Project Jewel at Changi Airport to cost $1.47b

Camrysfa

Thaiyotakamli, on 21 Dec 2013 - 11:34 PM, said:

No government not clever, they forgot one more thing in project proposal which is a casino!

They should make changi as 3rd IRs and build hotels there, make the dome like new world in Chengdu, attract more tourists,sure earn more. Just add another few hundred millions in this project to wow the world, probably World's First Casino in Airport Terminal City!!!

Errr..... SIN city? Haha, sekali SIA Girl on board all long long face.

Lurpsexx, on 21 Dec 2013 - 11:17 PM, said:

Bro, if I rem the T1 open air car park correctly, there isn't much space to build. so this Jewel will be another claustrophobic jewel box? Already T1 cramped liao, so now with this additional mall, lagi worse T1 will look like shopping centre instead of an airport... sibei jialat.. Still I dunno whose marnie$ used to fund this building?

Using the open air carpark may be good – they have to close it anyway. HDB oso convert open air cp & use the land.

I am guessing Changi airport don’t have to pay much – just the usual upgrading funds – as the land already goldmine.

Just like build some under-ground rd in marina and sell the land on top. Simple idea repeated here?

Yes, confirm have. I seen it while at the airport....seems like you can gamble all the way to your plane seat!

And if you're taking Asiana, you can continue after! :D

Really ah? Wah Seh.. whats next? Massage with happiness ending? Hahaha....

Umm...perhaps you didn't get the rather macabre joke I was attempting. :huh:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asiana_Airlines_Flight_214

Not the first time with this carrier either, but luckily the earlier flight was a cargo plane: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asiana_Airlines_Flight_991

Thaiyotakamli, on 21 Dec 2013 - 11:34 PM, said:

No government not clever, they forgot one more thing in project proposal which is a casino!

They should make changi as 3rd IRs and build hotels there, make the dome like new world in Chengdu, attract more tourists,sure earn more. Just add another few hundred millions in this project to wow the world, probably World's First Casino in Airport Terminal City!!!

Errr..... SIN city? Haha, sekali SIA Girl on board all long long face.

Lurpsexx, on 21 Dec 2013 - 11:17 PM, said:

Bro, if I rem the T1 open air car park correctly, there isn't much space to build. so this Jewel will be another claustrophobic jewel box? Already T1 cramped liao, so now with this additional mall, lagi worse T1 will look like shopping centre instead of an airport... sibei jialat.. Still I dunno whose marnie$ used to fund this building?

Using the open air carpark may be good – they have to close it anyway. HDB oso convert open air cp & use the land.

I am guessing Changi airport don’t have to pay much – just the usual upgrading funds – as the land already goldmine.

Just like build some under-ground rd in marina and sell the land on top. Simple idea repeated here?

Land near airports are noisy therefore no developers will be interested to buy it from govt to build condo. Offices and one or two malls near the airports are doing quite well though. So govt also put one leg in and partner up with Capital Mall to do it big and beat the one or two small malls already in Changi business park..... another case of big boys cleaning up the small flies.... [grin]

In the end play jackpoy until miss the plane lol

if hit jackpork, enough to upgrade to 1st class on the next flight!!! [bounce1]

Yes, confirm have. I seen it while at the airport....seems like you can gamble all the way to your plane seat!

when you land at the airport, you immediately feel you are already in the casino coz all the jackpork machines are there near the immigration/custom counters

And also depends on whether I know how to add.... as I only deal in beans.

Coffee beans ahh!!?? when I come your place try some fragrant coffee?? I bring some kaya toasts in exchange!! [grin][bounce1]

with 6.9m or 10m... there needs to be places for them to spend marnie..

and sgp got nothing but malls. capitaland want to earn to earn marnie lor..

and also HDB must build smaller and smaller so stay home very trapped like that need to go out.

use whose marnie to build jewel I don't know.. but airport land is definitely gahment sponsored land.. i.e. tax marnie.

if enough locals kpkb, will they add a museum, maybe even a library, throw in NTUC fitness club, etc to make it a place for the people and not just money? remember our Intergrated Resort? this one can easily become an Intergrated Airport

Well, before they can even move forward with this project, they have to find the people, and the right people too.

If I remember well, "Recruit" section of straits times two weeks ago had full page ad seeking people to fill up posts for this project... anyone keen to join? [rolleyes]

Edited by Sosaria

Not enough shopping for tourists in duty free meh?

