Do You Want To Retire Before 60 ?

When trying to achieve a better job, save more, or invest better, there will be those who will scoff. But just because they cannot do it, does not mean it cannot be done.

These are the excuses of the unsuccessful, the average and the poor in willpower:

Why don't you change to a job you love? "It's too hard".

Why don't you try to build a business you enjoy? "It's too costly. No money".

Why don't you upgrade your skills? "No time. Too lazy".

Why don't you specialise in skillsets which are in tune to your talents? "I don't want to be stuck in a rut".

Why don't you try something new? "I am fearful of cheats or fearful of failing".

I wont disagree with your positive posture and pitch. However, what you said is ideal, but execution is not easy , in some cases not viable for various reasons.

If you could, maybe share with us:

what has been your profession?

why did you get retrenched?

how did you cross skill or up skill yourself?

did what you do land you a better pay, same pay or lower pay job?

or better career advancement?

Looking forward to learning from you and even give us some enciuragement and inspirations ?

Edited by Ct3833

I wont disagree with your positive posture and pitch. However, what you said is ideal, execution is not easy , in some cases not viable for various reasons.

Looking forward to learning from you and even give us some enciuragement and inspirations ?

sounds very much like a motivational speaker trying to garner masses...just my take

the message being laid out reeks of that, ad nauseum

I already highlighted before, the employees within the firm themselves are hiring individuals who are related to them, one memorable mention was filling a post with a person who didn't even have basic excel knowledge but was paid 10k a month just because the individual had a very close relation with a senior manager. What you mentioned below is moot point to the situation.

I think the root of the matter is that some citizens in positions of authority in those private companies are not thinking deeper about the mid- and long-term consequences. And are in comfort zone themselves.

On the other side of the issue is the difficulty in filling out work teams with only top-rate citizens. Top-rate is rare. Among some older citizens, the embarrassing and sensitive issue of whether they are Able and Willing to do the job crops up.

But if you notice, the common point in your observations is that the individual on the ground is best positioned to take action. If the citizen worker feels unfairness or bias, be professional and raise the issue. If too overwhelming, nothing stopping the citizen worker from resigning and moving to a competitor (this works only if citizen worker is high performer too).

Take action on matters you can control.

Desk bound, double checking paperwork? Both I can get foreigners to cover, again please if you would specific job functions which locals have clear advantage of in a office place setting.

Desk-bound, double-checking paperwork? If you say the foreigner can do it cheaper/faster/better why bother in the same job role or responsibilities?

Citizens are rather well educated, but allow comfort zone fears to slow their own personal progress.

If one is interested to continue in the industry, use your knowledge about competitors and customers built up over the years to improve one problem area in that industry.

If one treated the existing job as a stepping stone, then take action to move to something else that will hold your interest. An industry that you want to bring improvements to.

The amount of money you make is calculated on these criteria:

-How good are you at what you do;

-How high is the demand for what you do;

-How valuable your work is to the marketplace;

-How easy it is to replace you.

Only you know your own talents and existing skillset. That's why I say to take action on matters one can control.

Government goes wide and far, civil engineering contracts make up a large proportion tunnel works, consultant engineering, draughtmans that can be hired, even hiring of suppliers to fill up pencils for schools is another one. Surely you don't think this is a small industry?

Its not about writing off Singaporean workers, its about Singaporean workers being at a disadvantage, and this is what the entire argument is about. End of the day you can retrain until your blood turns cold but reality is you will age and unless your Einstein your skills set / mental faculty will go down a  depreciative path and thus your salary. Hence there is a needs for government to be protective of the local workers be it high or low skilled Singapore being the open economy it is.

Again understand how a tender works, that is not my suggestions at all. I already mentioned it should play a part when considering a tender job, do you skip words when your coming with a reply? Read my earlier post.

"But then you say that best way forward is for companies to hire all singaporeans. Doesn't that mean you are demanding that companies hire low quality workers?"

As we speak I'm travelling the UK at the moment which limited my time to reply so be be clear either you agree with the statement in bold or not. Least we waste time on multiple replies  [laugh]

To be blunt, while you say "look at the big picture" you are contradicting yourself when you try to demonstrate deeper knowledge about the issue.

And your "big picture" consists of only private sector services companies tendering for govt contracts. (IT perhaps?)

By saying that everything can be offshored, and that foreigners are cheaper/faster/better, you are already writing off the singaporean workers. Why so pessimistic mindset?

