Give birth at home

Thaiyotakamli

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/more-parents-opting-give-birth-home-20140224

newspostPurchase this article for republication

photobankBuy SPH photos

Dr Teoh Ren Shang and his wife Victoria with their son Xavier, who was born in the master bedroom of their HDB flat. -- ST PHOTO: MUGILAN RAJASEGERAN

By Linette Lai

Four weeks ago, Xavier Teoh was born in the master bedroom of his parents' Housing Board flat.

Not because it was an emergency. His parents chose to have their first-born at home.

"Why should we make something natural, unnatural?" said his father, Dr Teoh Ren Shang, a senior resident physician at Ang Mo Kio Community Hospital.

"Hospitals are not as intimate and familiar as the home, where you are in control of the atmosphere."

BACKGROUND STORY

PRICELESS EXPERIENCE

He caught the baby. He cut the cord. It was priceless.

- Mrs Victoria Teoh, on how her husband, Dr Teoh Ren Shang, was involved in welcoming their son, Xavier

HOSPITAL IS SAFEST

We believe that a safe delivery should not be taken for granted, and is best conducted in a hospital with access to emergency care should the need arise.

- Dr Shephali Tagore of the KK Women's and Children's Hospital

TO READ THE FULL STORY...

Subscribe

NEXT STORY: Government 'considering' lease buyback for bigger HDB flats

Edited by Thaiyotakamli

Not something I would recommend for anyone, even a doctor, *even* an O&G specialist. You need to have quick access to an OT (operating theatre) if complications arise during labour. No matter how skilled you or the midwife is, you cannot do anything much without the proper equipment. And if you try to do something heroic without the proper equipment or conditions, you could well end up hurting or even killing mother and/or baby.

One must remember that in the "good old days" (which I would term the "bad old days" to be more accurate), the perinatal mortality used to be much higher than it is now in developed countries. As cold-hearted as it sounds, one of the major reasons people used to have very large families then is to compensate for this potential fetal wastage. This is no longer the case, and it would be an insanely callous parent who would not regard every baby as "precious and irreplaceable". As such, we should also embrace the improvements that modern medicine has made possible and not try to regress to a scenario that is no longer considered ideal.

Times are bad.. Even doctors are not spared.. Prob a junior doc who did that to save on hospital bill. I may be wrong. while the successful surgeons built their palace-like homes in Singapore... And the govt is saying the Gini coefficient has improved? What?

I think you're wrong. Don't think money had anything to do with it.

Look at the bright side. The umbilical cord and the placenta can then be stir fried in ginger and shallots.... yum yum! One of my favourite dish!

You should eat it raw - animal style. Or rather feed it to the missus. :D

"Hospitals are not as intimate and familiar as the home, where you are in control of the atmosphere."

simi familiar? the baby has seen the home b4 meh? [hur]

they were juz plain lucky it was a uncomplicated birth. if it wasn't, gooooood luck.......

simi familiar? the baby has seen the home b4 meh? [hur]

they were juz plain lucky it was a uncomplicated birth. if it wasn't, gooooood luck.......

refer to the mother lah..... hospital not intimate enough [laugh][laugh]

Well bro, like I say I cld be wrong. But I certainly wouldn't risk the lives of my wife and unborn child that way.

Neither would I (as I said).

False confidence +++

*shakes head*

There you have it, evidence that some doctors are not smart at all...

How timely! :D

Save a lot giving birth at home. Paediatrician alone saved over 1K.

A Paediatrician 20 years ago was $60/day and not complusory but good to have then.

refer to the mother lah..... hospital not intimate enough [laugh][laugh]

walau....ppl asking her to give birth in a bangla dormitory meh?