High platelet count reached dangerous level

Fibo

I was diagnosed my blood has high platelet count five years ago and the condition has evolved to life-threatening level.

High platelet makes the blood thick which can result in stroke or heart attack. My Bone marrow keeps producing excessive platelet. I have been on aspirin last five years for diluting the blood but there is no significant help. There is no medication can control bone marrow in platelet production (in reducing it).

Normal platelet count is 150-450. My reading was 580 five years ago and risen to current 1001 last week.

I have been seeing a Hematologist in SGH last five years, blood test on quarterly basis, one aspirin a day. i am told my condition is very rare. I am 53 y/o. my blood pressure and cholestrol level are normal. No diabetics.

I know i have to look for alternatives and more opinions. i went to chong hwa toa payoh last night but there is no specialist there knows how to treat my condition. I was prescribed some medications and had 30-mins of acupuncture.

i am looking for some real experience in treating high platelet count problem. my life is in danger. Please help to recommend / share anything you know including specialist / medication recommendation. I will be very grateful of it. THANK YOU.

Edited by Fibo

I was diagnosed my blood has high platelet count five years ago and the condition has evolved to life-threatening level.

High platelet makes the blood thick which can result in stroke or heart attack. My Bone marrow keeps producing excessive platelet. I have been on aspirin last five years for diluting the blood but there is no significant help. There is no medication can control bone marrow in platelet production (in reducing it).

Normal platelet count is 150-450. My reading was 580 five years ago and risen to current 1001 last week.

I have been seeing a Hematologist in SGH last five years, blood test on quarterly basis, one aspirin a day. i am told my condition is very rare. I am 53 y/o. my blood pressure and cholestrol level are normal. No diabetics.

I know i have to look for alternatives and more opinions. i went to chong hwa toa payoh last night but there is no specialist there knows how to treat my condition. I was prescribed some medications and had 30-mins of acupuncture.

i am looking for some real experience in treating high platelet count problem. my life is in danger. Please help to recommend / share anything you know including specialist / medication recommendation. I will be very grateful of it. THANK YOU.

my father kena already

he take fish oil

wanted to suggest some rubbish joking ideas but decided not to

Sorry to hear that and unfortunately I've got no advice to pass to you but I wish you a speedy recovery and hope you are restored to good health soon!

Take good care!!

high platelets...does it mean your immune system very strong?

platelets is for blood clogging = thick blood, difficult to flow.

white blood cell is for immune system.

That's my limited biology knowledge.

Want to intro him to RadX right?

not lah, i wanted to suggest:

1) intensive pcc [grin]

2) intensive blood donation (i mean so much blood, surely needed somewhere one) [grin]

i tot Radx deal with xrays??? can see thru one????

u need me to see thru whose teh teh...to see if silicone? [scholar]

if western way dun work, try the TCM way.

aspirin is not the only blood thinners around.

Gingkok is known to help as well.

but given the seriousness of your condition, better seek the medical experts.

SGH has a TCM branch. maybe you can get your regular doctor to refer you? that way, you can keep your subsidy, and still be able to seek help at the same time.

the cheaper alternative is to go for those Tzu Chi TCM clinics.
there is one at Seng Kang Polyclinic. be prepared to queue though.

SGH has a TCM branch. maybe you can get your regular doctor to refer you? that way, you can keep your subsidy, and still be able to seek help at the same time.

there is one at Seng Kang Polyclinic. be prepared to queue though.

Ahgong, what is Gingkok? Ann Kok I know. [laugh]

U meant Ginkgo rite?

Ahgong, what is Gingkok? Ann Kok I know. [laugh]

U meant Ginkgo rite?

fat fingers on a small keyboard. [laugh]

looks like i really need that phablet liow [laugh]

there is one at Seng Kang Polyclinic. be prepared to que

I go to SGH every 3 months. Its TCM has closed for months.

I am seeing a 'very knowledgable surgeon/specialist' (recommended by friend) next monday to seek his opinion.

