Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

Anyone tried Uber before?? Is it more expensive than taking taxi? or is there anyone interested to sign up and drive for them? lol

Published on Mar 25, 2014

Looks like a car, feels like a taxi

TECHNOLOGY company Uber has launched a private car service rivalling taxis in terms of pricing and fleet, but the authorities do not plan to regulate it for now.

Two weeks ago, the company - known for its mobile app which allows users to book high-end private limousines - launched a service called UberX.

UberX users can now book mid-range cars such as Mitsubishi Lancers and Toyota Corollas using the service.

These cars are driven by people who sign up with UberX to be drivers using their own cars, or rental vehicles. They do not need to possess taxi driver licences to do so.

This service follows the model rolled out in several cities globally, including New York, Los Angeles and London.

UberX's pricing in Singapore is similar to what local taxi companies charge.

UberX charges $3.50 as a base fare and a per-kilometre charge that works out to be about 28 cents per 400m.

This is similar to what ComfortDelGro's Hyundai Sonata and Hyundai i-40 taxis charge - $3.20 and $3.70, respectively, for the first kilometre or less.

SMRT charges $3.60 and $3.80 for its Chevrolet Epica and Toyota Prius, respectively.

Both taxi companies charge 22 cents for every 400m thereafter or less, up to 10km, and 22 cents for every 350m after that.

The introduction of UberX in Singapore comes as the taxi industry faces increased regulation and higher service standards.

But despite UberX's similarity to taxis, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) will not be regulating it for now.

In response to MyPaper queries, an LTA spokesman said that Uber is not a taxi company but rather a "technology company providing a matching service leveraging on technology".

"These are private-hire cars. Such cars, unlike taxis, do not ply for hire on any road. Neither do such cars take in passengers at taxi stands/stops," the spokesman said.

Mr Mike Brown, regional general manager for Uber in Southeast Asia, said the company is "fully compliant with the law in Singapore".

He said that UberX is "priced at a premium to a taxi and UberX does not accept street hails like a taxi".

To ensure passenger safety, the company conducts criminal background checks and inspects the driving licences of all drivers, before they can join.

UberX hires only Singapore citizens and permanent residents. All cars must be commercially registered and have commercial auto insurance.

Those who do not own cars rent vehicles through Uber.

A MyPaper check with seven UberX drivers found they were a mix of former lorry drivers and former taxi drivers.

One said he pays about $1,600 for the monthly vehicle rental, which works out to around $50 a day - half of what taxi drivers pay for their daily rental.

Uber takes 20 per cent of every UberX fare. But drivers said they still find it a good deal. With the lower rental, "it's better than driving a taxi because we can potentially earn more money with the same amount of work", said one driver, who declined to be named.

MY_20140325_DTUBER25_P_201940.jpg

Edited by Yamapi

Funny why this thread not popular in a automotive forum.

Uber is taking over the world over. I'm contemplating trying the service when I'm overseas. Or maybe become a Uber driver for side income.

if u wanna b uber driver then SG cannot support coz seems like garmen here doesnt allow private cars to be used as cabs thats y uber now has to provide taxi option.

"UberX hires only Singapore citizens and permanent residents. All cars must be commercially registered and have commercial auto insurance."

Yeh. I think the only way for private cars to do side jobs is to have the above mentioned.

Hate uber. I read about the dirty tricks they use against their competitors and am totally turned off.

Will never use them.

http://money.cnn.com/2014/08/11/technology/uber-fake-ride-requests-lyft/

http://www.engadget.com/2014/08/12/lyft-uber-cancelled-rides/

http://www.bizjournals.com/sanfrancisco/blog/2014/01/uber-technologies-gett.html

"UberX hires only Singapore citizens and permanent residents. All cars must be commercially registered and have commercial auto insurance."

Yeh. I think the only way for private cars to do side jobs is to have the above mentioned.

many cities which uber operates in has legal suits against it. to me uber is a good service but way overvalued n too much such that they have to pay pple to use it like ubertaxi free rides... getting desperate liao

wat i heard is that grabtaxi also subsidizes taxi drivers... wats the pt of raising investor funds to pay pple to use it? how to make $? lol

Edited by Duckduck

many cities which uber operates in has legal suits against it. to me uber is a good service but way overvalued n too much such that they have to pay pple to use it like ubertaxi free rides... getting desperate liao

wat i heard is that grabtaxi also subsidizes taxi drivers... wats the pt of raising investor funds to pay pple to use it? how to make $? lol

They pay you to use it now to fight for market share. Once they eliminate the competitors, they will make you pay.

Yup. Giving free rides and all are just promotional drive. Instead of paying for advertisement on TV, might as well give free rides so more ppl will download the app and use it? And at the same time, give referral benefits, which results even more users.

How can like that?

CEO face sibei kl.

can book a bentley in SG leh. About $80 for a 20min ride

P1140288.JPG

Is the driver using his boss's car to sideline while boss not around? Not rental, no petrol, no insurance so all $50 straight into his pocket? Not bad.....

Anyone here is Uber driver? Mind to share how to using a private car as a taxi?

I understand need to register with ACRA n convert vehicle to commercial insurance n register under company name. Any implications?

Is the driver using his boss's car to sideline while boss not around? Not rental, no petrol, no insurance so all $50 straight into his pocket? Not bad.....

dunno. if he is then better not get caught, cos this kinda news gets around fast [laugh][laugh]

When u want to partner with Uber, u need to submit all the documents required by them. They will screen whether u have any

criminal records. U have 2 options is either to register your car under commercial license insurance or rent a car from rental co which Uber will recommend u. After which they will schedule a time to go for an interview. Once all is done Uber will issue u a phone to act as gps and app.

Perhaps I do not understand this Uber. Looks like some kind of pirate taxi equivalent to me? If it is, no insurance coverage?

All drivers and cars need to be covered under commercial insurance coverage before uber allow u to be on the road.