$1.80 Chicken Rice ?

Baal

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/03/30/dpm-teo-advertises-1-80-chicken-rice-in-his-grc/

DPM Teo advertises $1.80 chicken rice in his GRC

dmca_protected_sml_120n.pngPostDateIcon.png March 30th, 2014 | PostAuthorIcon.png Author: Editorial

A reader sent the following screenshot of DPM Teo’s Facebook post to TRE. DPM Teo was sharing a photo of chicken rice with netizens yesterday (29 Mar), with the following message:

lunch only $1.80 at Pasir Ris Blk 446

1911929_10202197312829089_922954299_o-64

The photo actually originated from Ng Cher Pheng (https://www.facebook.com/ng.cherpheng). He posted the photo on his own Facebook page and shared it with DPM Teo on Friday (28 Mar):

Capture16.jpg

Mr Ng posted it with the message: “Lunch only $1.80 @Blk446“. DPM Teo then added the words, “Pasir Ris” to make the message clearer when he re-posted Mr Ng’s photo on his own Facebook page.

Mr Ng turns out to be a grassroots leader for the Pasir Ris West Division [Link]. At the National Day Awards 2010, Mr Ng received the Public Service Star (BBM) as Chairman of Pasir Ris West Citizens’ Consultative Committee [Link].

According to the People’s Association website [Link]:

The Citizens’ Consultative Committees (CCCs) are at the apex of all grassroots organisations. A vital bridge between the people and the Government, the CCCs plan and lead major grassroots activities within the constituency, oversee local assistance programmes, and organise major fund-raising projects and national campaigns.

A further search on the internet reveals that Mr Ng was in fact a member of the Executive Committee of Singapore Insurance Employees’ Union (SIEU) [Link], which was sued by more than 100 of its members last year for failing to represent their interest:

SIEU is an entity affiliated with NTUC. A number of union members are currently suing their employer NTUC Income, another entity under NTUC (‘FCs take collective legal action against NTUC Income‘).

After DPM Teo posted the above photo on his Facebook page [Link], some netizens expressed doubt. One said:

MP not same ma we go sure $5 dollar confirm

DPM Teo tried to assure the netizens:

Come and try it for yourself, like Cher Pheng, our Pasir Ris resident who had his lunch there and posted this up.

When DPM Teo starts advertising $1.80 chicken rice in his constituency, the general election must be near. What do you think?

Meanwhile, a blogger has reported that the Tampines restaurant which sold nasi padang to MP Baey Yam Keng for an unbelievably cheap $2.50 has closed [Link] and will be replaced by the popular Al Salam Restaurant:

madina2_zps4e895cc8.jpg

madina1_zps41f4e7e8.jpg

Has MP Baey given Al Madina the kiss of death? What do you think?

What is this? Political chicken rice?

Jiak buay loh. LoL...

"What do you think?"

Unquote

post-18163-0-92659600-1396236499.gif

I really hope the stall is truly selling at $1.80 and not just for the grassroot leader/MP only on goodwill basis.

Otherwise, sure the stall cannot take the demands from the public.

So need to wear all white when ordering the 1.80 chicken rice?

I need to search for white pants if that the requirements

post-141044-0-28565800-1396236893.jpeg

Edited by frenchfly

Bluff wan lah. The chicken rice stall owner give special price to them.

If you see closer there are chicken innards added to the plate of chicken rice. Although there are sub $2 chicken rice out there but with added ingredient where got so cheap?

After the $2.50 nasi padang furore now got chicken rice furore.

Well, they are trying to prove this study is better than the one on expats...

Singapore may be the world's most expensive city for expatriates. But the cost of living for the average resident, which comprises Singaporeans and permanent residents, is much lower than many other global cities such as Hong Kong.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/s-pore-ranked-60th-among/1051700.html

So now chicken rice is only $1.80... whereby others are closing down due to high rental...

HK Jin Tian roasted pork closing down

Edited by Carnoob

DPM is saying you will not starve to death in SG. If hungry just go to that kopi tiam for meal at $2. $1.80 for chicken rice and possibly ice kosong at $0.20 (still have this? use to have when I was a kid).

You do not need million dollar salaries like his to survive. [sleeping] [sleeping] [sleeping]

$1.80 so what... give smaller portion can sell even cheaper loh... every shit in this country is rising and they try to hide the facts by posting this type of crap news...

it is not uncommon to find sub-$2 chicken rice in singapore, many place is selling.

correct. I take MRT...knn, sure got ppl say u take MRT???... <_< <_<

and ANANAS at the MRT stations, got $2 chicken rice, and nasi lemak. tmr i take peekture show u.

Anana JE station sell $1.50 :D

ANANAS, once you order outside of the "package" (even with less dish), is very expensive de.

Edited by Kangadrool

Anana JE station sell $1.50 :D

wah....steady! It makes sense though, they go by volumes and considering the ppl who go there, are the workers, and i am sure they rake in a hefty profit based on volume alone. Surely, $1.50 is real cheap. knn..hte coffee $1.. and the cheeken rice $1.50. Good on them. I fully sarpork!

Also, the anana is halal certified! They really know how to attract the masses. Gombak is $2.20, cos not so near the industrial sectors. Woodlands $2. Now $1.5 is the cheapes.

I wun be surprised if Joo Koon will start $1.20 soon...hahhaha

ANANAS, once you order outside of the "package" (even with less ingredients), is very expensive de.

yeah, they gotta rake in from other sources, tho. But they are pretty astute to leverage on volume in this case, and attract the crowds with this price. I see ah sohs, ahpeks, MILFs all buying...hahaha. All day

Order chicken rice @ $1.80 is cheap.... order another type of chicken (esp China and Tomyam) at $180 is expensive... [rolleyes][laugh]

i believe if you look hard can still find $18 ones [laugh][laugh]