Monkey think, another monkey do

Jman888

Monkey think, another monkey do
20/02/2014 on mypaper
PARIS
SCIENTISTS working on a cure for paralysis said on Tuesday they had demonstrated how a monkey can use only its thoughts, transferred by electrodes, to manipulate a sleeping fellow primate's arm to do its bidding.
The lab experiment, in which a fully sedated Rhesus monkey's hand moved a joystick to perform tasks at the other monkey's command, was designed to simulate full paralysis, with the brain completely disconnected from the muscle it seeks to control.
"We demonstrated that a subject can control a paralysed limb purely with its thoughts," co-author Maryam Shanechi of Cornell University said of the study in the journal, Nature Communications.
The discovery "could have the potential to help paralysed patients regain control of their limbs". --AFP

this was like in the movie Avatar if this can apply on human :huh::huh:

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/punggol-residents-fear-attack-macaques-sooner-later-monkeys-steal-bakery-and-supermarket

Punggol residents fear attack by macaques ‘sooner than later’, as monkeys steal from bakery and supermarket

After entering their neighbourhood to steal food and cause a nuisance, several residents in Punggol East are now worried that they would be attacked by the gang of brazen monkeys 'sooner than later'.

A troop of more than 10 long-tailed macaques have been seen intimidating passers-by at public walkways and bridges, Shin Min Daily News reported on Tuesday (July 12).

Believed to come from the nearby Coney Island, the primates have also been spotted 'hanging out' at residential areas to search for food, according to the residents living in Waterway Sunrise.

Speaking to the Chinese evening daily, a bakery employee shared that several monkeys would wait outside for freshly-baked goods as early as 7am. 

Once they open for business, a monkey would first rush in to 'test the water', the 30-year-old said, while describing their typical modus operandi.

"After snatching a bread away and leaving us no time to react, 10 other long-tailed macaques would then rush in and steal four more bread from us," she added.

The gang of monkeys was also caught stealing fruits from supermarkets and a convenience shop, said a coffee shop employee who only wanted to be known as Lam.

"We are really worried. After [stealing from the shops], they would come over to the coffee shop to eat," she added.

When a reporter from Shin Min Daily News visited Block 658 along Punggol East on Monday (July 11) evening, around 10 monkeys were seen rummaging through the trash at the park.

With the presence of primates in the neighbourhood, a resident said that he has been advising his younger neighbours to refrain from eating while walking at the same time.

"The monkeys would gather at the HDB block at around 8am. As long as we don't provoke them, they will not do anything," 30-year-old Xu added, who has been living in Punggol for more than 10 years.

In 2021, a macaque at Punggol's Waterway Sunbeam estate was caught by the Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority of Singapore after it scratched the leg of a young boy.

The monkey had also snatched food, including eggs from a passer-by, reported The Straits Times then.

AsiaOne has contacted Pasir Ris-Punggol Town Council for comment. 

Dr Adrian Loo, group director of wildlife management at the National Parks Board (NParks), shared that such issues often arise when the macaques are attracted by easy access to human food or are fed by members of the public, reported Today last year. 

The agency has been carrying out efforts to guide the monkeys away from residential areas towards the forested areas, Dr Loo said at that time.

To monkey-proof your home, NParks has suggested the following:

• Close all windows and doors, as well as installing mesh and grilles
  • Keep food out of sight
  • Double-knot all garbage bags and manage your refuse

20220712_monkey.jpg?itok=PJy-sZd_

I have long warned people of staying near Coney Island.

Good news is, the plot of new HDBs nearest to Coney Island hasn't TOP yet :grin:, waiting for more drama to come.

1 hour ago, Windwaver said:

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/punggol-residents-fear-attack-macaques-sooner-later-monkeys-steal-bakery-and-supermarket

Punggol residents fear attack by macaques ‘sooner than later’, as monkeys steal from bakery and supermarket

After entering their neighbourhood to steal food and cause a nuisance, several residents in Punggol East are now worried that they would be attacked by the gang of brazen monkeys 'sooner than later'.

A troop of more than 10 long-tailed macaques have been seen intimidating passers-by at public walkways and bridges, Shin Min Daily News reported on Tuesday (July 12).

