Shop Rental Queries! Need help

Sorry Loki, hijack ur thread a while, as I dunno and maybe cant create a new topic.

I need some advise from fellow bros & sis.

I recently have been negotiating a shop rental contract with NTUC, the whole process took about 2 months. Since the 1st submission of my proposal/ concept & floor plan from the designer, I have been asked to re submit more than 10 times regarding the store layout & design. Though the process is frustrating and tiring, I sucked it up.(Cause they are a BIG ORG)

The bombshell came few days ago, they rejected my application and proposal,reason being my trade in not in their consideration list. WTF.....

After almost 2 months of emailing to n fro, countless drawing from my designer($150 per piece),all I get is a short and simple answer.(We regret to inform you that your propose trade is not suitable for us) In the 1st place, why waste my time on this whole shit.

I would like to know which channel can I go to, to demand a better explanation. I really would like to tie all of them to a bowling pin & row over with a 18 pounder....shit....

Any input of ideas and advise will be deeply appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Sorry again to OT this thread.

Hmm.... Have u tried contacting their GM directly?

During the entire process, was the request each time made verbally or via email or? Any reason (s) given each time when they ask for resubmission? Or did you ask

why the previous one was not

acceptable?

You must be either very patient or eager to work with

them. If they do give u another similar reply again, you will have to learn from this

lesson to know exactly what they are looking for in their prospective tenants

before spending hard earned money chasing a wind or simply because the

person you have been dealing with deserves to be tied up to a bowling pin... and

he/she alone. If they told u several times that your application not likely to be approved and u insisted on being given a chance each time to resubmit, then you should be tied to a bowling pin too....er....kidding ya.

Jialat, I can just picture the person rolling down the bowling alley.....

Edited by PSP415

Sorry Loki, hijack ur thread a while, as I dunno and maybe cant create a new topic.

I recently have been negotiating a shop rental contract with NTUC, the whole process took about 2 months. Since the 1st submission of my proposal/ concept & floor plan from the designer, I have been asked to re submit more than 10 times regarding the store layout & design. Though the process is frustrating and tiring, I sucked it up.(Cause they are a BIG ORG)

The bombshell came few days ago, they rejected my application and proposal,reason being my trade in not in their consideration list. WTF.....

After almost 2 months of emailing to n fro, countless drawing from my designer($150 per piece),all I get is a short and simple answer.(We regret to inform you that your propose trade is not suitable for us) In the 1st place, why waste my time on this whole shit.

I would like to know which channel can I go to, to demand a better explanation. I really would like to tie all of them to a bowling pin & row over with a 18 pounder....shit....

Boss, what trade are you going to do????

I guess the best way is to drop a email back to the person who sent you and cc one of the big head inside NTUC.

I have help you shortlisted a few le.

http://www.linkedin.com/title/executive/at-ntuc/

All the best boss!

During the entire process, was the request each time made verbally or via email or? Any reason (s) given each time when they ask for resubmission? Or did you ask

acceptable?

them. If they do give u another similar reply again, you will have to learn from this

person you have been dealing with deserves to be tied up to a bowling pin... and

he/she alone. If they told u several times that your application not likely to be approved and u insisted on being given a chance each time to resubmit, then you should be tied to a bowling pin too....er....kidding ya.

I am pretty sure the people working there are going through motion one. When things was been questioned, they will taiji or come out with an exit plan.

<_< <_< <_<

acceptable?

I just counted, total of 32 emails.... During the process, they never reject nor accept, but ask me to resubmit the design (sort of to improve the concept and furnishings) so I took it as a high chance that they are considering...If not they would have told me to just give it up because my trade is not suitable for them. Come to think of it, I would tie them to trees and roll 5 ton tyres towards them instead of bowling balls. I just felt injustice and being make a fool out of it.

Boss, what trade are you going to do????

I guess the best way is to drop a email back to the person who sent you and cc one of the big head inside NTUC.

I have help you shortlisted a few le.

http://www.linkedin.com/title/executive/at-ntuc/

All the best boss!

I am pretty sure the people working there are going through motion one. When things was been questioned, they will taiji or come out with an exit plan.

<_< <_< <_<

Thanks bro for your link, inside all ceos...see liao also scared. Later they reply all the English I dun even understand. BTW, I in mobile phone repair trade.

Thanks RadX for starting this thread on my behalf.

cheers

I just counted, total of 32 emails.... During the process, they never reject nor accept, but ask me to resubmit the design (sort of to improve the concept and furnishings) so I took it as a high chance that they are considering...If not they would have told me to just give it up because my trade is not suitable for them. Come to think of it, I would tie them to trees and roll 5 ton tyres towards them instead of bowling balls. I just felt injustice and being make a fool out of it.

