadget to do the job? having an auntie to do the job sometimes we can see the human touch eg they may give chance or they may not, but at least there's a chance. but hi-tech gadgets are non-negotiable!

MOM also talks a lot about re-training older folks to be productive and gainfully employed. parking warden is one of many jobs they can offer the older work force for them to earn an honest living.

I don't think its 15 out of 29000 EPS parking system. There are 29000 off-street parking spaces and 15 off-street carparks have EPS. Each carpark surely have more than 1 parking space ma.

opps! i read it wrongly..

but 15 is still a very small amount leh...

3. If a parking violation has occurred, the on-board unit can send details of the offence to a central computing system or a mobile enforcement vehicle (MEV) driving past. The MEV can also take images and videos of parking violations and recognise licence-plate numbers of vehicles it passes.

Wah.. this one totally no gib chance liao..

it may depend on what you use your eyes on?!

btw, whats wrong with good old parking wardens? why we need such hi-tech but soul-less gadget to do the job? having an auntie to do the job sometimes we can see the human touch eg they may give chance or they may not, but at least there's a chance. but hi-tech gadgets are non-negotiable!

MOM also talks a lot about re-training older folks to be productive and gainfully employed. parking warden is one of many jobs they can offer the older work force for them to earn an honest living.

Many people like the new system because don't have to worry about last min extended parking and convenient ma.

If MOM really have the thought of re-training older folks for such jobs, then you wouldn't see those ATB liao lor..

so if you ask me.. I rather more machine than ATB in my country!!

but some bros here may prefer more ATB for some other reasons! [sly]

Wah.. this one totally no gib chance liao..

I think this one weird lor.. since you can make a system similar to ERP, why not make it deduct your cash card every few 30 mins or what ever...

why will/should there be a chance for violation???

This kinda system favours the authorities but keep violators in the dark.

The traffic violator kenna multiple summons only to find out weeks later.....wtf? What's wrong with the old ticketing system?

Talk easy lah. As always.

Many people like the new system because don't have to worry about last min extended parking and convenient ma.

If MOM really have the thought of re-training older folks for such jobs, then you wouldn't see those ATB liao lor..

so if you ask me.. I rather more machine than ATB in my country!!

but some bros here may prefer more ATB for some other reasons! [sly]

actually i also like the pay by 5 mins-block and no need to suffer over-staying!!

the best-of-both world solution combining the respective benefits of machine and ATB parking system will be:-

when when we drive thru the entrance driveway to the carpark, one chio ATB will use her handheld sensor to scan our ICU, then we go park as long as we like, or even chat with her, when we drive out, she will smile and scan our ICU to activate a deduction!!

since our weather is hot, she should wear tanktop and hotpants!!!

you think good idea??

on a more serious note:- why need pre-paid cashcard? the ICU can be linked to a bank account for direct deduction ie pay as we park, not pre-pay for cashcard regardless we park or not!!

actually i also like the pay by 5 mins-block and no need to suffer over-staying!!

the best-of-both world solution combining the respective benefits of machine and ATB parking system will be:-

when when we drive thru the entrance driveway to the carpark, one chio ATB will use her handheld sensor to scan our ICU, then we go park as long as we like, or even chat with her, when we drive out, she will smile and scan our ICU to activate a deduction!!

since our weather is hot, she should wear tanktop and hotpants!!!

you think good idea??

on a more serious note:- why need pre-paid cashcard? the ICU can be linked to a bank account for direct deduction ie pay as we park, not pre-pay for cashcard regardless we park or not!!

I like your idea of the "new" parking system! should wear white and thin tank top due to the hot weather! [sly]

Well, I prefer use cash card.. If link to bank so troublesome, your bank statements will be full of deductions!!! but I also don't like the pre-paid method.. especially the cash card nowadays many problem.. alot topup machine cannot keep saying card error...