Saab cars

oolongcha1985

I think she just got her 93 cabriolet not long ago. Cause recently i saw a news article interview with her that she's changing her ride soon, and is interested in getting a cabrio because she sat in pornsak's cabrio and found cabrio very attractive. Haha, i didnt knew she was a Saab ambassador back then.

Yep she was a Saab ambassador many yrs back when the brand was really active here.

Hi Guys, dun always say saab good. Its getting more expensive n lesser in the used market liao. shhhhhh.

It is getting expensive but still worth it. I mean, typically the depreciation for a used 4-5yr old Saab 93 is about 12k now. It is also 12k for a used 1.6 Altis btw. It makes one wonder why would anyone buys an Altis for 12k depreciation when he can have a Saab for the same and a much better ride.

Gonna scrap my Saab 95 tomorrow, trade in for a end 07 Camry 2.4. Really sad to let it go as have upgraded parts close to 30K. COE expires in Sep this year but need to renew road tax in March, replace big disc rotor, mounting and engine timing chain which will costs another few K. Not worth it for the short term.

Saab, a fantastic experience.

Below are ppl who says about saab

1) parts not easily avaiable

2) Parts are very expensive as factory closed down.

3) young gen dun know saab. Only know Audi / BMW / Benz

4) face value. Must drive Audi / BMW / Benz to tell ppl u made it.

5) own 3 years of saab. 2 years in workshop.

6) old school look. Choi buz dun get into a saab.

7) ppl compares saab with Honda Accord n Toyota Camry.

8) No workshop in Singapore can repair saab.

9) Saab no resales value.

10) saab always breakdown.

11) parking a saab in workshop is more than parking at home.

12) Saab not powerful enough compare to VW.

13) Valet cannot find saab key inside the car.

14) Valet thought saab keyless entry when they cannot find key hole.

These are all the saab issues i heard from ppl till now. Pls add more for fun facts.

Edited by SGCMsmallcar

I thought the point about saabs were the light pressure turbos that made them accelerate very well in the past and their niche appeal.

But every other Conti brand is now using small turbos now right... Volvo/VW/BMW/Merc.

I thought the point about saabs were the light pressure turbos that made them accelerate very well in the past and their niche appeal.

But every other Conti brand is now using small turbos now right... Volvo/VW/BMW/Merc.

Yes. As proven turbo engine is the way to go. Saab have been using turbo engine for 60 years and the down fall is due to other makes came out with many type of engine CGI / Kompressor / Inline 6 / TSI and after 20 years still come back to turbo. Saab have proven its point now for not changing engine but cannot pull thru this cycle.

There's some ode to saab in one of the Top Gear episodes.

Haha they are somewhat mental in the way they do things...

saab is popular among hardcores in US. There are many after market tune available at cheap price. Once a remapped is done, light pressure turbo becomes high and all these is DIY within 10 minutes with a hand held.

we are talking about at least 60% gain and not 10-15hp whcih NA car struggles to achieve.

wait my saab fren wil come in complain abt a reputable tyre shop at paya ubi reject his business of changing bbk

and got to ask a few audio shops if they able to do a saab

and buy rims have to indent or go few places before getting compatible ones

but tat said, I guess saab owners pride themselves as niche and would love to stay this way...I guess

saab is popular among hardcores in US. There are many after market tune available at cheap price. Once a remapped is done, light pressure turbo becomes high and all these is DIY within 10 minutes with a hand held.

we are talking about at least 60% gain and not 10-15hp whcih NA car struggles to achieve.

Wow bro Ham,

what car u driving now? Still hardcore saab? Singapore market different lor. All dun DIY and all send to workshop to do it. Sad to say saab workshop more on maintenance services not mods.

wait my saab fren wil come in complain abt a reputable tyre shop at paya ubi reject his business of changing bbk

but tat said, I guess saab owners pride themselves as niche and would love to stay this way...I guess

saab owners are dare takers. Dare to be different.

agree def....the true blue saab lovers. lets leave out those who bought becos their depn is comparable to a jap car - these wil jus leave the brand for good sooner or later. :D

Wow bro Ham,

what car u driving now? Still hardcore saab? Singapore market different lor. All dun DIY and all send to workshop to do it. Sad to say saab workshop more on maintenance services not mods.

saab quite modable....

huh mod? I dun mod car la. Mine stock standard only. saab are old man's metal horse. hahahhahaa

You are too modest. Those that says that are those with the 'hidden talent'. :)

Wow bro Ham,

over here only 2 choice, 9-3 0r 9-5.... [laugh]

i chose the 9-33 for its fresher look but really, the rear leg space is pathetic imo.

But i want a Saab !!!!! and not live to regret when i look back in my driving days. [cool]

over here only 2 choice, 9-3 0r 9-5.... [laugh]

i chose the 9-33 for its fresher look but really, the rear leg space is pathetic imo.

But i want a Saab !!!!! and not live to regret when i look back in my driving days. [cool]

hahahaha. its ok. Human make mistakes at times. Never try never know. try already hari hari mou!

You are too modest. Those that says that are those with the 'hidden talent'. :)

prob Maptun Stg 7 [laugh]

ya lor. KNN Saab where got good ?

I'd like to say a big thank you to the Saab owners here and in the other thread, 'Used Saab - A Good Buy?' who have provided me with great feedback on the car, its frequently-encountered issues and maintenance options. I've actually been searching for a 9-3 Sportcombi since 2012; and finally took the plunge last Friday! It was really a tough call between the 9-3 Vector Sportcombi and an A4 Avant. But I went with my heart this time. The somewhat quirky yet sexy look of the Saab always appealed to me in some way and the power and performance of the Saab did not disappoint. From all the feedback posted, I am well-aware of the potential maintenance issues that may surface and have mentally prepared myself for that, although I do hope it will be minimal. Thankfully, the car came with a service history, with some major wear-and-tear stuff already sorted.

I guess right now the only thing I'll be hoping to sort out is the brakes. The car is one powerful beast but the brakes are somewhat lacking. Either that or I've truly been on Bremboes and BBKs for too long to suddenly go back to stock brakes! Ha! If anyone would be so kind as to point me to some options to get improved brakes, I'd be extremely grateful. Other than the brakes which require urgent attention, there are some other smaller issues:

1) My right-hand side mirror motor seems to be nearing the end of its life. It opens and closes as per normal, but the quirky thing is that after a minute or two, the motor will suddenly run for a short 20 seconds on its own, as if like a delayed reaction.

2) Although I'm going to have the car for only about a year and a half, I was hoping to do some minor improvements to the sound. From the way the panel is structured, I guess re-fitting an aftermarket HU would destroy that entire signature cockpit look somewhat. So I was thinking if there was perhaps a small way of improving the sound by changing front speakers and adding an amp and perhaps an active sub. Any recommendations for this are again, most welcome. [:)]

Once again, I'd like to say a big thanks to all the Saab pilots here for all their feedback, especially Acemundo. Its always nice to see a niche group of people who can appreciate a lesser-appreciated make of cars and go against the grain of following the typical trend of European car ownership!

Edited by Ronkovic