Believed to come from the nearby Coney Island, the primates have also been spotted 'hanging out' at residential areas to search for food, according to the residents living in Waterway Sunrise.

Speaking to the Chinese evening daily, a bakery employee shared that several monkeys would wait outside for freshly-baked goods as early as 7am. 

Once they open for business, a monkey would first rush in to 'test the water', the 30-year-old said, while describing their typical modus operandi.

"After snatching a bread away and leaving us no time to react, 10 other long-tailed macaques would then rush in and steal four more bread from us," she added.

The gang of monkeys was also caught stealing fruits from supermarkets and a convenience shop, said a coffee shop employee who only wanted to be known as Lam.

"We are really worried. After [stealing from the shops], they would come over to the coffee shop to eat," she added.

When a reporter from Shin Min Daily News visited Block 658 along Punggol East on Monday (July 11) evening, around 10 monkeys were seen rummaging through the trash at the park.

With the presence of primates in the neighbourhood, a resident said that he has been advising his younger neighbours to refrain from eating while walking at the same time.

"The monkeys would gather at the HDB block at around 8am. As long as we don't provoke them, they will not do anything," 30-year-old Xu added, who has been living in Punggol for more than 10 years.

In 2021, a macaque at Punggol's Waterway Sunbeam estate was caught by the Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority of Singapore after it scratched the leg of a young boy.

The monkey had also snatched food, including eggs from a passer-by, reported The Straits Times then.

AsiaOne has contacted Pasir Ris-Punggol Town Council for comment. 

Dr Adrian Loo, group director of wildlife management at the National Parks Board (NParks), shared that such issues often arise when the macaques are attracted by easy access to human food or are fed by members of the public, reported Today last year. 

The agency has been carrying out efforts to guide the monkeys away from residential areas towards the forested areas, Dr Loo said at that time.

To monkey-proof your home, NParks has suggested the following:

• Close all windows and doors, as well as installing mesh and grilles
  • Keep food out of sight
  • Double-knot all garbage bags and manage your refuse

20220712_monkey.jpg?itok=PJy-sZd_

why they NParks Board say only guide the monkeys away to the forested area....

I believe these monkeys were in the forested area and we encroach into their space by building HDBs there....and more HDBs to come too....

also, have you all been to Coney island, which i highly believe these monkeys came from....and dunno which agency have cleared the middle part of the Island and turn it into a OutBound Camp...huge part of the forest was cleared for this.....is this truely necessary...are our current outbound camps in full capacity?

Mindless clearing of the forest...

5 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

why they NParks Board say only guide the monkeys away to the forested area....

I believe these monkeys were in the forested area and we encroach into their space by building HDBs there....and more HDBs to come too....

also, have you all been to Coney island, which i highly believe these monkeys came from....and dunno which agency have cleared the middle part of the Island and turn it into a OutBound Camp...huge part of the forest was cleared for this.....is this truely necessary...are our current outbound camps in full capacity?

Mindless clearing of the forest...

I agree. 

What's with the Outbound Camp here? Tot there's one on Puala Ubin which is the best location. Ruggard environment and away from the "comfort" of city and all its bustel. 

Seriously think its care-less planning and waste of land. 

You clear the habitats of these animals and expect them to find food from bricks and mortars?

Then later in the name of safety, they will either be put down one by one, or the whole group shipped out to Pulau Ubin? And we want to talk about Garden City image. 

Goodness. The ones planning these only have money from reserves to throw out, to look good, for who? 

Frankly, I always thought outward bound schools n the likes are meant to be built away from civilisation, how's the new location away from it. 

Later say cost $xxx millions to build, not including the cost of clearing the land for it. Why? Scare boys n girls miss home can just take public bus or call Grab ride or taxi? 

Sorry for rant. If its for a good cause and benefits majority of citizens, sure, go ahead. Take the "OUT" from the bound school and its just a normal training camp. You dun need one, just use old empty schools and fit it out, there u got the "out"  back into the bound liao. 

😅😅😂😂😂

I pity Nature.

We have zero heart for it. Lip service plenty but action to preserve it.... just try to guide the monkeys and otters away from ppl. 

Stay safe all 

Common scene at SICC.  
the monkeys are always trying to steal some food from the tables and the staff is always chasing them away