Children Daily Risking Their Lives for an Education

Jman888

what? no air-con school bus?
Children Daily Risking Their Lives for an Education
POSTED BY SHAWN SALEME
Next time you decide to complain about taking the bus to school, you might want to think again. In various parts of the world, some children go to extreme lengths to get to class. Stories about children walking long miles to get to school is already well documented, but did you ever hear about children risking their lives on they way? These images show a dangerous yet unfortunately necessary way that some kids get to class.
In Sumatra, Indonesia, there used to be a reliable bridge that everyone could cross over the river (below). But since the bridge collapsed two years ago, everyone is forced to basically tightrope across the 30 ft pass. This bridge – including a 7 mile walk – is the daily trek for these Indonesian children. Due to heavy storms and floods there are other bridges such as this scattered around the country.
In the photos below we see narrow aqueducts dangerously crossed by children. They walk or bike on the small plank board as opposed to walking an additional 3 miles. Some kids cross rivers on inter tubes, not simply risking getting their books wet. There are high passes on cliffs in China and zip lining 400 meters above the ground in Colombia. Education is clearly important in these areas, and worth the risk to these kids and their parents; but with some help from local governments and NGO’s (non-governmental organizations), there may soon be easier ways to get to school.
tumblr_mzci3pzTz81ss4ieso1_1280.jpg
tumblr_mzci3pzTz81ss4ieso2_1280.jpg
risking-lives-for-school-1-600x375.jpg
risking-lives-for-school-3-600x464.jpg
risking-lives-for-school-4-600x404.jpg
risking-lives-for-school-8-600x375.jpg
risking-lives-for-school-10-600x375.jpg
risking-lives-for-school-11-600x405.jpg
risking-lives-for-school-12-600x449.jpg
risking-lives-for-school-226-600x375.jpg

Singapore also have as CCA. Rock climbing, bouldering, and tree top forest advnture.

this one can ask the parents not to sign them up, or the parents dun even want them to join [sweatdrop]

join librarian or chess club better :D

But between risking my life to go to school versus nowdays Singaporean pattern for kids - primary school wake up at 5am for bus, daily tution of 3 subjects, weekend burnt at enrichment classes, PSLE questions that cannot be answered

I got a feeling i prefer swimming to school in the river

But between risking my life to go to school versus nowdays Singaporean pattern for kids - primary school wake up at 5am for bus, daily tution of 3 subjects, weekend burnt at enrichment classes, PSLE questions that cannot be answered

yah man.....better the devil we know than the devil we don't

cannot compare hor! SG is 1st world standard....and we dont have mountains and rivers! Unless u want to count Bukit Timah and Singapore river and i dont think there are schools around Singapore River and no SG teacher would want to work in this environment!

you can choose to take it easy but these kids can only choose to go or not to go.

I see it the other way around. As in, nowadays students here are unappreciative of the teaching in school. Bored, disinterested, etc. And make the educators have to rack their brains to come up with what interesting curriculum, activities, etc.

Looking at the photos, you can see how others really thirst for knowledge, and the teaching they receive in their schools, even though under-equipped.

Edited by Sosaria

I see it the other way around. As in, nowadays students here are unappreciative of the teaching in school. Bored, disinterested, etc. And make the educators have to rack their brains to come up with what interesting curriculum, activities, etc.

Looking at the photos, you can see how others really thirst for knowledge, and the teaching they receive in their schools, even though under-equipped.

i am sure they only teach 2 subject a day for maybe 3 hours, and no cca. if not they probably have to start walking at 4am and return home at 11pm [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

this one can ask the parents not to sign them up, or the parents dun even want them to join [sweatdrop]

join librarian or chess club better :D

yes chess is a thinking game, I like to play chest.

this is like OBS adventure everyday sia!

I liked OBS a lot! Had a lot of fun there..

This shows how pampered some Singaporean children are. Just look at Dunearn Road / Bukit Timah road in the morning. =X

Its the Parents who create the Whoo Haaa… And they instill this thinking into their children… Every developed country ends up in this same plight… "Its all about me"…"What about me"…"Me First"… mentality...