Road Hoggers! Preferred car is Prius

Japanese auto giant Toyota said Wednesday it was recalling 1.9 million of its Prius hybrid cars around the world because of a fault that might cause the vehicle to slow down suddenly.

a-customer-looks-at.jpgFile photo: A customer looks at Toyota Motor's hybrid vehicle "Prius" at a showroom in Tokyo, Japan. (AFP/Yoshikazu Tsuno)

TOKYO: Japanese auto giant Toyota said Wednesday it was recalling 1.9 million of its Prius hybrid cars around the world because of a fault that might cause the vehicle to slow down suddenly.

The company said there was a problem with software used to control a power converter.

"In limited cases, the hybrid system might shut down and the vehicle will stop, perhaps while being driven," it said in a statement.

The world's biggest automaker added that the most likely scenario is that the defect could set off a vehicle's warning lights and "probably" cause it to enter "failsafe mode", in which the car can still be driven but with reduced power.

"The car may stop while driving, but not suddenly," said a Tokyo-based company spokeswoman. "It would slow down, eventually to stop."

Toyota was aware of more than 400 cases of the problem, including 300 in Japan and 90 in North America, she said, adding that no accidents had been reported due to the defect.

Toyota and other Japanese automakers have been hit by a series of mass recalls in recent years that damaged their long-held reputation for quality and safety.

- AFP/xq

just yesterday, sat in a camry, driven by a sales manager to a customer place for discussion..... first time...and damn.... he drove at damn limit on first lane..... hogging big time and i felt so knn kamlan to be onboard when many cars overtake from left.... how i wish i could take over the wheel at that moment or i drive my own car instead of taking a passenger seat...

i seldom enjoy being the passenger, never had problem being the driver...

few models cannot brake and this model cannot go.

So much for toyotas.

the famous 7-dsg also have the sudden slow down and stop features mah,.. but they are NOT admitting it and do a global recall at once..... [laugh]

just yesterday, sat in a camry, driven by a sales manager to a customer place for discussion..... first time...and damn.... he drove at damn limit on first lane..... hogging big time and i felt so knn kamlan to be onboard when many cars overtake from left.... how i wish i could take over the wheel at that moment or i drive my own car instead of taking a passenger seat...

the famous 7-dsg also have the sudden slow down and stop features mah,.. but they are NOT admitting it and do a global recall at once..... [laugh]

hmmm...even Camry need recall ah...kekkeke

After reading your post, I just realise I had never sat at the passenger seat of my car for a ride. That's for being of the chaffeur for the family.

ya lor. Me too, so sad...no chance to enjoy seating at the back of the car to enjoy my ride.

My experience was the opposite.

Many moons ago when I just started working in a Sengkang construction site and one day my PM wanted to clarify something with the HDB design engineer so we jumped into his Sunny and rode off.

He the drama type can right hand on the wheel while gesturing wildly with his left one.

Ok to be like that on normal roads I guess but when he still did that along Lane 1 of CTE and tailgating the vehicle in front at 100+kph, it was no longer funny.

Needless to say throughout the journey from Sengkang to Bukit Merah, I prayed silently to all the deities I knew throughout my limited life till then... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

is your title higher than sales manager?

If yes, he might be trying to prove to you that he follow law, rules & regulation.

Wouldnt be reckless with his decision = better career advancement.

If no, then why you complain that a SM bring you out [sweatdrop][grin] .

DSG, they suppose to have a safety feature, breaks down before the carpark exit.

ya lor. Me too, so sad...no chance to enjoy seating at the back of the car to enjoy my ride.

throw me your keys lah. [drivingcar] i can drive you around for a trip or two [sly]

Haha... I too same boat recently... well almost.

Few months ago, I got very sick. Cannot eat for more than 3 days. Nothing staying in. Vomit vomit. I took taxi to Changi Hospt once I got very weak. But those useless buggers made me wait 12 hrs in A&E (really... 12 friggin hours!)

So I took taxi back home and got my cousin to drive me to SGH near his place. Him 1st time driving my car... That too on the new MCE. I'm delirious and fainting behind but I can see that my cuz is doing 96 km/h. My car is a PI Audi so the speedo is in mph with kph in smaller letters. But I've set the digital screen to display speed in Kph in big letters.

Anyway, I remind him "bro, speed limit 80." maybe 2 or 3 times. He finally told me, "don't worry, I'm only doing 60"

Later on he told me he couldn't understand why all the other cars were driving slower than him when he was only doing 60 kph [confused]

Haha... I too same boat recently... well almost.

Few months ago, I got very sick. Cannot eat for more than 3 days. Nothing staying in. Vomit vomit. I took taxi to Changi Hospt once I got very weak. But those useless buggers made me wait 12 hrs in A&E (really... 12 friggin hours!)

So I took taxi back home and got my cousin to drive me to SGH near his place. Him 1st time driving my car... That too on the new MCE. I'm delirious and fainting behind but I can see that my cuz is doing 96 km/h. My car is a PI Audi so the speedo is in mph with kph in smaller letters. But I've set the digital screen to display speed in Kph in big letters.

Anyway, I remind him "bro, speed limit 80." maybe 2 or 3 times. He finally told me, "don't worry, I'm only doing 60"

Later on he told me he couldn't understand why all the other cars were driving slower than him when he was only doing 60 kph [confused]

hahahah...hilarious....

me too...and no one ever driven my car beside car mechanic, or maybe once by my bil when he use my car to pick up his wife and collect his car from workshop... [grin]

dont lie... just that u dont like to give up the steering wheel, not no chance... [laugh]

My experience was the opposite.

Many moons ago when I just started working in a Sengkang construction site and one day my PM wanted to clarify something with the HDB design engineer so we jumped into his Sunny and rode off.

He the drama type can right hand on the wheel while gesturing wildly with his left one.

Ok to be like that on normal roads I guess but when he still did that along Lane 1 of CTE and tailgating the vehicle in front at 100+kph, it was no longer funny.

Needless to say throughout the journey from Sengkang to Bukit Merah, I prayed silently to all the deities I knew throughout my limited life till then... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

then u wont want to tumpang my ride for sure..... i will use both hand for gesture even at above 100kmh without much concern... no worries, my car will remain very straight one..... [laugh]

You be my co-passenger, I assure you with your eyes staring at my speedo meter like this one [shocked][:(]

Bro RadX, You're welcome on board my car to Genting on this coming Monday 17th.Feb 2014 [flowerface]

is your title higher than sales manager?

If yes, he might be trying to prove to you that he follow law, rules & regulation.

Wouldnt be reckless with his decision = better career advancement.

If no, then why you complain that a SM bring you out [sweatdrop][grin] .

DSG, they suppose to have a safety feature, breaks down before the carpark exit.

err.. technically, my ranking is higher but maybe because of his age (much older than me), thats why he drive slower.. the key is not about the speed but the choice of lane to drive on..... [:p]

Bro RadX, You're welcome on board my car to Genting on this coming Monday 17th.Feb 2014 [flowerface]

pwah...i sit in boot ah...kekeke....damn...still hv to work...

u have a great trip bro! Be safe [thumbsup][thumbsup]