More used-car dealers sour over lemon law

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/transport/story/more-used-car-dealers-sour-over-lemon-law-20140502

More used-car dealers are crying foul over a law meant to protect consumers, claiming that some are abusing it to demand the replacement of vehicle parts worn down by age.

Just six months after the lemon law was implemented in September 2012, complaints on defective goods in the motorcar industry jumped fivefold to 98 cases, compared to just 19 cases six months earlier, said the Consumers Association of Singapore (Case).

It has since handled 302 complaints linked to the motorcar industry under the lemon law, which compels businesses to repair or replace a product found to be defective within six months.

Edited by pChou

the 2 dealers seems happy. what's the problem?

becoz used car dealers are very honest angels and they are a poor helpless victim of lies by customers?

must ask @throttle2 to see which watch the guy wearing ... then we can know what kind of dealer is he :D

The problem is what are considered a wear and tear items and what are not? This has to be spelled out clearly and in very detailed manner. Kind of difficult but not impossible. After a few rounds of iterations, I think a complete list is possible.

I personally experience 1 case. My rim comes with a wheel cap in the middle. The caps became blurred from delamination of clear coating after 2 yrs. Mine is 3 years warranty from authorization distributor. When I highlighted the issue to the distributor, I was told this is not covered by warranty because it is affected by the hot and cold weather of Singapore. Win liao lor.... LLST.

how come no news reported consumer sour about used car dealer post as "owner" and also the insult of intelligence post owner's 5/6/7 car go to pasar and gym only

Actually the lemon law covers within 6 months right? It's hard to accept if the part worn out just days / weeks after purchase, but at the same time also not fair for dealer if you have driven 5months+ and it's really wear and tear.

Maybe a fairer way is to cover 1st 10k km, or 1st 3 months, whichever comes first. If really got defects, will have manifested within this period alrdy.

best is bring the car to your trusted workshop to do 100% check, replace all suspected breakdown items before taking over the car

if in total > $5k 50-50 or 40-60 cost sharing with the dealer

anything $1k-$1.5k ask the dealer to stomach it ... the profit margin is at least close to $10k ...

Actually the lemon law covers within 6 months right? It's hard to accept if the part worn out just days / weeks after purchase, but at the same time also not fair for dealer if you have driven 5months+ and it's really wear and tear.

Maybe a fairer way is to cover 1st 10k km, or 1st 3 months, whichever comes first. If really got defects, will have manifested within this period alrdy.

best is bring the car to your trusted workshop to do 100% check, replace all suspected breakdown items before taking over the car

anything $1k-$1.5k ask the dealer to stomach it ... the profit margin is at least close to $10k ...

those stealers dun even bother to do their proper checks when they buy a car from the seller. most of the time they fix the price then onli take a cursory look b4 taking over. if they dun bother doing their own due diligence, they absorb the risk lor.

Not all the used car dealers let you bring to the workshop to check. I asked before 1 of the dealers, and even offered to pay the evaluation costs but they would not allow. Some of those that has STA or VICOM evaluated even worse, these kind confirm will not let you bring out to other workshop one.

understand. let's be honest ...

i believe we all know that used car ... 8/10 would have problems. that's why they are used car.

the remaining 2 good cars ... really depends on luck

hence, don't expect problem free used car and dealer should also bear the responsibility.

only know how to make $10k profit but immediately kiss goodbye when owner drive the car out ...

have heard countless stories that while buying the car ... dealer answer your call and sms like lightning speed

after drive the car out ... your number went into bar/ignore list

Not all the used car dealers let you bring to the workshop to check. I asked before 1 of the dealers, and even offered to pay the evaluation costs but they would not allow. Some of those that has STA or VICOM evaluated even worse, these kind confirm will not let you bring out to other workshop one.

must ask @throttle2 to see which watch the guy wearing ... then we can know what kind of dealer is he :D

buy from market type or real one har?

that one must ask the general liao [sly]

I so agree with this.

i had problems when i first took my car from the dealer as well.

found several problems, but the dealer only willing to fix those that was reported 3 days after taking the keys.

beyond that, they refused to even entertain my calls.

ended up calling my own workshop to fix the car up to a road worthy condition.

the problem with the lemon law is this, there is no clear definition of what is considered wear and tear.

what drivinghazard suggest seems to be more fair.

I really wouldn't mind the shorter warranty period if the lemon law can be exercised for " 1st 10k km, or 1st 3 months, whichever comes first. If really got defects, will have manifested within this period " clause.

many a times, report to case, case will only try to talk to the dealer to fix the problems reported.

nothing concrete. given that i buy a car with only 2 years shelf life, if i have to spent like 6 months to ding-dong to get the problems fixed, and go thru all that hassels, the lemon law is as good as dun have for people like me who rather spend a little money to fix everything rather than go thru all that time-wasting hassle that may or may not end up in a amicable resolution.

call it the "sway" factor that is added to the cost of buying the car.

[smash]

but for the dealer to cry foul when the lemon law is exercised, i would go like WTF?!?

put you in my shoes, you will not exercise the lemon law? esp if the repairs for defective goods bought is big ticket?!?

If the dealer refuse you to test drive and bring the car to independent 3rd party checks, then walk off from the deal.

I had bought 2 used car already. In both cases, I told the dealer upfront that I need to test drive and I want independent 3rd checks of my choice. If they are ok, then I choose the car I like. So far, both used cars that I bought from different dealer are ok with my request.

This is part and parcel of a used car trade business right? What is there to cry foul? Otherwise how to justify their profit margin (i.e. buying at paper value, selling at depreciation)?

you are right. money is in your pocket. see who blink first ... seller or buyer.

walk away when you feel not comfortable with the deal.