But cool, new place for family outings. Singapore is the only place so far I see people going airport as family excursion or to makan so I guess there is some demand there. In some places you see families hanging out watching the planes land and take off and making a picnic of it, but these are places that usually don't allow locals to hang around inside the airport terminals.

Students also benefit, more places for them to study/hang around overnight.

Not enough shopping for tourists in duty free meh?

But cool, new place for family outings. Singapore is the only place so far I see people going airport as family excursion or to makan so I guess there is some demand there. In some places you see families hanging out watching the planes land and take off and making a picnic of it, but these are places that usually don't allow locals to hang around inside the airport terminals.

Students also benefit, more places for them to study/hang around overnight.

Can I say this is unique to SG?

Parking will be a huge problem in Changi AIrport soon....

t1 carpark close...the other carparks cannot cope...

will be like trying to find a lot during IT show..

I just hope that people waiting for the limited parking lots will not cause congestion to changi airport...

don't worry, this is the icon for tourism and travel for which they are more than willing to showcase and please the world.

My sentiments exactly. I like the T3 toilet. Normally, amdk places tend to be pretty pristine. And amdk also may not take well to high humidity.....unless they at poolside sunbathing @ 5 star hotel.

Maybe, I've not noticed it elsewhere just like the "airport is a family excursion place" phenomenon.

lack of space mah... they trying to pull crowd away. But the foodcourts at T3, the price not funny. Better off at Macs if with family.

I just hope that people waiting for the limited parking lots will not cause congestion to changi airport...

hmm, this could be a concern since tourist don't drive there. Or rates could be like CBD.

Well, before they can even move forward with this project, they have to find the people, and the right people too.

If I remember well, "Recruit" section of straits times two weeks ago had full page ad seeking people to fill up posts for this project... anyone keen to join? [rolleyes]

Pay like IR at $1.8k ? How to even afford 5 yr coe at 35k ?

Unless + sell 1 x nut. But that's illegal & enforced here.

Maybe, I've not noticed it elsewhere just like the "airport is a family excursion place" phenomenon.

you all got to be joking..

in less developed places where air travel is not very common, like india or bangladesh, or even SEA countries, or Eastern Europe, some one flying to another country to work, the whole clan or village will go to the airport to send them off..

I'm sure back in the day in Singapore, when one of our relatives go UK or US, the whole clan go send them off one..

latest example my cousin go overseas study, the whole shebang of a class go airport send her off.. I was like... WTF? [crazy]

nowadays still do this thing? the relatives sending her off only number 4 people.

you all got to be joking..

in less developed places where air travel is not very common, like india or bangladesh, or even SEA countries, or Eastern Europe, some one flying to another country to work, the whole clan or village will go to the airport to send them off..

I'm sure back in the day in Singapore, when one of our relatives go UK or US, the whole clan go send them off one..

latest example my cousin go overseas study, the whole shebang of a class go airport send her off.. I was like... WTF? [crazy]

nowadays still do this thing? the relatives sending her off only number 4 people.

well, I still see that practised by Singaporeans. But smaller in size probably because LKY wanted smaller family then? so the clan also become smaller?

Leave your mark, shape the place, win a prize.....

if you are keen & have an artististic talent.

I am sure your love for the place will grow if something there is your contribution.

Published: 13 January, 8:18 PM

SINGAPORE — Members of the public can now share their ideas on how Project Jewel, an upcoming lifestyle complex at Changi Airport, should be developed.

From today until March 31, the public can share their vision in the form of any two-dimensional medium such as photographs, drawings and sketches on the IMAGINE platform at www.changiairport.com/projectjewel.

“We are very heartened by the strong support shown and we feel that it will be very apt to engage the community through IMAGINE, and invite them to share their vision for Project Jewel in a fun and creative way,” said Mr Philip Yim, chief executive officer (CEO) of Jewel Changi Airport Devt.

“We want to work together with Singaporeans and residents to shape Project Jewel into a world-class lifestyle destination that will add much excitement and create a new chapter in Singapore’s aviation history.”

Submissions will also be curated into creative interpretations and reproduced as art on the complex’s 800m of hoarding during its construction.

Singaporean artist and illustrator, eeshaun, will be brought in to help with the creative process of the public engagement initiative.

IMAGINE is open to all Singapore residents, aged five and above. A total of 15 winners will be selected from entries in two categories — Junior (five – 12 years old) and Open (13 years and above). Winners will stand to win prizes of up to S$1,000 in Changi Vouchers.