Vw recalls 2.6 million cars worldwide due to technical prob

Darthrevan

i thought the DQ200 Gb are sealed? means that if mineral oil is required to replace, how do they replace it?

honestly, i would rather replace the ATF frequently??

Sealed doesn't mean cannot open up. It's more difficult to open up without the right tools, that's all. Just like "built-in" batteries in smartphones. It's not user-replaceable. But, with the right tools and knwoledge, can.

Edited by Kangadrool

a) Because die die must have conti. Ang Mo mah.

b) Like that if they use min oil & have to open/close often to change csd that min oil break down faster, will it open another can of worms?

c) Yep, I think they see it as 1-2 notches below Benz & Beem. But more class than Jap & Korean.

Can, but buy liao face not powerful enough ma. Want show off more so no choice they buy VW, conti leh. If got money sure they go BMW/Merc/Audi one, but no money no choice, they buy VW lo. After all, still more branded than your Jap/Korean_cannot_make_it_cars. :p

that's an overly simplistic view of the world ain't it?

Sealed doesn't mean cannot open up. It's more difficult to open up without the right tools, that's all. Just like "built-in" batteries in smartphones. It's not user-replaceable. But, with the right tools and knwoledge, can.

oic, then I will insist of changing ATF at intervals.....

Probably u need to go to those specialist w/s outside, not AD. Most ADs refuse to change ATF.

they will refuse to change for free. but if willing to pay $$, bet they'll change anything u want. :D

can someone enlighten me on this? so is it such that VW has finally found a fix for the infamous GB problem?

if will be cool if they had.

Probably u need to go to those specialist w/s outside, not AD. Most ADs refuse to change ATF.

just checked with the VW SA, they can change the ATF for you. cost about 1-200 bucks. can consider if this change can solve the problem of the maintenance free GB issues....

however it is not in their service program to change the ATF.

just replied that they will change the ATF when u have problems with the GB (seems like a fix, rather than a preventive measure).

a) Because die die must have conti. Ang Mo mah.

b) Like that if they use min oil & have to open/close often to change csd that min oil break down faster, will it open another can of worms?

c) Yep, I think they see it as 1-2 notches below Benz & Beem. But more class than Jap & Korean.

err.. vw 1-2 notches below benz & beemers?.. r u sure??.... frankly, if i'm to choose a "problematic" car to live with,, i wil take alfa or peugeot than vw anyday ....

can someone enlighten me on this? so is it such that VW has finally found a fix for the infamous GB problem?

if will be cool if they had.

if the 7-dsg gearbox problem was just simply due to synthetic or mineral oil and vw took so many years to find out, i think their R&D team can go jump off from niagara fall... and mark my words, the se will tell you all problem solved and tata... sales volume up again.....

if u ask me, my take is very simple, this GB model has genetic defect and no cure for it......i will never touch it.. will only consider any other GB but this 7-dsg dry... perhaps vw is working on a new GB model to replace this GB .... 8-DSG anyone?... [grin]

2,180 Volkswagen vehicles in S'pore affected by global recall

Some 2,180 Volkswagen vehicles in Singapore are affected by the company's global recall of 2.6 million cars due to various technical problems.

The various problems range from faulty lighting, leaky fuel pipes and incorrect gear oil.

In Singapore, the company said 678 Tiguan vehicles, built between the beginning of 2008 and the middle of 2011, are affected by the recall.

These vehicles will undergo repairs on faulty lighting circuitry, which the company said will take a few minutes to complete.

Another 1,502 Volkswagen passenger cars, with 7-speed dual-clutch gearbox (DQ200), will be recalled for gearbox oil exchange, which will take approximately 90 minutes to complete.

The company said the relevant vehicle owners will be informed by Volkswagen Singapore accordingly.

Synthetic oil so detrimental to V Dub vehicles?

Sounds like a joke. A high tech box cannot work wif syn but changing to low tech dino oil is the solution? Seriously?

Sounds like a grease monkey's band aid solution rather than one that came from a german factory. That means the problem is in the engineering n they r probably buying time b4 they completely redesign the 7spd.

Sounds like a joke. A high tech box cannot work wif syn but changing to low tech dino oil is the solution? Seriously?

Sounds like a grease monkey's band aid solution rather than one that came from a german factory. That means the problem is in the engineering n they r probably buying time b4 they completely redesign the 7spd.

Reckon it's chemical attacking the parts and causing premature wear and tear.

err.. vw 1-2 notches below benz & beemers?.. r u sure??.... frankly, if i'm to choose a "problematic" car to live with,, i wil take alfa or peugeot than vw anyday ....

If you want reliable traditional torque convertor, get Peugeot 'cos GB from Aisin (Toyota). If you want manual feel and can live with jerky robotised gear shift, Citroen 6 EGS.

The 3 French marques are fairly reliable compared to new VeeDub, but you need to live with some minor "irritations" like squeaky cabins, undercarriage.

If you want reliable traditional torque convertor, get Peugeot 'cos GB from Aisin (Toyota). If you want manual feel and can live with jerky robotised gear shift, Citroen 6 EGS.

The 3 French marques are fairly reliable compared to new VeeDub, but you need to live with some minor "irritations" like squeaky cabins, undercarriage.

The frogs will tell u "c'est la vie".

As per the Volkswagen website.

m100_page_title.m100_sprite.pngVolkswagen recalls Tiguan for fuse exchange.
  • Some of the vehicle lights could fail on the Tiguan
  • Gearbox oil change with vehicles with DQ200 gearboxes

Singapore, 15 November 2013 – Within the framework of the continuous monitoring of vehicles in the field, Quality Assurance at Volkswagen AG has found that, in isolated cases, a fuse may trip in the Tiguan, thus resulting in failure of one of the two vehicle light circuits. This in turn causes individual light functions to fail. However, the vehicle’s electric circuitry ensures that some lights remain on all around the vehicle. The driver is immediately informed of this on the instrument cluster.

Replacing the fuse with one with a tougher surface coating only takes a few minutes. 678 Tiguan vehicles sold in Singapore, built between the beginning of 2008 and the middle of 2011, are affected by this campaign. The relevant vehicle owners will be informed by Volkswagen Singapore accordingly.

Within the framework of further quality monitoring in China and Southeast Asia, it has been discovered that, with vehicles with a 7-speed dual-clutch gearbox (DQ200), electric malfunctions could occur in the gearbox power supply if synthetic gearbox oil is used. This applies in particular if the vehicle is subject to a hot and humid climate, coupled with a high proportion of stop & go driving.

Studies have established that using mineral oil will rectify this problem. To continue to ensure customer satisfaction with DSG, Volkswagen has decided to launch a global voluntary campaign and to request customers with a 7-speed dual-clutch gearbox (DQ200) filled with synthetic oil to visit a workshop for an oil exchange.

In Singapore, 1,502 Volkswagen passenger cars will be recalled for the gearbox oil exchange, which will take approximately 90 minutes to complete. The relevant vehicle owners will be informed by Volkswagen Singapore accordingly. All DQ200-equipped vehicles which were previously recalled in April 2013 are not affected by this recall.

Due to Singapore's climate?... Hmmm...