SGD 40K Birthday Party At 27

Picnic06-Biante15

Wah lauuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu ................. :o

I don't mind $4k party for my birthday and I want to be a Blogger also ... :ph34r:

Yahoo news: Extravagant or not? Singapore blogger’s S$40,000 birthday bash sparks online debate

A Singapore blogger has come under fire for her upcoming birthday bash costing upwards of $40,000 – none of which she is paying for.

c0fd1520-e6fe-11e3-8da8-934da8886211_630

Sara Shantelle Lim was quoted in a press release stating that she will celebrating her 27th birthday on Friday this week with “the biggest ‘Candylicious Neon’ themed party in Singapore” and has received over $40,000-in-kind sponsorships for the private bash.

Lim blogs at The SG Sisters, a blog she started with her elder sister, Lora Christelle Lim. The blog claims to be “the first and only Luxury Blog in Singapore.”

Singapore tabloid The New Paper, first reported that Lim has a bevy of alcohol and beer sponsors including Jim Beam, Auchentoshan, Pinnacle Vodka, Courvoisier, and Brewerkz.

Among other things, flowers, candy buffet, and a three-tier birthday cake for the party will all be sponsored. Three diamond rings have also been sponsored, to been given away to the “Best Dressed” partygoers.

The party will be held at exclusive night spot, Club Altimate at 1-Altitude, where the venue rental is said to cost $20,000 for the night.

For entertainment, Lim said that her friend, Singaporean model-DJ Nicole Chen, will be spinning at the party. Lim also reportedly name-dropped her friend Kim Lim, the daughter of Singapore billionaire Peter Lim, who recently bought Spanish football club Valencia.

Lim reportedly stated that while most of the sponsors are “mainly her close friends, who wants [sic] to throw Sara an amazing birthday party”, other sponsors “believe that she can help them to promote their brand well on her luxury blog” or want to “tap into her strong network of contacts”.

News of the blogger’s lavish celebration has sparked online debate, with some calling it an “obscene amount of extravagance”.

Facebook user Greg Tan commented, “40k is some people’s annual pay...but others can just spend it in 1 night.”

Another user, Eleanor Quek, wrote, “What a waste of money on one big party. I know I will not be supporting those brands anymore. Bad advertising decision.”

Others have commended Lim’s shrewdness in having a sponsored birthday party. Facebook user Johnny Laxman said, “don’t have to feel sore and condemn her for it. At least she’s smart enough to get others to sponsor her instead of using her own money”.

Sponsorship is not a new concept to bloggers in Singapore.

One of the most prominent bloggers in Singapore, Wendy Cheng, or better known as Xiaxue, had sponsors for her wedding and home renovations. The blogger and her husband reportedly spent $80,000 on their home renovations, excluding the sponsorships that are estimated to be worth $100,000.

c0f35120-e6fe-11e3-b9b9-3d64413485d2_630

Tonight lets go and boggey, free flow of drinks ... [smash]

You are invited meh ?? [:/]

Whoa free flow of drinks? I will watch the ladies drink.

Paging ah mok to go afterparty piak piak.

I take the chio wans. You take the fat wans. The piaking will be louder for those ladies.

its not her fault for the expensive party.

its those corporate sponsors who wants to throw money like that.

I see there are some people condemn her for spending away 40k for the night. They use reason like "some people only earn 40k a year".

But it's not as if she's using their money. it's her own money or the sponsor's money. If they think she will suffer the reprecussions later let her be.

She can't be worst than those who lost 40k at the gambling table in a single night right?

Read the article.... dunno how crap like this can be news. Nor have any idea how those brands can even think they will be looked at in a positive way because of this. Betcha the writer is a char bor.

You guys at New Paper REALLY want to run a story? Sure, go ahead, do this and on the next page, run another story on how the kids of the poorest in SG celebrate THEIR birthdays. Then do a reflective piece. Articles like this just does nothing but contribute to the entitled/materialistic mentality their very own big big bosses KPKB about.

Rich ppl's game :(

With this kind of news out, what are we telling our younger generations? Just spend and spent, easy money come, easy go (away)...

Our young ppl will just led astray by this kind of lifestyle, party and drink and waste money.

Where are the teachings on prudent spendings, savings, etc?

Anyway, this is her lifestyle.

However, most important, will tell my kids that most important is family gathering over his/her birthday.

A simple meal of meesua + egg will be good enough, for this contains love from us as parents to them :)

People may call me green eyed monster..

but $40k worth of sponsorship.. if i'm her.. i'll rather tell the sponsors to probably turn these into cold hard cash for the starving..

too much spotlights shining also not good..

The in thing now to hao lian is not:

穷的只剩下钱

but

瘦得只剩下胸

The really creative netizens followed up with....

射的只剩下精

吃的只剩下屎

People may call me green eyed monster..

but $40k worth of sponsorship.. if i'm her.. i'll rather tell the sponsors to probably turn these into cold hard cash for the starving..

too much spotlights shining also not good..

well 40k of sponsorship doesnt equal to 40k cash. might be even less than half ... i think booking the venue alone was $20k ... and obviously the venue will just take into consideration how much they could collect on that night ...

aiya its TNP after all ... stopped reading that crap a long time ago ... too much bs and sensationalism ...