Hundreds of dead fish removed from Pandan reservoir

Tianmo

wah............7th month take fish first...............so many fish mati and PUB say water boh daiji............. [:(] [:(]

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/environment/story/hundreds-dead-fish-removed-pandan-reservoir-water-quality-unaffecte

Hundreds of dead fish removed from Pandan reservoir; water quality unaffected
PUBLISHED ON JUL 28, 2014 8:11 AM
5 125 0 0PRINTEMAIL
pandanr2807e.jpg
The fishing and viewing deck at Pandan Reservoir. Hundreds of dead fish have been removed from Pandan Reservoir over the past few days by the authorities, and the clean-up was still ongoing yesterday afternoon. -- PHOTO: PUB

BY FENG ZENGKUN ENVIRONMENT CORRESPONDENT

Hundreds of dead fish have been removed from Pandan Reservoir over the past few days by the authorities, and the clean-up was still ongoing yesterday afternoon.

National water agency PUB told The Straits Times that it had found low levels of dissolved oxygen in the reservoir water, which likely led to the deaths.

"This could be caused by a combination of factors such as dry weather, algae growth and decomposing organic matter taking up the dissolved oxygen," said a spokesman.

Tests on water samples showed the reservoir's water quality was not affected, but PUB said it would monitor the situation.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/environment/story/hundreds-dead-fish-removed-pandan-reservoir-water-quality-unaffecte#sthash.9bkzNII3.dpuf

Ok, time for mp to drink reservoir water on national tv...hehehe...

yup.............they can have the water boil first also can................ [laugh] [laugh]

maybe sudden drop in oxygen level in the reservoir?

Extract from an article

"Sudden, large fish kills in ponds are often the result of

fish suffocation caused by nightime oxygen depletion
in the summer. Fish kills from oxygen depletion
usually occur in the early morning hours (at dawn) in
very rich (green water) ponds following: (1) the die-off
of a large algae bloom, (2) the decay of water weeds
after treatment with a herbicide, (3) the turnover of
oxygen-poor bottom waters following a thunderstorm,
(4) the runoff of livestock waste and other organics
after a heavy rain."
Edited by Xefera

usually is the change in eco system inside those areas, a lot people dump their pet fishes there when they dun wanna keep it.

most of it are predators fishes that feed on the smaller fishes, which in turns feeds on the algaes and other water plants.......

my guess is eutrophication.

Err the only E word closest I know is erection.... u lost me there....

Think must be some Bro long weekend go there erection then go there put out fire....

What the Fish....

Err the only E word closest I know is erection.... u lost me there....

Think must be some Bro long weekend go there erection then go there put out fire....

What the Fish....

too much nutrient cause the plant/algae to huat big time then fishy die from lack of oxygen lor

my guess is eutrophication.

got layman term or not ah............ big big words ..........I BTC very hard to comprehend leh........... [laugh] [laugh]

Please! if Happily1986 use layman terms, confirm it's someone else who hacked into his account and post.

Going to pair ris with a lorry now!!! [laugh]

you dare to eat the fishes that died of unnatural death meh????

wait you up the lorry also leh.... :o:o

Thats where @radx comes in and play his part to help @mustank.... [sly]

:D:D

DHL boxes standby :D:D

Hahahaha.......

must do it nicely and grand hor.........death by fishes.... [:p][:p]

Go and sell lah

Where got ownself eat

[picture: evil laugh from Mr B cat with a big cocck ]: hahahahabaha!!!!!