Car with the highest bhp : price ratio

Hey guys.

When making a car purchase decision, I believe in doing research online first before heading down to do the test drive. So specs on paper will determine what goes into my shortlist.

I realise that sgcarmart shows the bhp for used cars.

Problem is, I do not know which models to start off with.

I'm looking more at semi-luxury used cars. Like Camry, C-class kinda range.

Which are the models with high bhp : price ratio

Please advise.

post-37174-0-98159900-1399425439_thumb.png

I think you can immediately strike off those NA models liao if highest bhp: price ratio is your top priority.

Hey guys.

When making a car purchase decision, I believe in doing research online first before heading down to do the test drive. So specs on paper will determine what goes into my shortlist.

Please advise.

attachicon.gifUntitled-1.png

You can use the used car comparison feature http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/usedcars_compare.php

Anyway, I think the Euro-R will suit your requirements :D

post-68169-0-86196100-1399426212_thumb.png

Hey guys.

Please advise.

Kinda weird question since bhp doesn't change over time (at least not on paper) but price drops as car gets older. So for a given car, the bhp to price ratio increases the car gets older. The 2 cars you cited are not known for their for their power in the first place. So based on the examples you gave you may want to look for the oldest Golf GTI you can find. I don't consider Civic Type R/WRX Sti/Evolution to be semi-luxury.

See this Golf GTI, $35k with 197hp.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=375961&DL=2008

Edited by Kar_lover

Kinda weird question since bhp doesn't change over time (at least not on paper) but price drops as car gets older. So for a given car, the bhp to price ratio increases the car gets older. The 2 cars you cited are not known for their for their power in the first place. So based on the examples you gave you may want to look for the oldest Golf GTI you can find. I don't consider Civic Type R/WRX Sti/Evolution to be semi-luxury.

See this Golf GTI, $35k with 197hp.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=375961&DL=2008

I reckon what TS wants to compare is ride with the same year.

So golf gti 07 vs FN2R 07 or camery 09 vs accord 09 for example.

Camry, C-class... look at bhp for what?

This is the first time I think you make sense [laugh]

Hey guys.

Please advise.

You buy car based on model or BHP?

Camry, C-class and are standard BHP, new or old.

You know what is BHP or horsepower right?

Kinda weird question since bhp doesn't change over time (at least not on paper) but price drops as car gets older.

*On paper*, yes. But it's a well known fact that the output of an engine falls generally falls as it gets older. If he's buying a used car for the "butt feel" of the bhp/torque rather than just useless figures on paper, then the newer he buys, the better. Alternatively, he should get whatever car he's serious about buying dyno-ed at his own cost with the dealer's consent.

Ppl who know about cars won't look at bhp. That's more of top speed when it comes to bhp.

If you are looking at power you have to look at the Torque the engine generates at which rpm.

From normal street driving most of the usable torque at 3-4k rpm is enough. Unless you are planning to bring the car to track dan you look at bhp where you can fully stretch it out.

Do not just look at power too. Look at the power to weight ratio and 0-100km/hr timing. If you are looking for a fast car these are the figures to look at.

Ppl who know about cars won't look at bhp. That's more of top speed when it comes to bhp.

If you are looking at power you have to look at the Torque the engine generates at which rpm.

From normal street driving most of the usable torque at 3-4k rpm is enough. Unless you are planning to bring the car to track dan you look at bhp where you can fully stretch it out.

Do not just look at power too. Look at the power to weight ratio and 0-100km/hr timing. If you are looking for a fast car these are the figures to look at.

Agree with everything you say with one caveat: even on the track, you may not be able to "use" your bhp to the fullest. Top speed is more influenced by power output, while acceleration is more influenced by torque. It is true that between two cars with the same weight, coefficient of drag and gearing, the car with the higher bhp will have a higher theoretical top speed.

However, two factors will likely prevent this from ever being achieved on a real-life racetrack.

The first is electronic speed limiting. Let's take the E92 BMW M3, a car I've driven a few times around Sepang. It has a theoretical top speed of just over 300km/h. But it's electronically limited to 250km/h. Of course, that can be removed with a quick ECU reflash.