Thanks bro for your link, inside all ceos...see liao also scared. Later they reply all the English I dun even understand. BTW, I in mobile phone repair trade.

you are very graphic in the type of punishment suitable for them....I see 12 wheelers missing one or two tires liao.

In cases like these, you can make an appeal and that should go to the top management level. Best if can speak to the GM but before that, do you know who got the space you wanted to rent? Sometimes, they receive a counter offer of a higher rental and so conveniently file you away....but it's guesstimate so cannot be sure it's true.

Make an appeal but be prepared to be rejected. At most, they will remember not to waste people's time and money. Good luck and whatever titles, they won't bite or eat you. Be confident and speak to communicate, not impress.

Safe ride and wish you luck.

You must come out with a Cheapest, Betters, and Fasters idea ! Otherwise don’t need to waste time with NTUC. You should approach Capital Mall, as long as can pay OK, don’t need design and proposal lah.

I can only comment based on your description. To me if they keep asking you to re-submit the drawings that could most likely mean there's something wrong with it. Since NPNT I could only guess it has to do with safety regulations or something along that line. They won't tell you coz it would appear kelong if they tell you and not your competitors vying for the same spot. So they got to be fair, they won't tell anyone what's wrong. Even if you approach them I doubt they will tell you. So be prepared to be disappointed if you decide to meet them.

If I were you after the second try but still unsuccessful I will get another company to do the design floorplan and layout. It could be SCDF updated certain building regulation but the person you hired is not aware of it (just an example). My suggestion is to get a 2nd opinion on the drawing. Asking you to submit more dan 10 times is IMO they gave you a lot of chances to amend your drawing.

They won't be too obvious when rejecting your application so they give some lame excuse.

Thanks RadX for starting this thread on my behalf.

cheers

1. Was the location for tender or just walk in inquiry and they ask you to submit drawing?

2. Did you get any document in what trade they are looking for at that location?

3. Who are you dealing with all these while and his/her position?

4. How big is the unit? and mind to share what trade you are in?

1. Was the location for tender or just walk in inquiry and they ask you to submit drawing?

2. Did you get any document in what trade they are looking for at that location?

3. Who are you dealing with all these while and his/her position?

4. How big is the unit? and mind to share what trade you are in?

1. thru advertisement/commercial guru/taking over existing tenant

2. nope

3. would not like to disclose name publicly even I dun like them/I could only say person in charge

4. approx. 200sqft/ mobile phone on-site repair

I can only comment based on your description. To me if they keep asking you to re-submit the drawings that could most likely mean there's something wrong with it. Since NPNT I could only guess it has to do with safety regulations or something along that line. They won't tell you coz it would appear kelong if they tell you and not your competitors vying for the same spot. So they got to be fair, they won't tell anyone what's wrong. Even if you approach them I doubt they will tell you. So be prepared to be disappointed if you decide to meet them.

If I were you after the second try but still unsuccessful I will get another company to do the design floorplan and layout. It could be SCDF updated certain building regulation but the person you hired is not aware of it (just an example). My suggestion is to get a 2nd opinion on the drawing. Asking you to submit more dan 10 times is IMO they gave you a lot of chances to amend your drawing.

They won't be too obvious when rejecting your application so they give some lame excuse.

you r right, that's what I did, engaged another designer who got tons of experience in submitting layouts for shopping mall. In the end, I think the design we submit is so perfect that the excuse we got is( trade not accepted...)

I refused to believe hard work doesn't pay, but I have my doubts now...

its not NPNT, its NMNT...ESAD.

2. nope

3. would not like to disclose name publicly even I dun like them/I could only say person in charge

Not difficult to find a shop lot 200sqft at reasonable price in a good location isnt it ?

Dont tell me NTUC can rent it to you super cheap , otherwise I dont see a clear advantage to rent from them .

Not difficult to find a shop lot 200sqft at reasonable price in a good location isnt it ?

Dont tell me NTUC can rent it to you super cheap , otherwise I dont see a clear advantage to rent from them .

its the location that I want, dun really bother who the landlord is, just that it happens to be NTUC that's all. And there is no such thing as cheap rental nowadays.

2. nope

I was interested on the position of that person not his name.

The existing tenant also dealing with phone repair, etc?

If I were you, I won't bother to pay for a drawing for a 200 sqft unit. Using a simple software and sketch something simple and put in some description of the shop concept will do.

They won't give you reason for not awarding you the unit, there are also many reason why they give it to someone else. Unless you throw lots of money (rental) at them, it MAY stand a chance.

Edited by Jman888

Deh I thought you opening gua cha diam aka coffin shop [laugh]