Think I'm caught on camera pick up passenger at taxi stand?

alphard96

Dear Sifus,

kindly help,

afraid was caught picking up my daughter just 45 min ago (around 1810hrs) at Tanah Merah MRT

2 taxis there waiting, stop behind the second taxi to pick up my daughter who is already waiting

LTA officer nearby taking camera photos (seems like taking photos of the taxi and my car)

Did not block any vehicles for that few seconds and did not cross over the bus lane earlier (confirm dotted bus lane when I filtered from 2nd lane to left most lane)

Have I committed any offence?

If offence, can I appeal that I am not aware not supposed to use taxi stand to pick up anyone (sincerely don't know or perhaps did not pay attention to my highway code yrs ago).

search this forum, no clues.

additional questions - how abt bus stop? can drop off (if no bus lane)?

Oh no, really?

could not find the offence details/demerit points from onemotoring/LTA website.

not parking at taxi stand, not waiting, just stop to pick up

I don't think you will get a summon. You didn't block anyone, didn't park there also. You just pick-up and go....

If really got a summon, you could say your daughter was already standing (at the pavement spot) behind the second taxi...so for her safety you had to stop there to pick her up.

Which side? The pick up point for the west bound direction is about 50 metres further down from the taxi stand.

The east bound direction pick up point if I remember correctly is at the taxi stand.

Very sad. In this county, wanna buy car so difficult. Wanna pick up kids also so difficult. Really want to see all the Sg parents struggle with their baby strollers, carrying big backpack of diapers and baby necessities in public transportation, then they happy?

Apparently so.

For TS, wait if you get any letter lor. It depends on the nature of the taxi stand also, whether it is a pick up spot or not. But I think there is a good case for you, because you literally only stopped a few seconds to pick up and weren't obstructing anyone.

Oh no, really?

could not find the offence details/demerit points from onemotoring/LTA website.

not parking at taxi stand, not waiting, just stop to pick up

Dont worry first. If really kenna summon and demerit points, write in and appeal (be apologetic in the appeal letter).

If its first offence sure give chance de.

Maybe the Officer need to ensure only certain number of taxi is allow in the taxi bay. Normally taxi stands would put allow 2 taxi only.

Dear Sifus,

kindly help,

afraid was caught picking up my daughter just 45 min ago (around 1810hrs) at Tanah Merah MRT

2 taxis there waiting, stop behind the second taxi to pick up my daughter who is already waiting

LTA officer nearby taking camera photos (seems like taking photos of the taxi and my car)

Did not block any vehicles for that few seconds and did not cross over the bus lane earlier (confirm dotted bus lane when I filtered from 2nd lane to left most lane)

Have I committed any offence?

If offence, can I appeal that I am not aware not supposed to use taxi stand to pick up anyone (sincerely don't know or perhaps did not pay attention to my highway code yrs ago).

search this forum, no clues.

additional questions - how abt bus stop? can drop off (if no bus lane)?

Hope LTA officer will be lenient and not so chek ark ba, even most summon aunty also will pang chance give 5-10min grace. Lets hope our society will be gracious enough.

Yes....it is an offence to stop at Taxi Stand,most MRT station got pick-up bay,why don't use them.??

Mrt got pick up bay? I only see taxi stand and bus stop, so most of times i drop or pick up people from taxi stand

Hope LTA officer will be lenient and not so chek ark ba, even most summon aunty also will pang chance give 5-10min grace. Lets hope our society will be gracious enough.

I ever park at lane with camera no parking in pasir panjang area in the indian restaurant there, then get down then went to sit down for makan, then the indian boss come to me said got cam, i shocked sia cos last time dun have, no wonder no one park along that stretch anymore lol

Last year I too pickup my maid and daughter at Yishun MRT taxi stand on the 3 lane as the taxi lane was jammed with taxi, LTA abang took picture, I drove up to him to clarify that I did not park at all, pick and go.

He insist that I should queue behind almost 10taxis to pick up my passenger and not on the outer lane, if taxi not moving I should continue to queue, does not make sense, tulan I told him I will write in to appeal and drove off. The summon did not come.

Already mention got LTA officer taking pictures with a camera. He can't be sightseeing bah?

Not necessary take pic means take TS car..... could be for other purposes.

Last year I too pickup my maid and daughter at Yishun MRT taxi stand on the 3 lane as the taxi lane was jammed with taxi, LTA abang took picture, I drove up to him to clarify that I did not park at all, pick and go.

He insist that I should queue behind almost 10taxis to pick up my passenger and not on the outer lane, if taxi not moving I should continue to queue, does not make sense, tulan I told him I will write in to appeal and drove off. The summon did not come.

Yes, not necessary snap pic means sure kena summon. My OC was in other situation too and she asked the officer to "give chance". He said he must "do his job" and told her to submit an appeal if receive the letter. Then he rode off! The summon did not come.

But of course, there were situations too when my car was snapped and I received the summon also lah... [smallcry]

All MRT stns have pick-up bay?

Try picking up someone at Paya Lebar MRT at the road near The Sing Post Centre.

There is no signage saying where is the pick-up bay.

The whole road is so congested, there is no way to wait at the road side.

I ended up parking at the Sing Post Centre , walk out and meet the person!

Getting into the SP carpark is also a problem.

The joys of driving!

It's not that I want to criticize our local transport system and those policy makers!! Please spare a thoughts for those big families with infants and old aged parents before you implement the policy!

As what one of the bro mentioned, if sg buses and mrt are packed with stroller and electronic wheelchair (for old ppl who have difficulty walking ) , our public transport is going to paralyze for sure!!