So let's move on to the second factor: length of straight. In a quarter mile track, there is no way for any modern fast car or supercar to reach its top speed. The BMW M3 traps at about 175 to 180km/h. So that's no go. Let's take Sepang, which has two nice long straights separated by a hairpin. The longest straight is a little shy of 1km. From what I recall, an M3 will reach speeds of over 200km/h here, but not much more. Certainly no more than 220km/h. The only way to Vmax out a fast car is to get an actual disused runway, which is what the car shows generally do. Of course, our Lim Chu Kang 40 tiang straight (which doubles as a fighter jet runway) also qualifies, but that would be illegal and dangerous because of other traffic.

So all things considered, unless you're driving the Autobahn balls to the wall, one should look at torque as what really makes a car enjoyable. Not only does it make road driving more "shiok" with overtaking-on-demand ability, it also helps accelerate cars out of corners quicker, which improves lap times in tighter circuits. On circuits with long straights (including Sepang), bhp also becomes important, but one should also remember that the top speed of the car will never be achieved even on a racetrack (EDIT: except banked oval tracks, which I initially forgot about).

Agree with everything you say with one caveat: even on the track, you may not be able to "use" your bhp to the fullest. Top speed is more influenced by power output, while acceleration is more influenced by torque. It is true that between two cars with the same weight, coefficient of drag and gearing, the car with the higher bhp will have a higher theoretical top speed.

However, two factors will likely prevent this from ever being achieved on a real-life racetrack.

The first is electronic speed limiting. Let's take the E92 BMW M3, a car I've driven a few times around Sepang. It has a theoretical top speed of just over 300km/h. But it's electronically limited to 250km/h. Of course, that can be removed with a quick ECU reflash.

So let's move on to the second factor: length of straight. In a quarter mile track, there is no way for any modern fast car or supercar to reach its top speed. The BMW M3 traps at about 175 to 180km/h. So that's no go. Let's take Sepang, which has two nice long straights separated by a hairpin. The longest straight is a little shy of 1km. From what I recall, an M3 will reach speeds of over 200km/h here, but not much more. Certainly no more than 220km/h. The only way to Vmax out a fast car is to get an actual disused runway, which is what the car shows generally do. Of course, our Lim Chu Kang 40 tiang straight (which doubles as a fighter jet runway) also qualifies, but that would be illegal and dangerous because of other traffic.

So all things considered, unless you're driving the Autobahn balls to the wall, one should look at torque as what really makes a car enjoyable. Not only does it make road driving more "shiok" with overtaking-on-demand ability, it also helps accelerate cars out of corners quicker, which improves lap times in tighter circuits. On circuits with long straights (including Sepang), bhp also becomes important, but one should also remember that the top speed of the car will never be achieved even on a racetrack (EDIT: except banked oval tracks, which I initially forgot about).

well written, both of you !

I always remind my tunner, whatever the case please increase my torque and hack care my bhp. I am an addict on pickup speed.

anyway on sepang the max I ever hit is 180-190km/hr on the straight. The max I ever seen is about 235km/hr (and I am talking about supercars).

Personally, speeds in excess of 220km/h are achievable in Malaysia... And I'm not even driving a so called "fast car"

Even with relatively a fast-accelerating vehicle (1000cc sportbike), I am nowhere near top speed at the end of either of sepang's straights. Hell, I'm not even in top gear.

The rare occasions where you might get a chance to top-out or even get close to topping-out will be on the nsh if you're lucky enough to get a clear run over a considerable distance.

Personally, speeds in excess of 220km/h are achievable in Malaysia... And I'm not even driving a so called "fast car"

bro wrong frequency lah. we are talking about sepang.

yes NSHY you got guts 300km/hr also can. btw I have the guts but no $$$ to buy a ride that can hit 300km/hr.

Hey guys.

Please advise.

value for money yes, but if you factor in the insurance it is not longer good value.

i have a friend who is trying to sell his evo 9 2006 model . price ok but insurance is similar to a year depreciation . young driver