Buying minibus for personal use e.g Merc Viano

Little_prince

hi guys.

i thinking of getting a minibus like the mercedes viano for personal use.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=416831&DL=1364

i know that you need a company to register. i can do that.

but apart from there are there any pros and cons i should be aware of?

eg.

- maintenence cost

- road tax

- insurance

- etc

anyone else doing the same can give comments?

inside-mercedes1.jpg

Mercedes-Benz_Viano_Kompakt_CDI_3.0_V6_A

hi guys.

eg.

- maintenence cost

- road tax

- insurance

- etc

inside-mercedes1.jpg

nice....I saw 1 a few days ago..on private plate.. SKL series.

I think it is nice... very nice instead..

maintenance coast - should be typical MB standard, approx. 800 per visit

road tax - should be 3000*.40 for diesel per year

petrol about 2.5K and up..

hope this helps

Edited by Keithchue

nice....I saw 1 a few days ago..on private plate.. SKL series.

I think it is nice... very nice instead..

maintenance coast - should be typical MB standard, approx. 800 per visit

road tax - should be 3000*.40 for diesel per year

petrol about 2.5K and up..

hope this helps

tks man!

- recalled 1 bro mentioned before, sole proprietor, no need audit. Pte Ltd will need.

hi guys.

eg.

- maintenence cost

- road tax

- insurance

- etc

hi guys.

eg.

- maintenence cost

- road tax

- insurance

- etc

Like the others mentioned, might need vocational license depending on how you register it. My uncle drives one and another disadvantage is cannot enter some MSCP. Sometimes he sends us to town area but got to park elsewhere as the bus can't enter the carpark. Even normal HDB carparks not all can enter.

hi guys.

eg.

- maintenence cost

- road tax

- insurance

- etc

inside-mercedes1.jpg

can collect money from people when driving to town [lipsealed]

best is buy toyota brand one

mercs brand one, the parts more expensive

but hey mercs one looks really good!

the toyota one not as look good

I also saw one on a private plate SKE...

Yalor, I saw a few before, all private "S" plates. So register it under your own name shouldn't be a problem lah

can collect money from people when driving to town [lipsealed]

best is buy toyota brand one

mercs brand one, the parts more expensive

but hey mercs one looks really good!

the toyota one not as look good

Toyota you mean the Hiace minibus type with a high roof? That one has its engine below the driver seat and drives like a van.

Viano has the engine in front, and drives more like a MPV.

Yalor, I saw a few before, all private "S" plates. So register it under your own name shouldn't be a problem lah

Toyota you mean the Hiace minibus type with a high roof? That one has its engine below the driver seat and drives like a van.

Totally agree

Buy under PA plate u only can buy the extra long version. HDB carpark $185 per month but no guarantee will sell u the lot as HDB considered it under heavy vehicle. Insurance should be around 3.5 k and u are not allowed to park in HDB mscp as the vehicle is over 2 tons.

No worries about servicing or repair as there are few 3rd party workshop who can do it cheaper and better then C&C with no need to leave the vehicle in the workshop for few days.

For private plate the road tax per year is $2238 but u only can buy the long version but HDB car park is the same as normal car. The new V class will be launching soon to replace the Viano so now C&C have special offer to offload the Viano for private plate registration.

But I think the Hiace can sit more people and I feel it is still quite comfortable inside. For the passengers I felt not much of a difference.

@little_prince I think PC plate need vocational license to drive the van leh..........but pte plate is alot more costly.........a very very good people carrier............ [thumbsup][thumbsup] .....................

isit? need vocational license? as in taxi vocational?

i thought wanna do a bang bus in sg also so difficult