Is it worth it to change to a older car with higher OMV?

Carfreakz

Hi all,

need your views!

is it worth it to change to a older car with a higher OMV.

my current is 2007, with a omv of 23K.

after coe finish estimate $ back is about 14-15K including body, now i gt dealer offer which aft bank outstanding i still hv 10K, based on 15K aft coe ends, every yr is abt 1.6K more

so if i buy a 2006 car with omv abt 40-45K, is it worth it to change?

thanks

I dont really understand the logic? Driving a 2007 car but change to a 2006 car? But 2006 car only left about 2 years only le?!

Higher OMV car likely higher cc = higher road tax, petrol consumption, maintenance and insurance.

You don't know the condition of the 2006 car (already 8 years old), and may end up spending the "savings" on hefty repair bills.

It's your call, but I would stick with your existing 2007 car.

Edited by Vinceng

I dont really understand the logic? Driving a 2007 car but change to a 2006 car? But 2006 car only left about 2 years only le?!

Well bro, my idea is based on the current measures, after coe ends, i will hv abt 15K back, wif 15K, i need to top up at least another 15-20K to buy another used car, if i change to a car wif high omv, i only need to top up only abt 10K, based on a 45K omv...so.....

if exisitng car no problem, woon woon jiak bee hoon, why kar zhng itchy change it?

Not as if the car with higher OMV is selling at lelong price right?

It's LPPL lah.

Well bro, my idea is based on the current measures, after coe ends, i will hv abt 15K back, wif 15K, i need to top up at least another 15-20K to buy another used car, if i change to a car wif high omv, i only need to top up only abt 10K, based on a 45K omv...so.....

If you can share what's yr current car model and the models you are looking at, we can probably make a better comparison.

thanks everyone!

the direction is clearer nw....current car serve me well, 2L pure NA power...

hopefully by 2016-2017...restriction is removed...COE drop til 30-40K i more than happy liao

Higher OMV car likely higher cc = higher road tax, petrol consumption, maintenance and insurance.

You don't know the condition of the 2006 car (already 8 years old), and may end up spending the "savings" on hefty repair bills.

It's your call, but I would stick with your existing 2007 car.

This is the biggest concern for 2nd hand cars. Since TS have 3yrs left & if car has no issues, best not to rock the boat.

If you can share what's yr current car model and the models you are looking at, we can probably make a better comparison.

My guess, 2007 20k+ OMV. CIVIC 2.0L?

2006 $40-45k OMV, BMW. 320i?

My guess, 2007 20k+ OMV. CIVIC 2.0L?

2006 $40-45k OMV, BMW. 320i?

Hi bro,

is a euroR, and yes u r right, is a beemer, but 323

I still think unless you are changing to a newer car, maybe like after 2009 onwards car. If not might as well continue driving the current car?!

Edited by 13177

Hi bro,

How much dealer offering you?

I might up the dealer's offer for your Euro R.

Hi bro,

06 = 8yo beemer... [sweatdrop]

I would encourage u to enjoy ur ride if its problem free other than fair wear & tear issues. Unless u need to upgrade swop to a 7-8 seater due to family obligations.

don't snatch leh.... i about to say the same haha

My car balance 14 months, scrap now $21k, scrap at end $18k.

Cheap then can buy.

Gov tell us not to anyhow spent money.

Edited by Vhtfhwlego