Project Jewel at Changi Airport to cost $1.47b

Camrysfa

wow, super mall coming......

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/changi-airport-and-capitamalls-joint-venture-run-147-billion-project-j

Changi Airport has inked a joint venture with CapitaMalls Asia to develop the much-touted Project Jewel, which will be the iconic centrepiece of the airport when it is ready in 2018.

Construction on the $1.47 billion mixed-use building designed by renowned architect Moshe Safdie will start in the second half of next year. Mr Safdie was also responsible for another Singapore icon - the Marina Bay Sands.

To be built on the 3.5-hectare surface car park in front of Terminal 1, Project Jewel will have five storeys above ground, and five basement storeys of retail and car park spaces.

The complex will have a total gross floor area of about 134,000 sq m, of which nearly 70 per cent will be retail space. The rest are for airport operations, attractions and a hotel

it's like a invisible air-conditioned dome, will be quite spectacular when completed.

I hope it won't be a partially open-air mall like Star Vista or Westgate..Sinkapor's humidity is too high to be shopping in a non air-conditioned environment

Can beat dubai liao!

is Dubai airport very special and worth beating? I went there but it looks like nothing much leh....

anyway, I will go take a look when its ready! and see if such a celebrity architect can really do something our local talents cant

paying such a so-called renowned FT architect high fee when our own architects have proven themselves and designed previous airports locally and overseas doesn't seem govt is serious about supporting local talents.

I hope it won't be a partially open-air mall like Star Vista or Westgate..Sinkapor's humidity is too high to be shopping in a non air-conditioned environment

will tourists wear less with such hot humid condition? maybe just tubes and hotpants. I think its ok if they do

Another mall coming.....

But, I like shopping and eating out there, less crowd.

Pros and Cons of having a shopping mall at an airport (usually far from downtown area);

Pros:

1 less congestion

2 as sgp as an arirhub is only busy in the evenings, the vacant car parks / shops during other parts of the day will be well utilised by shoppers, thus avoiding being a white elephant during the day

3 since the airport has to operate 24 hours anyway, shopping hours can be extended similarly

Cons:

1 far from most residential / commercial areas

Changi Airport has inked a joint venture with CapitaMalls Asia to develop the much-touted Project Jewel, which will be the iconic centrepiece of the airport when it is ready in 2018

This jewel built using whose money ah? Changi airport got its own kitty? Capita land provide all $$? If using taxpayers money, how do we benefit from this jewel? I feel we don't need another mall already, thank you.

Changi Airport has inked a joint venture with CapitaMalls Asia to develop the much-touted Project Jewel, which will be the iconic centrepiece of the airport when it is ready in 2018

This jewel built using whose money ah? Changi airport got its own kitty? Capita land provide all $$? If using taxpayers money, how do we benefit from this jewel? I feel we don't need another mall already, thank you.

with 6.9m or 10m... there needs to be places for them to spend marnie..

and sgp got nothing but malls. capitaland want to earn to earn marnie lor..

and also HDB must build smaller and smaller so stay home very trapped like that need to go out.

use whose marnie to build jewel I don't know.. but airport land is definitely gahment sponsored land.. i.e. tax marnie.

To be built on the 3.5-hectare surface car park in front of Terminal 1, Project Jewel will have five storeys above ground, and five basement storeys of retail and car park spaces.

The complex will have a total gross floor area of about 134,000 sq m, of which nearly 70 per cent will be retail space. The rest are for airport operations, attractions and a hotel

Maybe the govt is the clever ass .....

Let's say the land alone is worth 600mil.

Then CapitaMalls Asia just have to fork out 840mil.

And see what CapitaM gets in return.

And Changi airport pays zero cents.

That's assuming the whole thing including building costs 1.4B.

And also depends on whether I know how to add.... as I only deal in beans.

Edited by Camrysfa

Bro, if I rem the T1 open air car park correctly, there isn't much space to build. so this Jewel will be another claustrophobic jewel box? Already T1 cramped liao, so now with this additional mall, lagi worse T1 will look like shopping centre instead of an airport... sibei jialat.. Still I dunno whose marnie$ used to fund this building?

No government not clever, they forgot one more thing in project proposal which is a casino!

They should make changi as 3rd IRs and build hotels there, make the dome like new world in Chengdu, attract more tourists,sure earn more. Just add another few hundred millions in this project to wow the world, probably World's First Casino in Airport Terminal City!!!

already say capitamall and airport, both are listed company, not asking you to pay why you worry?

