Office Rage: You witnessed it before?

Pocus

Some of the footage where people cracked and turn berserk in office.

Have any of you encounter similar office rage at your office/career? Where colleagues suddenly turned emotional or violent and smashing things or beating up people?

I was pretty lucky the worst I've encountered is a senior staff screaming his lungs off the director and walking out of her office slamming her door. The next thing that happened is the security coming up to escort him out of the office. He was not even allow to pack his desk and we had to help him pack and pass his stuff to him outside.

This senior of mine was actually a nice person and a great worker, he did have temper issues but nothing he can't control....until now. He just suddenly snapped and we were all shocked when he screamed inside. Apparently it was partly caused by his family issues, as well as some pressures from the bosses.

Edited by Pocus

I was pretty lucky the worst I've encountered is a senior staff screaming his lungs off the director and walking out of her office slamming her door. The next thing that happened is the security coming up to escort him out of the office. He was not even allow to pack his desk and we had to help him pack and pass his stuff to him outside.

This senior of mine was actually a nice person and a great worker, he did have temper issues but nothing he can't control....until now. He just suddenly snapped and we were all shocked when he screamed inside. Apparently it was partly caused by his family issues, as well as some pressures from the bosses.

I liked the one who went berserk for a while, smashed stuff while her colleague behind just did her work and another colleague came along and spoke to the other colleague like nothing was happening. Then the berserker went back to work. =X

Haven't been working very long, so no berserk stories, but during NS days, I had a few ke siao people in my unit. One stole an OCT's 11B and used it to borrow money from ah long with another buddy, the other was posted over to my unit for starting a fire in his area of operation with intention to damage his machinery.

Still got one more, kinda famous case, was caught by police for serious crime outside. Can't believe we bunked together overnight..

@hydrocarbon you want to bring NS siao lang into this thread my side also a lot of stories liao....lol

Edited by Pocus

the office rage I encounter the most was in my very first job. The senior director behave like a RSM. using vulgarities scolding those not performing to his expectation and this type of screaming and shouting can be seen almost every day in the office.

@hydrocarbon you want to bring NS siao lang into this thread my side also a lot of stories liao....lol

Haha! Share lah! I want to hear too.. Supposed to be working, but no motivation.. Want to watch WC but not the countries I supporting.. =X

My boss is a jerk, whenever he got stress out will find someone to de stress. My Thai colleague just exploded the other day when he got pump and tender his resignation, the b**tard got scared and finding ways to retain him now

Actually, it's pretty normal behaviour lah. It's like road rage, you had a bad day, something trigger your frustration, then it snaps! Work in office body very still, but the mind is active, if kenna stress and rage, body will naturally react to release the tension.

That's why they say excercise regularly to keep the stress down. And sex or pcc also helps.

Some of the footage where people cracked and turn berserk in office.

Have any of you encounter similar office rage at your office/career? Where colleagues suddenly turned emotional or violent and smashing things or beating up people?

Wa lao, the part where someone throw paper aeroplane to this guy constantly makes him feel irritated and throw monitor ( very fierce ). If I were him, I will also get very irritated , lucky no more using classic CRT monitor, use laptop, throw laptop very heart pain..

So far in my 27 years of working I have only witnessed a case or 2 of women colleagues sqaubbling over minor matters in work. Had to shout at them "SHADDUP lah!!"

Having worked in a shipyard before. Office rage is like the norm.

1) Colleagues scolding n shouting at each other, every vulgar word also come out and I picked up a few. [grin]

2) Two warring groups gona clash, with big spanners, metal pipes n watever they can get their hands on. [dead] And I was one of those standing in the middle trying to calm both parties. [sweatdrop]

In my current office, not yet seen any rage going on. Lots of quiet in front, stab u deep deep behind. :ph34r:

So far in my 27 years of working I have only witnessed a case or 2 of women colleagues sqaubbling over minor matters in work. Had to shout at them "SHADDUP lah!!"

looks like you are the one breaking down [laugh][laugh]

The cause for most of the rages in the video is the printer. Get the printer to work properly, and we reduce a significant number of these rages.

The other major cause is the CRT monitor. Good thing we now use LCD, so things are better with those CRT related cases.

The best is we go back to pens, pencil and papers.

I liked the one who went berserk for a while, smashed stuff while her colleague behind just did her work and another colleague came along and spoke to the other colleague like nothing was happening. Then the berserker went back to work. =X

Haven't been working very long, so no berserk stories, but during NS days, I had a few ke siao people in my unit. One stole an OCT's 11B and used it to borrow money from ah long with another buddy, the other was posted over to my unit for starting a fire in his area of operation with intention to damage his machinery.

Still got one more, kinda famous case, was caught by police for serious crime outside. Can't believe we bunked together overnight..

Singapore got a lot of siao lang if you pay attention good enough.

It is a matter of whether some of these "siao lang" are/were under medication and/or been to IMH. The rest are just somewhere out there.

And there are different levels of "siao lang".

it all goes down to stress mgmt...

if u think things are not going your way... best is to go for a smoke/kopi break at the same time talk cock with colleagues or surf MCF...

work is never smooth sailing, if everyday running normal, then y need to employ someone to work?

if u think u going to break out, think of family and the things u wanna provide them, im sure u will think twice before throwing the CRT mon :)

Actually, I'm surprised this senior staff of yours was escorted out of office straightaway. What regulation did he breach? For sure he is rude to speak to senior management that way, but it is no crime and neither is it a breach of employment terms to be rude.

A person deemed disrespectful to his superiors will get sidelined, but does not warrant being sacked, IMHO. Unless maybe private company, SME have different rules and less protection for the employees.

Actually what will happen if some of you from the office come and back up this senior staff?? All kena escorted out [laugh]

I've seen such blow-up happen at a meeting around a conference table too. The senior management being shouted at - one of those obtuse types who was 'parachuted' from outside the industry - just called the shouter out for private conversation. I think the shouter apologised, but some time later, no surprise, resigned from the company.

For me, I think even if unhappy with someone senior, no point having it out in a confrontation. It's like the old saying: durian and cucumber fight; how to win? Just bide time and look out for another job to do - let the present work slack and act stupid lorrr... Once you've made up your mind that it's bad management and you wish to go, no point working hard at the present job already.

'cos many are "silenced" either voluntarily, out of no choice, to play safe, to align with culture/norm, etc....

Yeah, no surprise that most who snapped are "quiet" types; I mean those who by nature are "extroverts" but became "introverts" due to some reasons.....

It's not easy to be vocal here 'cos if you say something, you may be ridiculed and other people cannot accept different POV, differences, etc....

Singapore got a lot of siao lang if you pay attention good enough.

It is a matter of whether some of these "siao lang" are/were under medication and/or been to IMH. The rest are just somewhere out there.

And there are different levels of "siao lang".

Edited by Kangadrool