Advice please: Windscreen cracked

Lotr

My windscreen was hit by a stone today and developed a "L-shaped" like crack of about 30cm. First such encounter in 13+ years of driving.

I intend to claim insurance as free windscreen replacement is covered.

Any bros with such experience can advise if there is any other/better alternatives? Like some kind of glass repair, etc.

Thanks in anticipation

My windscreen was hit by a stone today and developed a "L-shaped" like crack of about 30cm. First such encounter in 13+ years of driving.

Any bros with such experience can advise if there is any other/better alternatives? Like some kind of glass repair, etc.

Thanks in anticipation

Insurance cover n NCD not affected for windscreen replacement. Juz change it. I wun bother w any other alternatives.

Thanks in anticipation

Glass repair can only be done when the damage is very minute.

Mine at 10cm they already cant repair.

30cm is too long , just go for replacement. I have replaced mine 3 times in 9 years. Some insurance will need you to pay $100 + GST. Also you need to pay replacement for tinted film

Edited by Dafansu

Just replace, even with a fee of $100. Life is already so difficult, still worry on trivial things. Anyway, you can stick some clear tape from the inside, to prevent it from expanding if you can't afford the time to change yet. Meanwhile, inform your insurance company and authorized workshop to order a new piece, then go for replacement at your suitable time. Thats it, 1 less worry in your life!

Edited by Optramagnum

Had my windscreen replaced 3 weeks ago. A big pebble fell in love with it and caused a deep 3cm crack....but no worries as was informed that windscreen will not "smash" or disintegrate into pieces because it's double glazed or something like that.

Took 3-4 hours and covered under insurance so free replacement of brand new piece. 6 months warranty and so far, touch paper but no

stone, it's keeping well. Only thing is must go to authorised workshop but it's fine with me as they did a fine job.

Hope this helps.

Safe ride

My car kana stone hit windscreen yesterday, my insurance guy said can change in my carpark or office with shelter.

Hello

As far as my concern, You will not get any insurance replacement cover from company because they do not cover for windscreen, Once I met with an accident and I needed to towed my car to the repair garage then I only called some breakdown recovery and car recovery london services they changed it and told me that Insurance company does not pay for windscreen.........!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks

Windscreen replacement is part of insurance coverage, some may need u to pay some excess for replacement.

Which insurance company service with?

Hello

As far as my concern, You will not get any insurance replacement cover from company because they do not cover for windscreen, Once I met with an accident and I needed to towed my car to the repair garage then I only called some breakdown recovery and car recovery london services they changed it and told me that Insurance company does not pay for windscreen.........!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks

most if not all insurance companies will provide coverage for windscreen. I have replaced mine 3 times. 2 with the same company with $100 excess, one is free.

30cm too long liao,... better just to replace.

But even if you don't and you think you can live with it,.. then it's up to you.

Front windscreen double layer,... outside crack but inside still OK.

For some people, they have no cover, so they LL drive with crack screen.

If got tint,.. then they dun bother.

Best to check with your insurer,... some have to pay, some no need.

Those which can be repaired are those small chips or "flower" crack.

If yours no need pay,... just change. But if you got tint,.. sorry not covered. Just have to re-tint out of your own pocket.

Windscreen replacement is part of insurance coverage, some may need u to pay some excess for replacement.

Which insurance company service with?

most if not all insurance companies will provide coverage for windscreen. I have replaced mine 3 times. 2 with the same company with $100 excess, one is free.

I think u all r replying to this person that is not talking abt Spore insurer [dizzy]

Maybe he lives in Singapore but drives in London!

i never thought of having insurance that will cover the windscreen damages leh.

is it a add on? or included in some plans?