New Straits Times: S'pore water deal to be reviewed

Vulcann

The government is selling Singaporeans treated water at RM$13.30 per 1000 gallons (S$5.32 per 1000 gallon @ RM2.50)

Excluding GST, heh heh.

*which i am sure is heavily subsidised according to the Accountants PUB probably shares with HDB

Edited by Aventador

We have to be fair to Malaysia also

3 sen per 1000 gallons! It is an insult actually considering how valuable fresh water is now.

since when did the PAP not raise prices for things they have control over for 50 years.

Imagine being able to buy something from our government at 1961 prices.....

[thumbsup][nod]

If they don't sell to us, these water will flow into the longkangs, rivers and seas. It is a win-win deal for both mah.

BTW, the water is not treated. Selling raw, untreated water which is not fit for consumption at 3 cents per gallon is still good income opportunity compared to having it flowed away.

their water sales is literally money fall from sky [laugh]

I think we treat them fairly leh. If u read into it, we build n maintained all the infrastructure, pipes, pump house n treatment plants for them for free all these years and once contract finished, we handed it over to them FOC.

They no need pay a single sen for it.

Shouldnt they pay us back for maintenance and building of infrastructure when we handed back to them FOC?

Like that they can bomb other things also, say we reliant on them for food, labour, and others. Truth is, we are reliant on them for a lot of things. If suddenly they stop trade with us, prices of our raw stuff will jack very high..

While I do know about the facilities we handed over to them, they did sell water to us at such a low rate all these years.

The government is selling Singaporeans treated water at RM$13.30 per 1000 gallons (S$5.32 per 1000 gallon @ RM2.50)

Excluding GST, heh heh.

*which i am sure is heavily subsidised according to the Accountants PUB probably shares with HDB

MIW never lose money to foreigners, everything only subsidise Singaporeans mah, you dunno meh? House subsidised, transport (public) subsidised, water and utilities subsidised, studies subsidised, one of the lowest tax in the world...

How MIW still support Singapore? Great mystery leh.. Hahahhhahaha [smash]

if we take into account the exchange rate b/w 1961 and now, I think we can absorb the impact of the price increase if it is not too high.

Like that they can bomb other things also, say we reliant on them for food, labour, and others. Truth is, we are reliant on them for a lot of things. If suddenly they stop trade with us, prices of our raw stuff will jack very high..

While I do know about the facilities we handed over to them, they did sell water to us at such a low rate all these years.

Without PUB doing all that for them, u think they will have clean tap water? Yes, it may seem cheap in today's money. But when they had a chance to revised the price in the 80's n 90's, they didnt do so.

Now they wana revise price, can we ask for payemnt for all the infrastructure, pipes n equipments we left behind for them? These are not in the contract.

Also the current johor river one, we paid them few hundred millions for land use for the treatment plants n pump station n continuing paying rental for it.

siao liao lor...utility bills going to up up again... [shakehead]

dun worry about rising cost of utility from rise of cost of raw water.

if u look at the price of the raw water we import, even if rise x 10 time, it wont effect much in your monthly water bills.

if there is any increase. it come the the rise in cost of treating the raw water. worker paid, bababa, rather then the raw material..

Without PUB doing all that for them, u think they will have clean tap water? Yes, it may seem cheap in today's money. But when they had a chance to revised the price in the 80's n 90's, they didnt do so.

Now they wana revise price, can we ask for payemnt for all the infrastructure, pipes n equipments we left behind for them? These are not in the contract.

Also the current johor river one, we paid them few hundred millions for land use for the treatment plants n pump station n continuing paying rental for it.

I am with you on this [thumbsup]

Our neighbours up north tended to always simplify things and conveniently did not mention all these.

And even though we sell them at 50 sen/1000 gallons, it was also reported somewhere that they actually re-sell it at double or more to their own citizens at negligible or nil cost to themselves. How about that?

Nonetheless we accommodated to a water price review some years ago and tied it to a packaged deal which fell through, courtesy of you-know-who.

And not too long ago whenever relations went south, threats of cutting off the water supply almost always cropped up from their side so it was really a pain to deal with such hooliganism on a state scale.

Just hope we can ram up water supply from whatever source or method to be less dependant on them up to 2061 (provided they still honour the water agreement till then) and totally independent after that.

And last but not least, if we are to agree to a water price revision i.e. price increase, who is going to pay for the additional price based on a pay-&-pay system?

It's more expensive than Tiger Beer, sooner rinsing mouth with local beer is cheaper

Like Germany, beer is cheaper than mineral water or coke [:)]

PUB going to use that increase to raise our bills again.

with the change in weather and Little Ice Age ,hopefully we don't have to buy water from Malaysia for the next 250 years [:p]

water bill should come down instead [:p]

with the change in weather and Little Ice Age ,hopefully we don't have to buy water from Malaysia for the next 250 years [:p]

water bill should come down instead [:p]

Even if all factors pointed to cheaper water, PUB will still increase our bill. Once go up, never come down

Water is one if the things that PAP has done excellently [thumbsup]

The foresight of our leaders cannot be over emphasized

Praise when praise is deserved

Fark when fark is deserved

After Indonesia now it is Malaysia's turn to test water and see the little red dot's resolve. And whether the noose still works. With our increasing independence in obtaining water they probably want to see how kancheong we are about them turning off the taps and if we would still pick up our rifles to secure our water supply.

Nowadays we should be telling them folks up north: na ni na ni pu pu, we gonna drink our own poo [laugh][laugh]

Jokes aside, we must continue to explore new and ideally cheaper ways to generate potable water to reduce the reliance and ultimately independent of water supply from them.

Never comfortable to have someone with a dagger on your throat even though he claims to be your loving abang...