Don't use taxpayer money to pay for BIG EGO project can liao.. I rather use public money for real social good, not some fancy showcase like garden by the bay ....

Business Times has more details. Confirmed 1.47B includes land cost. It only says CMA needs to look for $$$$. So maybe CAG just give land? And CAG remains the lessor. So if the retail&hotel part don't take off sorry to CMA. Even if CAG has to foot 500mil, I think it is still a sweet deal to them, just see how much they stand to gain in tems of attractions and more operational space.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/premium/companies/others/changi-airports-project-jewel-cost-147b-20131221

Changi Airport's Project Jewel to cost $1.47b
The development will boost airport's capacity and cement its position as a leading air hub

Singapore

PROJECT Jewel, the mixed-use development aimed at adding some glitz to Changi Airport when it is launched by end-2018, will cost $1.47 billion including land costs.

Co-developers Changi Airport Group (CAG) and CapitaMallsAsia (CMA) said yesterday that they have struck a joint venture agreement via their respective wholly owned subsidiaries, Jewel Changi Airport Holding and CMA Singapore Investments (6), and will set up a private trust, a trustee-manager and a property manager as the JV entities.

CAG will hold the majority stake of 51 per cent, while CMA will hold the balance 49 per cent that it will bankroll through internal funds and external borrowings, CMA said in a release to the Singapore Exchange.

Project Jewel will be constructed on the existing 3.5-hectare carpark site in front of Terminal 1 and will include airport operations, retail and leisure offerings as well as hotel space. The site has a lease term of 60 years, expiring in 2073, with CAG as the lessor.

The project, which CAG describes as game-changing, is part of efforts to cement Changi's status as the region's preferred air hub as other airports strive to carve out a bigger slice of the pie.

CAG chief executive Lee Seow Hiang said: "In today's highly competitive landscape where airports around the world are actively competing for passengers' mindshare, we cannot stop innovating. Project Jewel will give us this additional edge."

Construction on Project Jewel will kick-start in the second half of next year, with completion slated for 2018 - not long after the upcoming Terminal 4 is set to open its doors in 2017.

A team of design consultants have been tasked with creating Changi Airport's latest landmark, which will be encased in a distinctive glass and steel dome. The consortium consists of Safdie Architects, which designed another local icon, the Marina Bay Sands integrated resort, Benoy, as well as local architect RSP, which was behind ION Orchard.

The multi-storey complex will span a total gross floor area of about 134,000 square metres, of which 17,000 sq m will go towards airport operations, 5,000 sq m towards hotel space, 90,000 sq m towards retail space as well as 22,000 sq m towards attractions such as a large indoor garden and 40-metre waterfall.

However, the net lettable area of the retail space will total 53,500 sq m.

"The site presents an ideal opportunity for global and local retailers and F&B operators to create one-of-a-kind stores and dining concepts, to cater to a ready cosmopolitan catchment with more than 50 million passenger movements from 270 cities every year," said Lim Beng Chee, chief executive officer of CMA, which has interests in and manages 105 shopping malls across Asia. "This will provide an ideal platform both for American and European retailers to introduce and promote their offerings in Asia, as well as Asian retailers to do likewise with a global audience."

From an operational standpoint, Project Jewel will add a passenger handling capacity of three million to Changi's current tally of 66 million per year, in addition to allowing T1 to expand to accommodate greater space for areas such as taxi bays and baggage claim.

Aside from connecting passengers to the three existing terminals by foot, the development will also feature facilities dedicated to the fly-cruise and fly-coach passenger segments to make travel experiences smoother. Meanwhile, the basement carpark will nearly treble T1's existing parking facilities to 2,500 parking spots.

No government not clever, they forgot one more thing in project proposal which is a casino!

They should make changi as 3rd IRs and build hotels there, make the dome like new world in Chengdu, attract more tourists,sure earn more. Just add another few hundred millions in this project to wow the world, probably World's First Casino in Airport Terminal City!!!

I think I hear people who went to Las Vegas.. there are jackpots right in the airport!.. I thought Ocean's 13 where the Hotel inspector win in the airport was just made up scene.. but its exists in reality

Yes, confirm have. I seen it while at the airport....seems like you can gamble all the way to your plane seat!