Singapore Flyer sold

Keithchue

I din know CNA peepur read MCF oso...see the key words!!!

SINGAPORE - Mainboard-listed tourism company Straco Corporation has agreed to buy the troubled Singapore Flyer for $140 million in cash.

The acquisition "represents an expansion of the group's core tourism related business," Straco told the Singapore Exchange on Thursday.

The Flyer, which cost $240 million to build, came under the spotlight in May last year when the company behind the now six-year-old attraction was placed in receivership.

It was later put up for sale, with advertisements appearing in major newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal in the United States.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/business/companies/story/straco-corp-inks-deal-buy-singapore-flyer-140-million-20140828#xtor=CS1-10

hmm..maybe @throttle2 is the CEO

Surprised that Japan is the cheapest among all...

Singapore Flyer - sgd$29.70 (after 10% discount if book online) http://www.singaporeflyer.com/unique-experiences/

London Eye - £29.5(sgd$61) http://www.londoneye.com/TicketsAndPrices/Tickets/Default.aspx

High Roller Las Vegas - US$$24.95 (sgd$31) https://www.caesars.com/thelinq/high-roller.html#.U_8PzPmSySo

Star of NanChang, China - RMB70 (sgd$14.2) http://nczx.txjly.com/

Melbourne Star - aud$32 (sgd$37) http://www.melbournestar.com/book.html

Diamond and Flower Ferris Wheel, Tokyo, Japan - 700Yen (sgd$7) http://www.senyo.co.jp/kasai/fee.html

BTW how much do the other 'flyers' charge?? London eye etc....

Edited by Berncsp76

No washing basin?

Don't touch that door knob!

Still can touch lah....use a tissue paper or wear glove loh...

Why need tissue paper, gloves? Are you using the mid air cabin as you 阳台 to 共游巫山 with your 小眉妹??

Some people enjoy being in tight quarters mah. [laugh]

LOL, why not station a chio 'safety' officer in the cabin? Maybe many will buy ticket just to learn more about mid air safety!!!

I din know CNA peepur read MCF oso...see the key words!!!

SINGAPORE - Mainboard-listed tourism company Straco Corporation has agreed to buy the troubled Singapore Flyer for $140 million in cash.

The acquisition "represents an expansion of the group's core tourism related business," Straco told the Singapore Exchange on Thursday.

The Flyer, which cost $240 million to build, came under the spotlight in May last year when the company behind the now six-year-old attraction was placed in receivership.

It was later put up for sale, with advertisements appearing in major newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal in the United States.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/business/companies/story/straco-corp-inks-deal-buy-singapore-flyer-140-million-20140828#xtor=CS1-10

hmm..maybe @throttle2 is the CEO

CEO is mostly employed one ok. He the owner lah. Next picture will be him pointing at the flyer with his watch [cool]

When the news that Zouk is finding a new home, my immediate thoughts is "hell, why can't they move to Singapore Flyer?"

The VIP area will be the capsules.. Bring girls go up and "havoc" for 45 mins.. :wub:[bounce2]

You are spot on. The zouk owner did considered moving to the Flyer.

Surprised that Japan is the cheapest among all...

Singapore Flyer - sgd$29.70 (after 10% discount if book online) http://www.singaporeflyer.com/unique-experiences/

London Eye - £29.5(sgd$61) http://www.londoneye.com/TicketsAndPrices/Tickets/Default.aspx

High Roller Las Vegas - US$$24.95 (sgd$31) https://www.caesars.com/thelinq/high-roller.html#.U_8PzPmSySo

Star of NanChang, China - RMB70 (sgd$14.2) http://nczx.txjly.com/

Melbourne Star - aud$32 (sgd$37) http://www.melbournestar.com/book.html

Diamond and Flower Ferris Wheel, Tokyo, Japan - 700Yen (sgd$7) http://www.senyo.co.jp/kasai/fee.html

Went on this ferris wheel in Odaiba, Japan:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daikanransha

Can't remember exactly how much it cost for family of four, but definitely wasn't too expensive or overpriced. Best still, no need to stand in long queue.

Those people who really know the history of Singapore Flyer would say, it's a forceful take over.

Flyer itself is not making money however, the revenue from the rentals is.

Looking at the rental revenue surpassed the flyer revenue, just a flip of a pen, make it bankrupt.

Less costly to take over.

Why need tissue paper, gloves? Are you using the mid air cabin as you 阳台 to 共游巫山 with your 小眉妹??

Simi si 共游巫山 ??

Hey my 成语 very bad one leh.... [sweatdrop]

Simi si 共游巫山 ??

Hey my 成语 very bad one leh.... [sweatdrop]

Where's bro Fongmy? He can explain it to you

Alternatively, google it.

Where's bro Fongmy? He can explain it to you

Alternatively, google it.

I knew it !! U also dun know.... must find 军师 [laugh]

It is not.

Its actually paid by private investors.

If it is owned by the government, why would it go into receivership at the first place?

what's there to think about? the money is paid for by taxpayers

if faster is more exciting, then go Japan:

10. Palette Town Ferris Wheel
height: 115
diameter:100
rotation speed: 16 minutes/revolution
opening: 1999

09. Diamond and Flower Ferris Wheel
height: 117
diameter: 111
capsules: 68 carrying 6 passengers each
rotation speed: 17 minutes/revolution
maximum capacity: 1440 passengers/hour
opening: 2001

08. Skydream Fukuoka
height: 120
diameter: 112
opening: 2002

07. Zhegnzhou Ferris Wheel
height: 120m
opening: 2003

06. Southern Star Observation Wheel
capsules: 21 carrying 20 passengers each
rotation speed: 30 minutes/revolution
maximum capacity: 840 passengers/hour
opening: 2008

05. Changsha Ferris Wheel
diameter: 99m
opening: 2004

04. London Eye
height: 135m
capsules: 32 carrying 25 passengers each
rotation speed: about 30 minutes/revolution
maximum capacity: 1600 passengers/hour
opening: December 31, 1999

03. Star of Nanchang
height: 160m
capsules: 60 carrying 8 passengers each
rotation speed: about 30 minutes/revolution
maximum capacity: 960 passengers/hour
opening: May, 2006

02. The Singapore Flyer
height: 165m
diameter: 150m
capsules: 28 carrying 30 passengers each
rotation speed: 37 minutes/revolution
maximum capacity: 1362 passengers/hour
opening: March 1, 2008

01. The Great Beijing Wheel
height: 208m
diameter: 193m (Correction made. The blogsite has it as 198m)
capsules: 48 carrying 40 passengers each
rotation speed: 20 minutes/revolution
maximum capacity: 5760 passengers/hour
opening: 2009