Gong Xi Fa Cai (Happy Chinese New Year)

Maxus-MIFA9

So good life.

i think bro @altisowner 's trip to Kalimantan is for work le... 

now i see this...

any idea how should my kids address my wife's father's father's younger sister?

In chinese/teochiew pls...

We faced this dilemma 2 days ago  [laugh]

i anyhow hamtam... 曾姨婆?sorry missed out one gen  [laugh]

Edited by kdash

i anyhow hamtam... 曾姨婆?sorry missed out one gen  [laugh]

hmm... i think that's not a bad try.

actually what my wife did, when on the way to the relative's place, is to ask her brother what his son (our nephew) addressed the same relative.

which means to my nephew:

his father's father's father's sister...

Will be the same or not huh?

actually what my wife did, when on the way to the relative's place, is to ask her brother what his son (our nephew) addressed the same relative.

if in doubt....default to auntie/uncle or grandauntie/granduncle

may be different, cause your nephew considered "closer" in relation. i'm guessing your kids will call her 曾姨婆 while your nephew will call her 曾姑婆... i stand corrected... 

if in doubt....default to auntie/uncle or grandauntie/granduncle

That was our last resort lor...

But still curious leh... wondering what will be called by the precise Chinese way of address - never stopped learning  [laugh]

may be different, cause your nephew considered "closer" in relation. i'm guessing your kids will call her 曾姨婆 while your nephew will call her 曾姑婆... i stand corrected... 

[thumbsup]

now come the 'higher-order' question:

if she is 曾姨婆 to my kids (recall: my kids' mother's father's father's sister),

then what do my kids call my mother's mother's sister (means my kids' father's mother's mother's sister)?  [laugh]

[thumbsup]

now come the 'higher-order' question:

if she is 曾姨婆 to my kids (recall: my kids' mother's father's father's sister),

then what do my kids call my mother's mother's sister (means my kids' father's mother's mother's sister)?  [laugh]

walao this is worse than @vid's maths questions...  :a-bang:

i'm guessing 曾姨婆 also, cause 曾外姨婆 sounds weird... again i stand corrected... 

beyond a certain level, Chinese calling also cannot capture the full relationship...  [laugh]

Just call 婆婆 :D

i think if MOE sets questions like this for PSLE/'O' Levels, surely a lot of students and parents stress big time  [sweatdrop]

No wonder now we all call uncle/auntie liao  [laugh]

i think if MOE sets questions like this for PSLE/'O' Levels, surely a lot of students and parents stress big time  [sweatdrop]

No wonder now we all call uncle/auntie liao  [laugh]

haha agree... 

nowadays especially those English-speaking families, the calling is no longer so important. all same gen call by name, all one gen up call auntie/uncle, all 2 gen up call grandauntie/uncle etc... 

still good to figure out how to call in Chinese la... it matters to the older gen... 

in @atrecord case is great-grandauntie/uncle... 

oh then call zhor ma or zhor gong

even older call lao zhor ma or lao zhor gong

Who still rotting at home. Me at work.

I also start work today.

Office is so quiet. My Malaysian colleagues are still on leave. No incoming calls from customers too.

All very free waiting to knock off.

I also start work today.

Office is so quiet. My Malaysian colleagues are still on leave. No incoming calls from customers too.

All very free waiting to knock off.