I will consider any suggestions for doctor/physician and medication. THANK YOU you guys!

anyway to TS, are you on blood thinning drugs???

one aspirin a day in last five years.

Looks like either aspirin has no effect in my body, or my bone marrow simply produce so much as quick that aspirin is unable to thin it on time. I will research on some of the medication suggested here and try some of them.

i appreciate many valuable pointers from you guys. THANK YOU!

Daily aspirin 'cuts bowel and stomach cancer deaths'
By Smitha MundasadHealth reporter, BBC News
_76746262_c0203329-aspirin_tablets,_artwAspirin seems to offer most protection against cancers of the digestive system

Taking aspirin every day can reduce the chance of developing or dying from bowel and stomach cancers, a review of all available evidence suggests.

And scientists predict if everyone aged 50 and above in the UK took the drug for 10 years, some 122,000 deaths could be prevented over two decades.

But they warn aspirin can cause internal bleeding and say medical advice must be sought before using it.

The Queen Mary University of London report is in the Annals of Oncology.

Continue reading the main story

Start Quote

Taking aspirin daily looks to be the most important thing we can do to reduce cancer after stopping smoking and reducing obesity”

Prof Jack CuzikQueen Mary University of London

Weighing up benefits

Scientists examined some 200 studies investigating the benefits and harms of taking aspirin - an area of continuing medical debate.

They found the drug reduced the number of cases and deaths from bowel, stomach and oesophageal cancer by some 30-40%.

There was weaker and more variable evidence that the drug reduced deaths from breast, prostate and lung cancer too.

And the study found people needed to take the drug for at least five years to see any benefits.

Prof Jack Cuzick, at Queen Mary University of London, who led the research, urged all healthy people aged 50 and above to consider taking a small dose (75mg) of the drug every day for a decade.

Researchers predicted if 1,000 individuals aged 60 took the drug for 10 years, a further decade later there would be:

• 16 fewer deaths from cancer
  • One fewer death from heart attack
  • Two extra deaths from bleeding

Prof Cuzick, who has been taking aspirin for four years, said: "Whilst there are some serious side-effects that can't be ignored, taking aspirin daily looks to be the most important thing we can do to reduce cancer after stopping smoking and reducing obesity, and will probably be much easier to implement."

Professor Jack Cuzick: ''The benefits substantially outweigh any side-effects''

Individual risks

They found benefits continued even when people stopped taking the drug, but say it is unclear exactly how long people should use it for.

As the risk of internal bleeding rises as an individual gets older, they suggest a cut-off point of 10 years.

There is still uncertainty whether other doses of the drug could offer more protection.

_76757632_m6300379-aspirin_tablets-spl.jThe benefits of aspirin must be weighed against individual risks, experts warn

Aspirin's well known possible side-effects include bleeding in the stomach and the brain.

And while the study suggests 122,000 lives could be saved if everyone in the UK aged 50-64 took the drug, this is balanced against the estimated 18,000 deaths from side-effects.

Experts warn anyone at high risk of bleeding, including people with blood disorders who take blood thinning medication, or are frequent smokers or drinkers, are more likely to suffer these side-effects.

They recommend anyone considering daily medication should speak to their doctors to discuss individual risks.

Dr Julie Sharp, at Cancer Research UK, said: "Aspirin is showing promise in preventing certain types of cancer, but it's vital that we balance this with the complications it can cause.

"Before aspirin can be recommended for cancer prevention, some important questions need to be answered and tests need to be developed to predict who is likely to have side-effects."

Exactly how aspirin protects against cancer is unknown. Scientists suggest it may reduce inflammation or act on blood cells that would otherwise encourage the spread of the disease.

my father kena already

he take fish oil

wanted to suggest some rubbish joking ideas but decided not to

hi, can you share with me how much did fish oil help your father in combating platelet problem?

1. what was his platelet count when he was first diagnosed?

2. what was the treatment and how long before he switched to fish oil?

3. how did fish oil help, e.g control the platelet or reducing it?

4. what is his platelet count now?

5. any other precious info. you can share?

I will be grateful your time and effort. THANK YOU.

Edited by Fibo