Hire local? dun expect healthcare to be cheap

Jman888

250 overseas-trained Singaporeans return home as MOH ramps up health-care workforce
Published on Jan 21, 2014
By Andrea Ong
About 250 Singaporeans who studied medicine and dentistry abroad have been attracted back home since 2010, said Senior Minister of State for Health and Manpower Amy Khor in Parliament on Tuesday.
As part of the Ministry of Health's (MOH) wider push to ramp up the health-care workforce to prepare for an ageing population and growing demand for health services, it is bringing back overseas-trained Singaporeans by offering pre-employment grants, said Dr Khor.
The MOH projects that it will have to grow the national health-care professional workforce by 50 per cent, or 20,000 more people, from 2011 to 2020, she said.
"While we will do what we can to grow the local manpower pool, it is unlikely to be sufficient to meet Singapore's growing healthcare needs," she added.
In addition to bringing back overseas graduates, the MOH will continue to recruit qualified foreign professionals and help them assimilate into the local working environment.
And it aims to attract more young Singaporeans to join the health-care sector, Dr Khor said. With the new Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, which admitted its first batch last year, the local medical intake will rise gradually to 500 a year.
MOH is also raising the profile of nursing and allied health professions with branding campaigns and scholarships. Salaries will also be adjusted from time to time to attract and retain talent in the public health-care and intermediate and long-term care sectors, she said.
MOH also supports mid-career professionals who wish to join the health-care sector and will help older health-care staff continue working for as long as they can. In 2012, 95 per cent of professionals in public health-care institutions who turned 62 were re-employed. MOH also helped 27 nurses return to practice this year, Dr Khor said.

Turboflat, Radx agree?

Huat arrrr! No wonder my son was smiling from ear to ear and optimistic about his chosen field of study! But i still want him to migrate!

Edited by Eviilusion

the allied health professionals have long been underpaid for the tasks they do. GRanted, they can earn a decent amount with the shift and the like. However, volumes of patients are on the increase, and pegged to our counterparts with the same level of care provided and expertise, considering the equipment we use and all, we lag behind. Firstly, there must be more emphasis to upgrade the professions and Singapore is the only country left where the allied healths like OT, OT, RT, RG are at diploma level and A-level entry. This has stopped many from joining the profession.

However, like medicine, do not go in for the wrong reasons, as you might end up disappointed. there must be the passion within and seems to be less forthcoming from the current generation at that age. I remember that numbers needed to be pegged up to at least 100/yr intakes, since 2003, but to date, the annual intakes are a far cry from that. Thus, the reliance on FTs here.

Back to the topic, yes the salaries are bound to increase. When i started, i earned $1800, but after 1 yr, I was well earning enuf to get the decent limit for a CC. Now the entry salary for fresh grads, not much different, and modestly i would say low 2ks. this is after 20 yrs since when i graduated.

Vicious cycle here as equipment and land cost also add to the bill, and someones gotta foot the bill. Health economics around the world are facing this never ending problem. At the end of it all, costs are bound to increase. Question is how much, really

the allied health professionals have long been underpaid for the tasks they do. GRanted, they can earn a decent amount with the shift and the like. However, volumes of patients are on the increase, and pegged to our counterparts with the same level of care provided and expertise, considering the equipment we use and all, we lag behind. Firstly, there must be more emphasis to upgrade the professions and Singapore is the only country left where the allied healths like OT, OT, RT, RG are at diploma level and A-level entry. This has stopped many from joining the profession.

However, like medicine, do not go in for the wrong reasons, as you might end up disappointed. there must be the passion within and seems to be less forthcoming from the current generation at that age. I remember that numbers needed to be pegged up to at least 100/yr intakes, since 2003, but to date, the annual intakes are a far cry from that. Thus, the reliance on FTs here.

Back to the topic, yes the salaries are bound to increase. When i started, i earned $1800, but after 1 yr, I was well earning enuf to get the decent limit for a CC. Now the entry salary for fresh grads, not much different, and modestly i would say low 2ks. this is after 20 yrs since when i graduated.

Vicious cycle here as equipment and land cost also add to the bill, and someones gotta foot the bill. Health economics around the world are facing this never ending problem. At the end of it all, costs are bound to increase. Question is how much, really

ok lah.. At least patients Q up too see the doc.

I have been waiting almost 4 hours to see a client.. Plane delay, traffic jam, should have went for a nice spa 4 hours ago..

Huat arrrr! No wonder my son was smiling from ear to ear and optimistic about his chosen field of study! But i still want him to migrate!

It's a time consuming job, not easy to be in the health-care industry.

Edited by Windwaver

My son actually hated the coursr when he was initially given the course.....he slowly fell in love with what he was doing and has been scoring As forsince his 1st year. Now he is on attachment in KTPH and hoping for a scholarship...but i really wants him to study overseas! Thanks for the input.

Wh course bro? Physio?

Ask him tok to limpei here lol if he need further advice

It's a time consuming job, not easy to be in the health-care industry.

ya i know....sometime he would gibe feedback on his job to his mum. He is quite numb to patient's death nowadays. He says he has gotten numb to it liao.....somemore must write report when his patient dies!

Wh course bro? Physio?

Ask him tok to limpei here lol if he need further advice

will certainly do that dont u worry! Graduating from Ngee Ann in 4 months time....physio is one of the choice he wants to do when he furthers his studies! I also gibe him input....pharmacists....maybe anasthecist (spelling)...he said let him finish his ns 1st .......hahahaha! Edited by Eviilusion

There is no way to increase the number of nurses in training. Is already the max.

NYP & NP intake is about 700+/- students each year, and NUS is about 50 each year. There is no placement for actual training.

we can expect healthcare to be affordable if our govt feels the ground.

of course, we cannot expect $8 surgery. [grin]

this will happen if GDP isn't in top priority in their portfolios or rather, KPI. [rolleyes]

There is no way to increase the number of nurses in training. Is already the max.

NYP & NP intake is about 700+/- students each year, and NUS is about 50 each year. There is no placement for actual training.

yup! Until the new hospitals come up to take the load of the training, the places will be pegged to the 7-800 intake nos

That's the starting pay i got when I came back to SIN after my degree in Allied Health (15 yrs ago) and sad to say that there was only $200-300 increment for starting pay since then.

Only way to get out from that low paying scale is to join start up coy which (tks God) I did.

This morning, ladio said they reducing imported labor. locals expected to get 15-20% pay increase..

ask them suck my farking dick lah [thumbsdown]

those locals who dont get to 15% pay increase, the gahmen compensate ah [mad]

fark off man [thumbsdown]