25th anniversary of tian an men square massacre

Vega

how time flies................so sad..........

but see what happen..............life goes on as usual................those went under the tanks also gone as usual...........

Today marks the 25th anniversary of this very sad event in man kind. Wonder how many here still remember this event 25 years ago?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJBnHMpHGRY

do you know every year of this particular day, the internet police will be out on full force in China - deleting anything that is june 4th related... even things like may 35th are also deleted. the irony was.....the shanghai stock exchange dropped 64.89 points in 2012 on June 4th. Even the word shanghai stock exchange was added into the filters

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/06/05/world/asia/anniversary-of-tiananmen-crackdown-echos-through-shanghai-market.html?_r=0

classic example of a government with too much power. Absolute power corrupts absolutely.

the 2nd amendment of the US prevents this from ever happening.

Today marks the 25th anniversary of this very sad event in man kind. Wonder how many here still remember this event 25 years ago?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJBnHMpHGRY

will always remember it cos I was stationed in ROC during that period...

It was a Sunday.. and very emotional in the whole country. All kind of aggressive statements from the Taiwanese politicians.. saying they will send army in... etc etc...

All the various camps were on standby , ready to evacuate within 24-48 hrs notice.

do you know every year of this particular day, the internet police will be out on full force in China - deleting anything that is june 4th related... even things like may 35th are also deleted. the irony was.....the shanghai stock exchange dropped 64.89 points in 2012 on June 4th. Even the word shanghai stock exchange was added into the filters

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/06/05/world/asia/anniversary-of-tiananmen-crackdown-echos-through-shanghai-market.html?_r=0

yup. I read about this before. But what surprise me was, when I was in Beijing some years ago, I ask my Beijing friends about this event and they told me no such thing happened before. [lipsrsealed]

And they complain about the japs having amnesia over WW2 [lipsrsealed] Anyway, maybe they just don't want to discuss it with an outsider. It's a taboo topic in PRC, and even merely discussing it would bring someone under suspicion and maybe even draw the attention of their secret police.

But to me, the sad thing about tiananmen 4 june was that if only the activists were patient for just couple more years, they would've seen the country opening up and liberalising.

Perhaps not to the full extent that they wanted, but at least enough to pacify them and better than nothing.

Edited by Sosaria

All these sacrifices for the bunch of brats and criminals that makes the rest of the world detest China. If only they knew...

And they complain about the japs having amnesia over WW2 [lipsrsealed] Anyway, maybe they just don't want to discuss it with an outsider. It's a taboo topic in PRC, and even merely discussing it would bring someone under suspicion and maybe even draw the attention of their secret police.

But to me, the sad thing about tiananmen 4 june was that if only the activists were patient for just couple more years, they would've seen the country opening up and liberalising.

Perhaps not to the full extent that they wanted, but at least enough to pacify them and better than nothing.

a lot of them are university students. They have all fire but no wisdom.

Look at the uni students occupying the Taiwan parliament.

Anyone with some experience would have told them that the Chinese govt will step down hard past a certain line.

Unrest especially in the capital is revolt. The emperor or the ruling party will never ever allow this to break up their country.

even when zhao zhiyang passed away, it was all hushed up. He was even denied burial in the babaoshan which is the final resting place for all commie elders

yes. I can sense they are not willing to talk. so I didn't probe further.

a lot of them are university students. They have all fire but no wisdom.

Look at the uni students occupying the Taiwan parliament.

Anyone with some experience would have told them that the Chinese govt will step down hard past a certain line.

Unrest especially in the capital is revolt. The emperor or the ruling party will never ever allow this to break up their country.

actually, the students managed to persuade the first wave of soldiers to leave the square and not to open fire on the protesters.

classic example of a government with too much power. Absolute power corrupts absolutely.

the 2nd amendment of the US prevents this from ever happening.

thats y here in SG we pay our ministars super high pay so that no corruption............................................................. LOL

Only the top are paid so much hor. Then the people under the ministers become green-eye that their superior are so rich and they themselves have to do all the sai kang. Sibeh buay song and they become corrupted [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Vid

yes. I can sense they are not willing to talk. so I didn't probe further.

actually, the students managed to persuade the first wave of soldiers to leave the square and not to open fire on the protesters.

yes i watched the documentary before.

It was widespread in beijing but before the unrest can spread to other major cities, they took a hardcore stance.

I mean this is a party that came into power after an ardous Long March and more than a decade of fighting KMT forces and stayed in power after the purges of the Cultural revolution.

in this world, almost every government had history of killings, either domestically, or internationally...and normally they'll call it colleteral damages.....when push comes to shove, i wouldn't bet USA govt won't do the same....

Was 2 yrs old then, so don't remember.

The sad thing is the cover up really. China hid a lot of things about the incident, and unless a big change comes, we will never know about them.