Why after injecting $1.1 billion, bus fare still increase?

Goldbug

Same as many others and myself have said in other threads, no need to ask why anymore.

No money no talk, this is Singapore Inc.

Don't expect anything for free, freebies are raids on our reserves.

bus unkers now getting $1ooo pay increment leh~!

that is frigging like 30-40% their current pay rite?

all my work life, even with promotion, also dun see double digit increments.

not that i am complaining about them having an increment. but those increments must come from somewhere.

where do you think the money for those increments come from?

even with the latest fare review fomula, got incoporate rate of inflation and rate of general salary increase wan leh.

where to find a company where the govt will approve a fomula that includes inflation and rate of general salary increase?

not that i am complaining about them having an increment. but those increments must come from somewhere.

even with the latest fare review fomula, got incoporate rate of inflation and rate of general salary increase wan leh.

where to find a company where the govt will approve a fomula that includes inflation and rate of general salary increase?

go drive bus lor :D

Ppl want Sinkies to be priority choice when it comes to hiring. If they dun pay bus captains $3.5k/mth no Sinkie will take the job.

"Be careful what you wish for" sounds familiar?

If dun want increase fare hire cheap foreigners lor. But it's too late to kao peh now.

Anyone good with Maths? Tuck Yew says

Any public transport fare increases should not exceed Singapore's average national wage increase for 2013. Think he will go for the max then...

What abt the increase in food prices, car prices, commodity prices, housing prices? Each one increase add up will kill us? Or issit in percentage terms still ok?

Assume my pay rise is 3%..bus fare go up 3%, food go up 3%, housing go up 3%..we can still tahan? [shakehead] wow...

Anyone good with Maths? Tuck Yew says

Any public transport fare increases should not exceed Singapore's average national wage increase for 2013. Think he will go for the max then...

What abt the increase in food prices, car prices, commodity prices, housing prices? Each one increase add up will kill us? Or issit in percentage terms still ok?

Assume my pay rise is 3%..bus fare go up 3%, food go up 3%, housing go up 3%..we can still tahan? [shakehead] wow...

if your pay increase is 3% and all your expenses also up 3%, your are back to square one. 3% + 3%+ 3% in this case don't add up to 9%

the ministar is in favour of of bus fare increment ...... he reasoned that bus fares have become cheaper in context of wage increases enjoyed. sure up one.

i suppork increase bus driver pay... $3.5K is still not enough... should make it at least $4k and above. Once high enough more people will sign up to be bus driver, and unemployed PMET can try to be bus driver as well as taxi driver. Then like taxi driver, should reserve bus driver position only for singaporean. This will help to reduce reliance on foreigner.

Nehmind if bus fare will increase.. is ok. Then transport ministar can solve this new problem when people cannot afford to take bus. We pay him world best salary; this kind of problem he should be able to solve easily.

Same as many others and myself have said in other threads, no need to ask why anymore.

No money no talk, this is Singapore Inc.

Don't expect anything for free, freebies are raids on our reserves.

$1.1b is taxpayers' monies..using taxpayers' monies for "free"..go check up who are the major shareholders of SBS Transit

U work for wrong company

• Dislike 2

$1.1b is taxpayers' monies..using taxpayers' monies for "free"..go check up who are the major shareholders of SBS Transit

Taxpayer's money...cpf money....reserves...all their money :ph34r:

and yes I know who the shareholders of these GLCs are....

I support the increase in salary of the bus drivers. If it has to be funded by the general public, then it has to be.

What is the public transport spending component in our monthly spending? If an increase can provide more feasible job opportunities for Singaporeans meeting a unfortunate patch in life, why not?

Why few locals are taking this job is because the remuneration does not justify the dusk to dusk hours, on weekends and on public holidays.

Malaysians and Chinese nationals have a strong currency conversion consideration. And while they are often better qualified than our local counterparts, they see the light at the end of the tunnel after their contract finishes.

What does a hard working Singaporean bus driver have? Does he have a future to look forward to? After 10-20 years of driving, they suffer from the same health problems taxi drivers are facing.

Of course, without any increase in the productivity from the same pool of people, this pay increase might sound unjustifiable. However, many become bus drivers simply because they are unable to take advantage of the opportunities in the private sector, due to character, aptitude or what not.

Economics as a science is still in its infancy. Many factors have not been considered in the textbook, so we are sort of in the deep ocean, where developed countries are struggling for a shore to rest on.

Just my opinion that if a policy has stronger pros than cons, it should an advantage to most to try it