Battlestar Galactica may have heard its last whoop

StreetFight3r

So fast revamp... means no point going there now till it's fully revamped.. thats the only reason why i go uss.. those who bought the season pass really suay..

post-141090-0-99957200-1396411341_thumb.jpg

BATTLESTAR Galactica, the star roller-coaster ride at Universal Studios Singapore (USS), may soon be history.

The outdoor attraction is said to be undergoing an overhaul, some nine months after it was shut down.

Sources said the theme park is looking to replace the sci-fi-themed ride, which is based on the hit television series Battlestar Galactica, with another movie theme.

The revamped ride is expected to get a new name, new interiors and a fresh coat of paint, among other proposed changes.

The new ride is slated to be launched by the end of this year.

In response to queries from MyPaper, Resorts World Sentosa, which manages USS, said that Battlestar is "unavailable as it undergoes an attraction review". It declined to elaborate.

Billed as the world's tallest pair of duelling roller coasters, dubbed Human and Cylon, the 90-second ride has sharp turns, vertical loops and can go as fast as 90kmh.

Sources told MyPaper that the ride is being overhauled because visitors "cannot relate to the current theme".

One of them said: "They (the visitors) don't even know it's called Battlestar Galactica. People know it only as the blue track and red track."

The latest suspension is unlike the previous closure in March 2010, when a seat had fallen off during a routine test. No one was hurt in the incident.

It reopened after nearly a year of investigations, redesign, reassembly and testing.

MyPaper understands that, this time round, Battlestar's closure was planned.

Singapore Polytechnic marketing and retail lecturer Amos Tan said that visitors, who were disappointed by the prolonged closure of the popular roller-coaster ride, may not want to return.

"If this particular ride always has problems, it will be good for them to change to something more relevant."

He added: "A theme is very, very important. Theme parks' (revenue) relies a great deal on merchandise...You would want a piece of Sesame Street, Toy Story, but Battlestar Galactica doesn't sound like something you take home."

Executive Jolene Koh, 25, who went to USS for the first time in January, said: "I was quite disappointed. It's supposed to be a highlight of USS. I think it hypes up the atmosphere with people on the roller coaster screaming in the background. It's less of a theme park without that."

Source: http://mypaper.sg/top-stories/battlestar-galactica-may-have-heard-its-last-whoop-20140402

Edited by StreetFight3r

Never watched the new BSG.

But I remember the old one very well.

And I've never been to Universal Studios. Legoland MY much more worth it.

Yah few months after i bought the annual pass they closed down, bascake!

Now they say ride no link to theme, i said that ride got prob one thats why they close. Thanks to the closure i hardly go uss now. Been months since my last visit and it expire this month

i took the blue line...Battlestar Galactica Human if i am not wrong.....90 second of fear! The one in Legoland is like a gamble....either live or die!

Well, every time I go USS the train track is always down. I suppose replacing it with something else that works sounds better.

The one in Legoland is like a gamble....either live or die!

It's true. I felt real fear there, considering:

- I am more than 100kg

- I am tall >6'3" so my head sticks out...a lot

- they almost couldn't lock me into the Project X car

- my family was along for the ride

- I remembered at the last moment that this was Malaysia, what safety??

For those reasons, while BSG may be thrilling, nothing induces fear like MY rollercoasters. [laugh]

Kangtao:

I bought the annual pass with express queue for my entire family of 4

cost me about $1000+.

but i went about there about 20 times during that year and each visit, my kid sat about 20 rides

end up each ride cost about less thanb $1

$300per pass /20days /20rides

kids can really sit the rides, buey sian one

damm value for marnie

only comprain was damm hot

Kangtao:

cost me about $1000+.

but i went about there about 20 times during that year and each visit, my kid sat about 20 rides

damm value for marnie

True i took express option as well, since i dont have kids, i put my young cousins.

Bring them there, take countless. I wonder not sian meh??! Now i never bring them, they also go in with their parent

Kangtao:

cost me about $1000+.

damm value for marnie

Me too. My kids usually go straight into the park to the Canopy Flyer ride - and they can go 10 or 12 times first, before moving to other rides. In a few hours, can take in more than 20 over rides. They also buay sian. I once went with them for 6 consecutive BattleStar Galactica rides - damn shiok.

- I am more than 100kg

For those reasons, while BSG may be thrilling, nothing induces fear like MY rollercoasters. [laugh]

I am 90kg height 6'2" and i also worry especially when i took the galactica the blue one. Cos my leg sticks out and they say above 6 feet should sit in centre row.

- I am more than 100kg

I am 90kg height 6'2" and i also worry especially when i took the galactica the blue one. Cos my leg sticks out and they say above 6 feet should sit in centre row.

True i took express option as well, since i dont have kids, i put my young cousins.

Bring them there, take countless. I wonder not sian meh??! Now i never bring them, they also go in with their parent

the express option $100, but is damm worth the marnie

my kids take the transformer ride like donno how many times liao [crazy]

i bought the parking free from 10am to 4pm monday to fri card

cannot remember what the name

but shiok

Me too. My kids usually go straight into the park to the Canopy Flyer ride - and they can go 10 or 12 times first, before moving to other rides. In a few hours, can take in more than 20 over rides. They also buay sian. I once went with them for 6 consecutive BattleStar Galactica rides - damn shiok.

i think most people go there one is tourist

usually they never buy express queue

usually, the express queue no people one

the very most is queue 3 persons only

that $1000 really dammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm worth it [crazy]

i bought the parking free from 10am to 4pm monday to fri card

cannot remember what the name

but shiok

[crazy]

RWS Invites. Not just free parking Mon-Fri from 10 am to 4 pm, but also flat rate of $6 for Sundays.

Edited by Loki