Do You Want To Retire Before 60 ?

Can I ask about "forced to retire before 60"? They got retrenched because company closed, or restructured so job role redundant, or new role but unable/unwilling to retrain?

And for those at 1/3 last drawn pay, why remain in same industry when they don't have skills that are currently in high demand? Where is their self-respect?

The skills set are probably still there but not many $30-100k a month roles out there, so take a smaller role that comes with a much smaller pay cheque loh... Happens to so many people i know.

And once you fall from the very top, it is hard to even get people to hire you for a smaller role, coz your younger boss will feel threatened by you. So many remain underemployed, mostly on contract basis.

Edited by Voodooman

No need to be hostile. I was in a US company which was bought by a UK company.

It would be better not to play helpless victim and blame the "greed of the top" because the CEO is also an employee drawing a monthly wage.

US business system means that the more mentally able and talented are always looking for ways to better their superiors, even by going out and setting up their own rival company to compete and overcome and get IPO. I feel that is what all educated senior workers should be doing.

Unfortunately , ideally that should be the case, but in reality, if you ask around those in the US listed companies you will understand the situation. European companies have been people centered but I begin the see the same coming, inchcape is one that have gone through the change, there would be more to come.

The skills set are probably still there but not many $30-100k a month roles out there, so take a smaller role that comes with a much smaller pay cheque loh... Happens to so many people i know.

I don't think that is the full picture. And trying to blame "the system" or the employers.

If one is a supervisor or senior manager in the $100k+ bracket, one should be looking for ways to improve processes, search for new business leads and making oneself "redundant".

In this way, one actually is becoming larger than the role/job one is doing, and naturally would be moving on to better things.

If you ask deeper, and if those people you know are being honest, you will discover instances of complacency and coasting along with minimal effort. Perhaps even cases of being blind and ignoring the signals in the industry they are in.

I was told .. if u draw 20k or below no tax . Else at 50% tax .

And u need to withdraw all ur srs in 10 yrs.

U save the tax rebate but ur money stuck in there for the remaining yrs.

If those money cant earn good INT then its useless .

The 20k no tax is still better than 22% tax, and even the subsequent amount subjects to tax, the tax rate will be much lower than 22% , for those higher income brackets.

Unfortunately , ideally that should be the case, but in reality, if you ask around those in the US listed companies you will understand the situation. European companies have been people centered but I begin the see the same coming, inchcape is one that have gone through the change, there would be more to come.

Sorry not trying to argue, but it is not "ideally" but that way of working should be reality for all senior managers who are worth their salt.

If a senior manager middle manager is constantly improving processes such that customers are increasing and more satisfied, senior management will take notice. Or even better, it will be a business to start, own and grow. One can write own payslip in the future.

If we constantly blame the company culture, it is just an excuse not to do anything to improve one's own working life and career.

I don't think that is the full picture. And trying to blame "the system" or the employers.

If one is a supervisor or senior manager in the $100k+ bracket, one should be looking for ways to improve processes, search for new business leads and making oneself "redundant".

In this way, one actually is becoming larger than the role/job one is doing, and naturally would be moving on to better things.

If you ask deeper, and if those people you know are being honest, you will discover instances of complacency and coasting along with minimal effort. Perhaps even cases of being blind and ignoring the signals in the industry they are in.

That is also true but I have seen people who are very capable being sidelined. There are many reasons why people are chopped. Don't be naive to think otherwise.

Please reread my posts. I am not blaming anyone. It is the reality.

Edited by Voodooman

Sorry not trying to argue, but it is not "ideally" but that way of working should be reality for all senior managers who are worth their salt.

If a senior manager middle manager is constantly improving processes such that customers are increasing and more satisfied, senior management will take notice. Or even better, it will be a business to start, own and grow. One can write own payslip in the future.

If we constantly blame the company culture, it is just an excuse not to do anything to improve one's own working life and career.

