RSN getting 2 new German Type 218SG subs in 2020

Vulcann

hmm.. the first few subs bought 4 yrs only retired liao ar? so fast?

Think the challenger already 50 years old liao (from manufacture date).. those are the ones being replaced first...

Wonder how many persons inside one Sinkie sub .... [flowerface]

My guess is about 30 ~ 50 persons .. [lipsrsealed]

dont worry.....the germans and the swedes have used them.....so we can fit in more! lucky the Africans are not into submarine! if we buy from them we can fit even mire! hahahaga.....

Was wondering, 4 sub with 50 personnel each = 200 manpower. RSN got so many regulars meh, no need to mend other ships .... [sly]

Then hor..... our Gov likes to farm out to private sectors just like summons of traffic offences ... [lipsrsealed]

Think the challenger already 50 years old liao (from manufacture date).. those are the ones being replaced first...

hmm.. I see it as a waste of public funds... knowing that the sub is so old and couldn't last for a decade and you still bought it in the first place..

buying the sub is one cost.. training the Navy on how to use it is another cost..

• Dislike 1

So we'll end up with Swedish 2 used subs, 2 new german subs, 4 older swedish subs? Quite a lot of subs for a small country of very small sea lanes to cover... for more spying missions? :ph34r:

That's why we got lots of ponding [grin]

Next time no need patrol cars...the subs will patrol the streets...when there is ponding that is [flowerface]

Then the subs can practice close quater battle and FIBUA manoeuvres !

Edited by Chickenfarm

Was wondering, 4 sub with 50 personnel each = 200 manpower. RSN got so many regulars meh, no need to mend other ships .... [sly]

Then hor..... our Gov likes to farm out to private sectors just like summons of traffic offences ... [lipsrsealed]

hahaha...cheaper than paying foreigner to protect us what! So many ns men....can always get 10 for each to do area cleaning....Then put out to see with commander, xo, helmsman and sonar man. Get to international waters and become floating casino!

So we'll end up with Swedish 2 used subs, 2 new german subs, 4 older swedish subs? Quite a lot of subs for a small country of very small sea lanes to cover... for more spying missions? :ph34r:

scratching my head..... so many subs for this blue portion? why?

and with technology so cheap these days, (eg cheap scanners on every km of seabed) what kind of spying mission are these subs capable of?

137a.jpg

and with technology so cheap these days, (eg cheap scanners on every km of seabed) what kind of spying mission are these subs capable of?

137a.jpg

Because if there is a war, we will not be fighting off our own waters. We will fight off the coast of our enemies. Fighting from our waters does not make any senses.

fair enough, and i leave it to the military geniuses to work out the strategies.....

though i think one of the enemies' most effective weapons would be haze from the west - enough to cripple us, and nothing the subs can do about it

137a.jpg

Protection of sea lanes are vital in any real war effort.

A sea embargo is the most powerful military action anyone can do especially on an island like ours.

the subs are usually in malacca straits or south china sea lah.

We buy 2nd hand to train mah. we have no history of submariners in our navy. Other countries have been doing this for 60-100 years.

hmm.. I see it as a waste of public funds... knowing that the sub is so old and couldn't last for a decade and you still bought it in the first place..

buying the sub is one cost.. training the Navy on how to use it is another cost..

couldn't last for a decade?

Think the Navy has been training on the challenger subs already for at least 8-10 years in sweden.

A sea embargo is the most powerful military action anyone can do especially on an island like ours.

the subs are usually in malacca straits or south china sea lah.

We buy 2nd hand to train mah. we have no history of submariners in our navy. Other countries have been doing this for 60-100 years.

couldn't last for a decade?

Think the Navy has been training on the challenger subs already for at least 8-10 years in sweden.

but wouldn't it make more sense to train the Navy on something that could last longer?

If u know ur car will be getting bumps, dings and dents when passed to a newbie to drive. Which type of b&b car will you pass to him, COE car, Parf car or New car? :D

I wonder what M'sia is going to buy after reading this piece of news. They are very kiasee. When sgp buy submarines, they also buy. We bought some more. They couldn't catch up so they bought helicopters with anti-sub capabilities.

I think announcement from their side will come very soon.

the subs are usually in malacca straits or south china sea

Good point, but to me not convincing lah.

If our neighbours enforce sea embargo, they can shut out the channels further out, our sea lanes are clear but still no ships dare come in. They'd be sitting ducks in hostile waters.

Good point, but to me not convincing lah.

If our neighbours enforce sea embargo, they can shut out the channels further out, our sea lanes are clear but still no ships dare come in. They'd be sitting ducks in hostile waters.

True, can't deny that. But u can't control that factor mah.

It is outside your sphere of influence.

What u can also do for subs is to hide around the naval bases or container ports of other countries.

Subs are a force multiplier. 1 sub can make the entire enemy fleet worry about it instead of 1 surface ship (unless u got a aircraft carrier lol). I think also one thing is to have more subs than your neighbours. lol deterrent

Ok let's spend say 200mil training people on an old platform COE submarine vs say spending 450mil on something totally brand new and tokgong Performance motors BMW submarine.

What happen if suddenly suay suay, one horrendous accident like the one that happened in india. Kills off part of the crew. say 10-20 pax.

Not so hard to imagine, some countries have lost entire submarine crews due to accidents before.

Even if govt keen to continue on the submarine programme, which ki xiao kia in SG's navy will volunteer to be the next sub crew?

So govt scrap the plan. 450 mil vs 200mil [sweatdrop]

True, can't deny that. But u can't control that factor mah.

It is outside your sphere of influence.

What u can also do for subs is to hide around the naval bases or container ports of other countries.

Subs are a force multiplier. 1 sub can make the entire enemy fleet worry about it instead of 1 surface ship (unless u got a aircraft carrier lol). I think also one thing is to have more subs than your neighbours. lol deterrent

Ok let's spend say 200mil training people on an old platform COE submarine vs say spending 450mil on something totally brand new and tokgong Performance motors BMW submarine.

What happen if suddenly suay suay, one horrendous accident like the one that happened in india. Kills off part of the crew. say 10-20 pax.

Not so hard to imagine, some countries have lost entire submarine crews due to accidents before.

Even if govt keen to continue on the submarine programme, which ki xiao kia in SG's navy will volunteer to be the next sub crew?

So govt scrap the plan. 450 mil vs 200mil [sweatdrop]

Oh. I thought when they go for training that time is like use other people submarine. like macam exchange programme like that. hahaha

haha must buy 1st then can test drive! [sunny][flowerface]

im mildly claustrophobic, so salute all those people who work in submarines... [sweatdrop]