But then you say that best way forward is for companies to hire all singaporeans. Doesn't that mean you are demanding that companies hire low quality workers?

I think if you haven't tried to fill a work team with all top-performance citizens and then oversee them to produce better results consistently over years, then it is difficult to suggest that you know the "big picture".

Bro can share your knowledge? What stocks to buy so I can retire before 60?

He no knowledge to share. His postings seems to go round n round but it just never get to the main point.

I wont disagree with your positive posture and pitch. However, what you said is ideal, but execution is not easy , in some cases not viable for various reasons.

@Cscbb has always represented that he was a big time loan shark.. then @dafttrue represented he is an executive now @alfalove is retrenched..

The only way I am going to retire before 60 is if a good looking young rich lady wants me as her toy boy and want to spend all her money on me.

I don't mind giving her my body in exchange.

by body do you mean spare parts, like kidney, eyes and etc?

By the way, who here is under 60 and retired?

Can check check?

I am way past 60 and still working to save enough to buy my first Rolex. If I don't need a Rolex, then maybe can stop work lah. 'Retired' has no meaning in Sg leh. No pension scheme, what is retired leh?  [:p]

I know of one elderly owner at Tiong Bahru estate. He seems to have multiple properties around that area.

Most of the days, I will see him walking around the estate drinking kopi and collecting rent.  Sometimes I will join him for a kopi and he will grumble about his tenants.

Maybe that's retired I think?

Edited by Icedbs

I know of one elderly owner at Tiong Bahru estate. He seems to have multiple properties around that area.

Most of the days, I will see him walking around the estate drinking kopi and collecting rent. Sometimes I will join him for a kopi and he will grumble about his tenants.

I doubt so Bros. nowaday no one go around collecting rent. Interbank transfer. furthermore if residential the landlord can't even enter the unit. What is there to see. walking around the estate drinking coffee probably bored and lonely.

real retired must go botanic garden on weekday morning. Those in running attire are the so called retiree.

Edited by Kopites

Most of the days, I will see him walking around the estate drinking kopi and collecting rent.  Sometimes I will join him for a kopi and he will grumble about his tenants.

If I am him, grumbling would not be my past time  :yeah-im-not-drunk: Probably, his communication is via grumbling but surely he can find something more interesting to share. Key point is, when you physically is still able, better travel more and see what you have not seen. Once you reached the stage when you are not that mobile, then probably you will be on the cruise ship or visiting urban cities that are handicap compliance.  [:p]

I doubt so Bros. nowaday no one go around collecting rent. Interbank transfer. furthermore if residential the landlord can't even enter the unit. What is there to see. walking around the estate drinking coffee probably bored and lonely.

real retired must go botanic garden on weekday morning. Those in running attire are the so called retiree.

I am way past 60 and still working to save enough to buy my first Rolex. If I don't need a Rolex, then maybe can stop work lah. 'Retired' has no meaning in Sg leh. No pension scheme, what is retired leh? [:p]

Retired to me means own time own target.

No one has legal right to your time nor attention

Its mostly about time for me.

We can have loads of money but if we dont hv time, we are all finished basically.

hard truth

the chicken rice stall owner made $20k per month

but he worked 12-14hrs per day, 7 days, till age 60-70

then all sort of illness come ... [sweatdrop]

We can have loads of money but if we dont hv time, we are all finished basically.

Sounds like a prawn scenario.. Is it they always no money to pay rent, that's why open door in see thru clothings  :secret-laugh:

Hab lah, my friend likes to go around collection rental. He got a few units in GL and rented out to chio bu's.

He say every time they open the door always wear see thru clothings....

He enjoy shiok shiok... [nod]

No bro, a lot of the elderly people especially those in the pioneer generation are still collecting rent in cash.

2 years back I went to this elderly landlord to collect my commission. I expected her to give me in cheque. Instead, she came out with a stack of cash and counting in front of me. Curious.....I asked where she got that stack of cash from. She said it was from her rental money.

One of my old relative renting out her hdb in bukit merah also same. Every month, she will visit the tenant to collect her rent in cash. She then use the chance to look at her unit, talk shop with the tenant and sometimes bring food to them. The tenant stays there for 5 years already.

So not everybody do fund transfer. That's more for the younger folks. Those above 60, some are still doing the plain old fashion way.

cash need to issue official receipt?