Sure, it is not about arguing or debate, unfortunately, it is easier said than done, otherwise PMET problems would not be a discussion currently.

Bro, i am talking about $30-100k a month, not a year hor.

The 20k no tax is still better than 22% tax, and even the subsequent amount subjects to tax, the tax rate will be much lower than 22% , for those higher income brackets.

Tao kay ... those earning at 22% tax bracket , wont be worry abt such small amt ... that 15k likely become their holiday trip per pax already .

Waaa bro got job pay that amount to intro ? ð i cheap cheap half price

Very soon ... not sure they have opening or not .

ð

Have I take first, then introduce you.

Think you go M5 thread better chance. Those guys buy super cars like we change underwear. They talk about it so nonchalantly, no tinge of howlianness. No $100k a month, no talk lah

But really, $30-50k a month is very common these days.

Bro this one you post , example Pizza Hut after 1.30pm if got makan with chewren n friends below 55 oso discount applies to all on table ??

You bring your cha bor there lah...

post-167240-0-47902900-1558847306_thumb.jpg

Tao kay ... those earning at 22% tax bracket , wont be worry abt such small amt ... that 15k likely become their holiday trip per pax already . ð

Haha you are not wrong but actually these people have their tong kor also , of course mainly itchy backside, net is government should not be worried about them.

That is also true but I have seen people who are very capable being sidelined. There are many reasons why people are chopped. Don't be naive to think otherwise.

Please reread my posts. I am not blaming anyone. It is the reality.

I can only say that it is the outcomes achieved during the time when the high-paying job is held, and in the time after the redundancy/retrenchment that matters.

Most workers have a way to overstate their achievements. One can be highly paid due to market and industry conditions yet actually be underperforming and complacent throughout.

Sure, it is not about arguing or debate, unfortunately, it is easier said than done, otherwise PMET problems would not be a discussion currently.

Exactly my point: it is an individual, personal, embarrassing issue to be more aware of how skilled one really is when on competition footing with real world.

Each PMET facing those issues find it hard to express or recognise where it is personal issue, when is industry issue, when is systemic/structural issue. How many are honest and able to or willing to reflect so deeply and hurtfully?

Bro, i am talking about $30-100k a month, not a year hor.

Still a wage earner, nonetheless. Still under the command of someone calling the shots. (But there is a little exaggeration on your part because of hierarchy in companies, and the average/median wage of singapore last year was only $4200 pm)

The real question is: if they are in private ltd company, or MNC, what is keeping them from being their own boss ie. striking out on their own?

Have I take first, then introduce you.

Think you go M5 thread better chance. Those guys buy super cars like we change underwear. They talk about it so nonchalantly, no tinge of howlianness. No $100k a month, no talk lah

But really, $30-50k a month is very common these days.

No need to envy those job roles. Good times don't last long, and those roles also come with immense pressures and need to display achievements.

Some jobs paying such amounts are those partners in law firms, legal dept consultants in MNCs, medical specialists. But those involve decades of training and education prior to entry.

My gf working in private banking and the regional or country heads make those amounts monthly. They buy those show-off cars too but it really is an unspoken need to display achievement and pretend to have power and good taste. They will never admit the peaks and troughs of the salaries, as well as the high bills to pay to keep up with their peers.

Still a wage earner, nonetheless. Still under the command of someone calling the shots. (But there is a little exaggeration on your part because of hierarchy in companies, and the average/median wage of singapore last year was only $4200 pm)

The real question is: if they are in private ltd company, or MNC, what is keeping them from being their own boss ie. striking out on their own?

Strike out as in setting up a consultancy firm and calling oneself Managing Director or President? Lol....

The problem with people is they look at $4200pm median and are misled into thinking $10-15k a month is a lot and can buy big car and big condo (mostly via debt).

Singapore has one of the highest gini coefficient score in the world and surely the $4200 is not reflective of how much people at the top10% are earning. However you spin it, it is still a big number.